Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    126 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 126

    Sort by:

    • on June 02, 2011

      I absolutely loved this the flavour was perfect it tasted just like real lasagna. I am diabetic and can't have pasta anymore but I love lasagna and this is perfect for me. I didn't use the wine and for the meat I used ground beef. I think I made my eggplant a bit too thin and it almost melted away in the dish while cooking that's why it looks a bit muddled in the picture but the flavour was fantastic I will be making this again. I got one large dish and a smaller one and that was me cutting the recipe by half it's a great recipe for putting one in the freezer for an other day when I am short of time. Thank you so much for posting. Made for on tour with the diabetic forum. June 2011

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I decided to make this as I am trying to cut back on carbs. It was very tasty however I think next time I'll opt to use the red wine in lieu of the vodka as I thought the sauce was a tad bitter. When we had left-overs the next night I ended up adding jarred spaghetti sauce hoping to get rid of some of the bitter taste, it was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      This was an amazing dish for me. I have been soo restricted on what I can eat, nothing was appealing to me, I looked at this and though, "Might not b worth the effort" boy was I wrong! But I sure do disagree with 15 min prep lol or else I am extremely slow lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This was delicious! I made for my hubby who is diabetic and was sad about not being able to have pasta. Well let me tell you this was a great substitute and we didn't miss the lasagna noodles at all. We followed the tip of a previous reviewer and sprayed the eggplant with Pam spray and a light dusting of parmesan and broiled for 2-3 minutes on each side. This dried it out considerably. I also didn't add vodka or wine and added a teaspoon of baking soda and a pinch of splenda to the sauce to counteract the tomato acidity. It did take considerable time to prepare which was mostly from preparing the eggplant... but well worth it. This will be one of our regular dishes now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      I too prefer the eggplant noodles in my lasagna after using this recipe. Even the kids are eating eggplant with this recipe (shhhhhh - they don't know it though). This recipe can be changed to use all the regular things you enjoy with your lasagna or use your own favorite sauce, but keep the eggplant "noodles" because its better for you and comes out great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      I'm doing Atkins, and this really cured my Lasagna cravings! Wonderful! I added 1 tsp Splenda to the sauce to cut the heartburn. Also threw in a can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce up. I didn't have fresh garlic, so I sprinkled garlic salt on the eggplant "noodles" instead of salt & pepper, and also added garlic powder to the sauce. Thanx for sharing! This will help keep me honest to my diet!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      This had a good flavor but it was just too mushy. It needed more structure I think. Maybe I needed to broil the eggplant longer with garlic salt like someone suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      I'm agreeing with everyone else: this recipe is superb and a very welcome treat to low-carbers (especially ones who live on the cold East Coast!) I actually used chopped zucchini and summer squash (sliced in the food processor) to add a little extra cushioning to the eggplant "noodles" I felt this helped make it a bit thicker and kept everything together - not to mention gave me an extra dose of veggies. No one could believe the noodles were missing in the dish it was that hearty! Thanks for sharing, PattiCakeB.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      This lasagna wasn't bad. We didn't peel the eggplant, and I think it would have been a lot better if we had because it was still tough after baking. Perhaps in the future we'll make sure to peel it. We used ground chicken with this recipe and it tasted fine. I like the large amount of veggies in this dish, a guilt-free food! Also we had a 9 X 13 pan and it was overflowing out of it! Definitely use a dish that is probably around 3" deep or something, or a bigger dish. We couldn't fit it all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      This is a terrific recipe. Can be used over and over again. I am looking for great tasting eggplant without lots of fuss. I took the hint of a previous reviewer and broiled the eggplant until a bit crisp then followed the recipe to a "t". The only other deviation was when I used fat free cottage cheese instead of ricotta, (thats all we had on hand on this late Sunday afternoon.) Loved the spinach and mushrooms, I just put it all together heated it with garlic and done. Started with the meat, drained extra fat off, put back in added all other (sauce) ingredients and presto done. A quick alternating layers, popped into toaster oven in two smaller dishes, done in 22 minutes ~ added some extra mozzarella on top for last 5 minutes to get the gooey thing going on. Delightful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      OUTSTANDING! I broiled my eggplant and used garlic salt, pepper and shredded parmesan on the slices. I used ground sirloin and omitted the olive oil. I used 4 cloves garlic, 10oz mushrooms, omitted the fennel, about 2 cups fresh spinach, omitted the alcohol and added a couple of diced zucchini. I used Trader Joes organic marinara sauce. I subbed lowfat cottage cheese for the ricotta and didn't read the instructions right so ended up mixing the whole cheese mixture together. This turned out very HEARTY and filling but healthier than regular lasagna. I did make it for the South Beach diet. The only problem with it was that it had a lot of liquid that needed to be drained after baking it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      Great recipe. I substituted 2 chopped zucchini for the mushrooms for the picky eaters. I used ground turkey breast, egg substitute, fat free ricotta and a mixture of fat free and low fat mozzerella cheese for a relatively lowfat version. And it was delicious--even my grandmother who doesn't like spinach or eggplant ate it. i omitted the red wine and let the sauce simmer about 30 minutes for fear of too much liquid as the others had warned and it was perfect. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2014

      The taste was good but it was way too much meat sauce and cheese to fit a 9x13 dish pan. There is just no way everything was going to fit without overflowing. The meat sauce was too watery with all the tomato sauce and tomato. Are we supposed to drain the juices before layering them? I like the taste but the recipe is not well written. Need to be more specific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      Excellent! I used a mandolin to slice the eggplant. I used my own sauce. Didn't miss the lasagna noodles. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2013

      Super good! need a realty deep pan my regular glass pan was to shallow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2013

      The prep time is lengthy but well worth the time. EXCELLENT!!! taste and texture is amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2013

      This was a great recipe! I had eggplant, shrooms, ricotta, and red wine that I didn't care for that all needed using so this recipe was the perfect fit for my needs. The only modification that we made was to use Field Roast Italian sausages (vegetarian) to make this a meatless meal. This worked out perfectly. I used Paul Newman marinara sauce for the sauce and this also worked out well. Leftovers were also really good today. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      This was terrible - had to throw it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      Looking for new eggplant recipes. Found this and fixed it for family, excellent dish. Got raves from all, especially my gluten free in-law. Added more garlic, of course. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      I probably shouldn't review this since I omitted the spinach, wine and mushrooms and used my own meat sauce, which is very similar to this (I use fennel too), but just wanted to endorse the use of eggplant in place of noodles. I thought my husband and son would balk at this, but my 22yo said he preferred this to regular lasagne. He ate a huge helping last night and finished off the leftovers this morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Lost My Noodles! Low Carb/South Beach Eggplant Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (651 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 187
    41%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 126.3 mg
    42%
    Sodium 811.3 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    39%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 36.1 g
    72%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    lowfat mozzarella cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes