13 Reviews

These shrimp are AMAZING... super-flavorful, pretty to look at, and juicy in the center. I too added Adobo seasoning, and added a bit more beer for a less thick batter. I had some leftover batter, so I ended up making hush puppies that were almost has good as the shrimp themselves. I will be making this recipe often, I think.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer March 12, 2014

Add my 5 stars to the rest because this recipe is a winner. Loved the crisp yummy coating and the tender shrimp inside. Served on green leaf lettuce with a dipping bowl of red cocktail sauce they tasted every bit as good as they looked. A great recipe to have at hand when you want something quick, easy and delicious,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia April 30, 2013

Fast, easy, and delicious! It's very important to paper towel dry those shrimp so the batter will stick! I estimated the spices to my liking and it worked great. I had no green onion, so I chose dried cilantro for that. I too used garlic powder and also Adobe seasoning. Like Nimz, I too had to add more beer as the batter was just too doughy (yes, you could make hush puppies from the thick batter). In keeping with the spicy theme, I served mine with a splash of fresh lime juice and slices. And of course, beer. What brand, why 'Blue' moon of course, lol. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu August 08, 2011

Scrumptious shrimp! My husband even helped me fry them up tonight. My daughter loved them, and she doesn't even like seafood. :) Thank you for sharing this delish recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetsLady September 30, 2010

Very quick easy, nice dinner. I made some without the cayenne and chili powder for the kids, and DS and I had it with. We absolutely loved these. Great meal . Also I added the spices again and made a batch of french fries with this. Saving this one. Made for Zaar Stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker December 17, 2009

oh these are wonderful, I made only one change to this, I used garlic powder in place of salt and used 1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt, the cayenne amount was perfect, I will make this again soon, thanks for sharing loof!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz January 26, 2009

We loved these and thought they had just the right amount of heat as is. The batter on the outside was puffed up and golden brown. We had spicy curly fries to go with them and coleslaw on the side. These tender morsels of love really were outstanding! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Loof! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game 1/08 Linda

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linda's Busy Kitchen January 09, 2009

OUTSTANDING SHRIMP, & although not something I'd make often (It's the cholesterol!), I'll definitely keep the recipe for future enjoyment now & then! One thing I did do was to cut back on the cumin & the chili powder by about half & had an absolutely great shrimp dinner! [Tagged, made & reviewed in New Zaar Stars Tag Game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 19, 2008

Delicious and fun to make! We made some with and some without the cayenne, because one of us is very sensitive to it, but both ways it came out great. (Those who can stand it will enjoy the light heat.) When you run out of shrimp, spoonfuls of batter fry up into actual hush puppies, and they're not bad either. Creative blend of ingredients and spices worked well together. Made for PRMR Sept. 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn September 08, 2008

What a fantastic fried shrimp recipe!! Definitely my favorite one that I've ever tried to make. The breading puffed up so nicely and they were just beautiful...looked like something I would have gotten at a restaraunt or something. The flavor was great. Even though there are tons of spices it's not overly spicy. Great recipe Loof...thanks sooo much for posting! This will become a regular in our house. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo August 09, 2008
Hush Puppy Fried Shrimp