Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2013

      I loved this recipe! I changed a to shredded beef used green bell pepper and left out the onion but still was the most relish lasagna I have ever made! My husband loved it as well and didn't even notice the eggplant instead of pasta! This lasagna does not taste diet or low carb you feel like you are eating your fave comfort food, yet it's healthier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      i know it's annoying when people rate things when they've modified the recipe, however i think the core recipe here is very good.--it gave me direction. I did make some changes, mostly for ease --i realize now i probably didn't save much time, ....BUT i'd still make it again my way because it was so good.

      I used this for the sauce:
      1/2 jar of Classico italian sausage plus 1 jar of Barilla tomato and basil. I also added a good glug of two of red wine (mark west Pinot, sorry i don't measure!), and a little bit of fennel because i love the flavor and red pepper flakes. (there were seasonings in the premade sauce so i didn't need to add much, so i didn't use onion/garlic/fresh red pepper or italian seasonings outlined in original recipe).

      in a separate pan i used 1 package of lean ground turkey (jennie-o 93%/7%). After i cooked it in a skillet, it i added a bunch of FRESH (not frozen) spinach and then 1 package of sliced mushrooms and then added that mixture to the red sauce.

      I salted the eggplant and let it sit for an hour or so (salt one side at a time) and then pushed a paper towel down on it to get rid of as much water as possible. I cooked for 7 minutes each side. It's hard to slice thin (without some professional gadget) but i tried to cut as thin as possible so that it would not be chewy

      i misread the directions for the cheese mixture and just all the ingredients in together so it was kinda clumpy, but it worked fine and saved a few steps! (i had 2 layers of this mixture. Just plop on top of each eggplant and then spread it out to cover. (i also doubled the green onions.)

      TOTALLY forgot to take a picture--it went fast. It filled up a 9x11 glass dish. I think this will be a regular meal around here. My husband ate his as is. I added mine to some curly pasta and it was sooooooooo good! (he's the carb-watching diabetic! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      Unbelievably Delicious!!!! I just ate the leftovers from last night and just as delicious! I cannot believe that I made a lasagna with eggplant. It's a dramatic drop in calories and carbs and so full of flavor. Very cheesy. I used the lean turkey 99/1 so that saved us lots of calories. I used Pato tomato sauce and this gave it an extra kick of spiciness. Anyway, great dish and I will definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      I am not going to rate stars. I made this for four people. Two liked it. I did not think that it was all that for the amount of work. However, I am not on a limited diet. I, merely, wanted to make something that was good but was healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      Thanks for the idea. I didn't do the lasagna but I did cook the eggplant as you suggest and topped it with homemade marinara and parm. It was delicious. Thanks for a great low-carb idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2012

    • on July 02, 2012

      I honestly prefer this to regular lasagna. It is absolutely delicious! A lifelong staple in my house now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      This really is excellent dish for dieters and non-dieters alike!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      So... it took me 45 minutes to prep it, not 15. But it was totally worth it. I did use wine. It is amazing! I have NEVER cooked with Eggplant before and was very concerned it would be rubbery... But it really isn't. I ate it up. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2011

      This was such a delicious recipe! We are trying to cut down on carbs and eat more vegetables in this house. My boyfriend, and even my Asian Grandma (who thinks noodles are the meaning to life) gobbled it up!
      We didn't add red wine because we didn't have any, and I forgot to put foil on. When the lasagna came out it looked a little burnt on top, but it just turned the top layer of eggplant into a crispy cheesy 'eggplant toast' for a top layer.
      The sauce I used was a little too watery however, so I would definitely recommend thickening your meat sauce with tomato paste or cornstarch prior to putting it on the layers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2011

      I didn't follow the recipe exactly--I used the cheese mixture from my favorite recipe for regular lasagna, and cheated with store bought sauce. It tasted great, and even my hubby and 4-year-old wanted seconds. The eggplant was a decent substitute for noodles, but were a little hard to cut through without destroying the whole thing. By the time we got our servings out of the pan, it looked like a train wreck...you'd definitely want to think twice before serving this dish to company, unless you're not trying to impress them with the presentation. If not for the sloppiness factor, I would have given 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      This was yummy! Hubby asked me where the noodles were, but once he tasted it it didn't seem to deter him a bit from gobbling it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2011

      Awesome! I used hot Italian sausage, so skipped the opt. fennel and red pepper flakes (if you're using ground beef I would definitely use these for flavor!). I also used crushed tomatoes instead of the sauce since I had it on hand. I coarsely chopped some fresh spinach as opposed to the frozen. The wine was a wonderful addition that I wouldn't want to omit, but made for a rather soupy sauce, so next time I would add a can of tomato paste...don't think that it would have made much of a difference had I used tom. sauce instead of the crushed tom. This is definitely a keeper and I would encourage anyone to give it a try. Don't let people know that it's eggplant if they have an aversion to it...they'll never be able to tell!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2010

      I made this for a dinner party where one of my friends is gluten-free and it was delicious! Even my husband, who at first turned his nose up at the idea of eggplant lasagna, loved it and told me I could make it again anytime. I followed the recipe and used ground turkey as the meat, and while it was great, I may try using Italian Sausage next time (since we are not gluten-free). Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      This recipe is amazingly wonderful! I used reconstituted shitake mushrooms and used the soaking liquid in lieu of the wine. The tomatoes were vine ripened fresh tomatoes. I love the vegetable packed dish. The recipe made a 9x9 inch pan as well as a small loaf pan. DH and I enjoyed the smaller dish and the 9x9 inch pan will go into the freezer for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I had some eggplant from my garden, a couple roma tomatoes, a pound of ground buffalo, and some cottage cheese (which I subbed for the ricotta) that all needed to be used and this recipe fit the bill perfectly! To make sure it wasn't watery I used dehydrated spinach and bell peppers instead of fresh to absorb the extra liquid. I also made it in the morning to allow the flavors to meld then pulled it out of the fridge a half hour before baking it just to take the chill off the dish. It was wonderful! I thought about using a jarred sauce to save time, but I'm so glad I didn't...the sauce was awesome and I will use it for other pasta dishes! By the way, I DID use the red pepper flakes. If you're concerned about it being spicy, don't be...it adds another layer of flavor and is not spicy at all. This might just replace regular lasagna at my house! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2010

      This was fantastic & as others have mentioned, even better the next day. I received an eggplant in my CSA, however I don't really care for them. The eggplant picks up all the flavors of the spices, tomatoes, etc. so you don't taste it at all. I omited the fennel as I didn't have any on hand, used 1 TB each of fresh Basil, Oregano & Thyme for the other spices, meatball mix (lamb, pork, beef) for the meat and an additional 1/2 cup or so of colby jack cheese too. I also halved the recipe and it turned out perfectly. Excellent, I will be buying eggplant just so I can make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      This was amazing! My family loved it South Beach Diet non-withstanding! Leftovers were even better the next afternoon. Thanks PattiCakeB!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Thought this was amazing! I didn't have time to make the sauce, so I used an organic, low sugar marinara. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing. :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (651 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    41%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 126.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 811.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    39%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    lowfat mozzarella cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites