19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious soup! It's easy to put together, and something a little different. I played with the recipe a bit and made a half batch for dinner for two people, and it worked out well. I skipped the ham, and used a little more shrimp and corn than a half recipe called for and also both eggs. It seems like a really flexible recipe. Thanks for posting this gem!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader August 02, 2012

Very good soup! I was imagining something thicker but enjoyed this nonetheless. I didn't have water chestnuts, but will definitely add them next time. I omitted the ham and doubled up on the shrimp for my pescatarian daughter. It is easy and warms the soul!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie F October 23, 2011

Awesome! Lots of flavors and textures in this soup. Loved the occassional crunch of the water chestnuts. I used 2 whole eggs instead of just the whites, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Thanx for posting this; it's a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* November 09, 2008

So easy to make and so delicious. Made exactly as directed and 3 of us polished it off for dinner. Thank you Pot Scrubber, made for Let's Get Souped Up Tag Game - November 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat November 05, 2008

Excellent. Quick and tasty-the only change I made tot he original recipe was to use the whole can of water chestnuts to avoid wasting them. I imagine it was about double the amount asked for. I don't think this altered the finished soup. I will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS November 05, 2008

Very tasty corn soup! This came together in under 20 minutes, which made it a perfect choice for a quick, filling lunch. Made exactly as stated, and I wouldn't change a thing. Yum! Thanks Pot Scrubber!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaInOz November 04, 2008

Hey Potsie! This is a wonderful soup! I also left out the shrimp as I just don't eat the little buggers. Everything else I did as I was told. How unusual. We all loved the crunch of the water chestnuts. Delicious & easy to make. Made for the Asian Forum's Green Eggs & Ham tag. xoxo

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elmotoo March 22, 2008

I'll add my 5 stars to this amazing soup. So easy to make and just full of flavor. Love the addition the water chestnuts adds. I only used 1 tsp sesame oil, but other than that made as directed. Thanks PS for a great recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ February 19, 2008

Made last night for a quick dinner. I omitted the shrimp, sesame oil and additional salt. Truly this was a very fast and very good soup. My DS loves egg drop soup and has requested we make this one again with the shrimp! Oh, and this fed three of us as a main course.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI February 13, 2008
I Can Cook Yan's Velvet Corn Soup