9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A tart, fresh salad that is so easy to put together. I left off the nutritional yeast and reduced the recipe to serve 2. I added salt and freshly ground pepper along with plenty of fresh dill. Made for *ZWT6*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 20, 2010

Fresh OK taste but too much lemon juice which I like but didn't need all of it here. I used organic green (white?) cabbage from our local organic produce box this week, a good organic olive oil, sea salt, to taste, definitely use less than called for but salts run different saltynesses, organic freshly squeezed lemon juice, no optional nutritional yeast, and my herb of choice was fresh dill which I chopped and added to the salad itself which gave it a nice flavour. I suggest you add the herb garnish to the ingredients list... I let the salad sit in the refrigorator a few hours before eating. I would try another cabbage salad next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat July 18, 2013

I really enjoyed this salad which we served with grilled chicken. I used both red and green cabbage (about 1/2 head of each) and also skipped the yeast but added some tarragon. With the leftovers I am going to mix in some chicken and have a great low fat lunch tomorrow. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ June 06, 2010

This was very fresh tasting. I used 1/2 a cabbage but used a whole lemon. I also added some pepper. Next time I'll try adding a bit of onion.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* August 09, 2009

This was a good and different wa for us to enjoy cabbage. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't use the optional nutritional yeast. I did add some pepper when I added the salt. Made for AUS/NZ swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol May 28, 2009

I love it when food smells and taste 'clean'. With this recipe being made up of such simple and natural ingredients it certainly fell into that category. Normally, I will avoid putting oil on or in most things I eat but it didn't bring with it an oily feel in this dish despite being so important to the recipe. I do also agree that the lemon is needed because it lifts both the taste of the cabbage and the oil. The bits that had been on my plate for the longest tasted best. So, I think the next time I will just let it all sit for a bit before serving. Very nice, thank you! Made for Vegetarian tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne April 05, 2009

I doubled the lemon because I like lemon. My family really liked this and my husband said, "this is a good summer dish." He thought it might be good with turnips added. My 12yo son thought it would be good with soy sauce added and he was right! Reviewed for the Veg*n Recipe Swap January.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 February 03, 2009

You've got a very easy-to-make slaw here &, as Parsley indicates, the lemon juice shouldn't be optional, & a bit of pepper (along with the salt) is nice, too! This really is simplicity at it's best! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my Vegetarian groupmates in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 10, 2008

For a quick and simple salad, this is good. I definitely would not skip the lemon juice.... it needs the lemony flavor to spruce it up. I also thought this needed some onion, so I added some chopped sweet onion. I did not use the optional nutritional yeast. It gets better if you chill it for a few hours. My herb garnish of choice was parsley and also some black pepper. Celery seeds would be good, too. I'll have to try that. Thanx for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 09, 2008
I Can't Believe It's Just Cabbage