Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hush Puppy Fried Shrimp Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hush Puppy Fried Shrimp

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2014

      These shrimp are AMAZING... super-flavorful, pretty to look at, and juicy in the center. I too added Adobo seasoning, and added a bit more beer for a less thick batter. I had some leftover batter, so I ended up making hush puppies that were almost has good as the shrimp themselves. I will be making this recipe often, I think.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      Add my 5 stars to the rest because this recipe is a winner. Loved the crisp yummy coating and the tender shrimp inside. Served on green leaf lettuce with a dipping bowl of red cocktail sauce they tasted every bit as good as they looked. A great recipe to have at hand when you want something quick, easy and delicious,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      Fast, easy, and delicious! It's very important to paper towel dry those shrimp so the batter will stick! I estimated the spices to my liking and it worked great. I had no green onion, so I chose dried cilantro for that. I too used garlic powder and also Adobe seasoning. Like Nimz, I too had to add more beer as the batter was just too doughy (yes, you could make hush puppies from the thick batter). In keeping with the spicy theme, I served mine with a splash of fresh lime juice and slices. And of course, beer. What brand, why 'Blue' moon of course, lol. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Scrumptious shrimp! My husband even helped me fry them up tonight. My daughter loved them, and she doesn't even like seafood. :) Thank you for sharing this delish recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      Very quick easy, nice dinner. I made some without the cayenne and chili powder for the kids, and DS and I had it with. We absolutely loved these. Great meal . Also I added the spices again and made a batch of french fries with this. Saving this one. Made for Zaar Stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2009

      oh these are wonderful, I made only one change to this, I used garlic powder in place of salt and used 1/2 teaspoon seasoned salt, the cayenne amount was perfect, I will make this again soon, thanks for sharing loof!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      We loved these and thought they had just the right amount of heat as is. The batter on the outside was puffed up and golden brown. We had spicy curly fries to go with them and coleslaw on the side. These tender morsels of love really were outstanding! Thank you for sharing your recipe with us Loof! Made for Zaar Stars Tag Game 1/08 Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      OUTSTANDING SHRIMP, & although not something I'd make often (It's the cholesterol!), I'll definitely keep the recipe for future enjoyment now & then! One thing I did do was to cut back on the cumin & the chili powder by about half & had an absolutely great shrimp dinner! [Tagged, made & reviewed in New Zaar Stars Tag Game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Delicious and fun to make! We made some with and some without the cayenne, because one of us is very sensitive to it, but both ways it came out great. (Those who can stand it will enjoy the light heat.) When you run out of shrimp, spoonfuls of batter fry up into actual hush puppies, and they're not bad either. Creative blend of ingredients and spices worked well together. Made for PRMR Sept. 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      What a fantastic fried shrimp recipe!! Definitely my favorite one that I've ever tried to make. The breading puffed up so nicely and they were just beautiful...looked like something I would have gotten at a restaraunt or something. The flavor was great. Even though there are tons of spices it's not overly spicy. Great recipe Loof...thanks sooo much for posting! This will become a regular in our house. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      Wow! These are outstanding! I wasn't sure at first if the batter was right. Just didn't seem to coat the shrimp very well, but once it hit the oil the batter puffed up and covered the shrimp perfect. Great touch of heat. I like the added parsley and green onions. Adds a nice color to the overall dish. I served it with a local cocktail sauce by Pike Place Market. It has wasabi in it. For my side I had a nice coleslaw dish. My tummy is happy. :) Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      This was excellent. Loved the spice combination. I did have to add more beer to get the batter to the right consistency for me. It was just too thick. But we loved it. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      These were out of this world.... I was a little concerned at first they may be spicy due to the chili powder and cayenne, but they weren't at all and those spices made them taste great.... I think next time I prepare this though, I'll use large shrimp....I served these with Grandma's Hush Puppies....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hush Puppy Fried Shrimp

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 350.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    19%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 261.8 mg
    87%
    Sodium 1289.8 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 29.1 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes