Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / I Can't Believe It's Not Gluten! Gluten-Free Cake Flour Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Can't Believe It's Not Gluten! Gluten-Free Cake Flour Mix

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 17, 2009

      Excellent mix! I use this mix for all of my baking, but I substitute the brown rice flour with white rice flour. I find that the baking is less grainy and lighter with the white rice flour. Most of my gluten eating family were pleasantly surprised by how "normal" the food tastes with this mix! Thanks for the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      The brown rice was too heavy for the white birthday cake recipe we used. Only the experienced gluten free people that generally avoid sugar liked the cake. I'm sure it would be great for snack cakes, chocolate etc just not anything you want to be light and airy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      No offense to the author, but this recipe yields unacceptable results when used as a cake flour replacement in nearly all of my pastry recipes. Even with white rice flour, the product is grainy, and the crumb inconsistent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      I love this. Though I don't need it I bake for someone who does, and when I use this flour instead of the kind you buy premixed the food is often mistaken for regular. Even after the realize it's gluten free. Thanks for the recipe What's Cooking?!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I did not have brown rice flour or tapioca flour so I used white rice flour and cornstarch in place of the tapioca flour and my cupcakes turned out amazing. I could not even tell they were gluten free. I will try this sometime with the tapicoa flour.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      Great mix! We also have used it for muffin recipes. (no substitutions used)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      My son has multiple food allergies so this was a great find!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I absolutely LOVE this flour blend!! Thank you so much for sharing! I use the Superfine Brown or Superfine White Rice Flour that you can order from Authentic Foods online. I also use Expandex Tapioca Starch, which is also available online. Works great for GF Powdered Donuts (you can find the recipe on my blog: Adventures of a Gluten Free Mom). Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2009

      I love it. This works great in gluten free recepies and even substitutes well with many "regular" cookie recepies. I love that it is corn free-just be sure to use the gaur gum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Everything I've baked gluten free so far, only I like it. My family thinks it tastes terrible. I used this flour mix for a regular recipe and the result was great! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      this worked perfectly in all my normal recipes and the family couldn't even tell the difference. Fantastic! made going GFCF alot easier

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      Awesome gluten-free flour mix. I used it to make an amazing birthday cake for my son. I used this recipe in combination with the "gluten-free vanilla sponge cake" recipe posted by Jubes and the "versatile vegan frosting" by rsarahl. My guests didn't believe that it was gluten-free, egg-free, soy-free, and dairy-free. It was as good as a regular cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I just started gluten free and thought I was doomed- used this to make brownies (52680) and even my kids loved them- can't wait to try more- thanks for a great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      This made a great chocolate cake. Try it with the "Super Easy and Hyper Tasty Chocolate Cake!" at www.vegweb.com. Using this mix with that recipe, you can have a gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, soy-free chocolate cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2007

      I am so happy I found this recipe. I did not think it was going to be good. I don't generally like rice based gluten free products. This however was pretty darn good. I made a basic white cake and I was very happy with the results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I made a Devils Food cake with the "I Cant't Believe It's Not Gluten" flour mix for a friend's birthday. She is wheat intolerant. I had never made this particular recipe before with regular A/P flour, therefore I really have nothing to compare it to. But, the cake was very good. Maybe a little dense, but the flavor was good and had a good rise during baking. For my friend this mix has reopened the world of baking and she can't wait to jump in. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2007

      This is great. With this gf flour mixture, now I can make any cake I want. Thank you so much. Elaine in Ky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2006

      This flour mixture makes up wonderfully! I didn't have guar gum so I used xanthan gum instead. I made a devil's food cake mix with this and turned it into rocky road cake. This is an absolutely fantastic mix and well worth trying!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Can't Believe It's Not Gluten! Gluten-Free Cake Flour Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (634 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1145.9
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    38%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 62.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 247.7 g
    82%
    Dietary Fiber 15.6 g
    62%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tapioca flour

    guar gum

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes