Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / I Hate Ricotta Meat & 2 Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Hate Ricotta Meat & 2 Cheese Stuffed Shells

    Average Rating:

    87 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 87

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2011

      These are great!! I got 1 9*13 and 1 8*8 pan but that was OK cause we all ate seconds. One tip that was on the box of shells that I used was to only cook the shells 9 min then drain and dump out onto a cookie sheet. This was awesome advice because the shells didn't touch each other on the cookie sheet so they didn't stick together. And they were still firm enough to stuff with out them ripping. Definitely adding this to the Keeper file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Yep, I'm not a big ricotta fan either. My recipe is a variation of yours in that I combine (cooked) lean ground beef and ground pork with my eggs, cheeses (I use parmesan, asiago, sharp provolone), bread crumbs, spices (oregano, sweet basil, parsley, salt & pepper), minced garlic, minced onion, and spinach filling before putting those big boys down in the "marinara pool" in my casserole dish - topping with a combo of mozarella, sliced baby portabellas, and sweet peppers. :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      We loved these! We omitted the red wine, used ground turkey instead of beef, added mushrooms to the stuffing mixture, and put in manicotti shells (couldn't find jumbo shells). Tried another manicotti recipe tonight, and found myself wishing I'd just added the rapini I was using up to this recipe instead! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2010

      This was a good recipe to eliminate ricotta- the wine was not needed. I cook with wine all the time but this was not good. If the wine wasn't there I would have loved it. It is what it is- no need to jazz it up...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      I made this recipe for a nice get together with the kids. They all raved on how good this was. Would not change a thing in this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      These were good but a bit time consuming to make. I omitted the wine and the tomato sauce but followed the rest of the recipe as written. I got 24 stuffed shells. I made these the night before and then cooked them after work. I did add another eight ounces of cheese on top before cooking. We enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2013

      Perfect! My husband does not like ricotta at all! And I need stuffed shells! So this was great. The flavor was great and the texture was right on. I didn't use the tomato sauce or the wine. My 2 boys (4 and 2 years old) and my DH loved it. DH went back for seconds and the boys cleaned their plates! Keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      Great recipe! I added a couple extra cloves of garlic and omitted the wine, but otherwise followed the recipe as written. I will definitely be making this dish again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      We have never made stuffed shells before. This recipe was easy and so flavorful. We will definitely make this again and look for others like it. Super good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2012

      Made this for dinner tonight, and it was a huge hit! The filling was perfect. I made a few with a cheese filling, for my picky little one - but even she preferred the meat option! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      These are delicious! Everyone went back for seconds and agreed these are far better than cheese stuffed shells. I did make two changes though...I didn't have enough hamburger, so I did 1/2 hamburger and 1/2 turkey. I also did not have parsley, so I added some basil. I will definitely be making these again, especially since the hubby requested them for his lunches. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2010

      Great recipe I make these often in triple batches and flash freeze the shells and then later cook them up using our favorite canned spaghetti sauce (without wine) for an easy weeknight meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      This recipe is good and easy. I didn't have ricotta so it was perfect for what I needed. I also "baked" mine on the gas grill (20 minutes at just above 400 F). Turned out perfect. Thanks TheDancingCook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      (4.5 STARS) I was pleasantly surprised how good this turned out without the ricotta, me being a fan. I used 1.5lbs of ground turkey, half of a large yellow onion and omitted the tomato sauce and just used extra Prego Three Cheese spaghetti sauce. I was tempted to cook the sauce first and add my normal seasoning of sugar and soy sauce, but the wine (a red blend) was actually enough for the sauce. I was able to stuff 18, but had to place them in like sardines. The making of the dish was a little messy and hands on, and a baked ziti with less effort would have tasted just as good. I'm still glad I made it, and I think it's a great recipe for kids to get their hands dirty with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This was good. I added extra garlic and used homeade spaghettis sauce. From now on I will make the kind with ricotta. We liked it but it tasted just like spaghetti and took more work. Thanks for posting. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      I made these using ground turkey and left out the wine. They were fabulous! I've made them for company and just for us. My 4 and 6 year old like them too, which is always a plus when I don't have to hear complaints about the meal! Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I have a husband that hates ricotta so he got excited when he saw the name of the dish. I had to improvise a little when I went to the fridge to pull out the mozzarella. I had none, so I used 4 mozzarella sticks and used parmesan for the remainder of the cheese needed. It will be better next time with more cheese!We both loved it, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      Not only do i hate ricotta, but my ever so wonderful boyfriend is "mr. protein" and not a fan of pasta dishes...HE LOVED THIS!!! these shells are SO great!!! and they are the PERFECT meal to make when company comes over because you can prepare them ahead of time then just throw them in the oven when you're ready to bake them. i actually used 1lb ground beef and a 1/2lb of sausage and they were DELICIOUS! this one is DEFINITELY going to be in the rotation...and the real beauty is, the leftovers are even BETTER the next day!! thank you for a BEYOND fabulous recipe. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      So good! I doubled the recipe and used Italian sausage for 1/2lbs. ground beef. I used the filling to stuff cannelloni crepes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2009

      We don't mind a little ricotta but these are a nice change of pace. I've been wanting to make them for a long time but it always seemed like a time consuming recipe stuffing each shell..but it was actually very simple and easy. Thanks for a new family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Hate Ricotta Meat & 2 Cheese Stuffed Shells

    Serving Size: 1 (284 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 449.3
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    50%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 120.9 mg
    40%
    Sodium 967.9 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.9 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 9.7 g
    38%
    Protein 29.9 g
    59%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    jumbo pasta shells

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites