Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hush Puppies (Made Easy) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hush Puppies (Made Easy)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2013

      I thought this recipe would taste like a local restaurant's hushpuppies, so I tried it with a few small changes. I know how sweet jiffy mixes are, so I used 1 jiffy mix and added 1 cup self rising yellow cornmeal in place of the 2nd jiffy mix. I also added 1/2 cup buttermilk as the ingredients were very dry. I left the eggs and onions the same. The result was perfect! Just a hint of sweetness and perfect crispy outside and light inside. DELICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      This takes the work out of making hush puppies! It is the perfect recipe for folks who prefer the sweet hush puppy. I used 1 package Jiffy and one egg to reduce the amount of hush puppies for 3 of us. I left the 1/4 cup of onions and added 1/4 cup chopped green pepper. They were WONDERFUL! Thanks for a quite easy and inexpensive recipe! The jiffy mix is about 33 cents per box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      Great recipe! Made with cornbread mix instead, do not believe in "sweet" hush puppies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      This truly was very easy to make and came out nicely! I made 1 1/2 batch and used 1 cup corn meal to cut the sweet taste a little, as well as added a 4 oz. can of diced green chiles. The result was a mild, yet really tasty, fried side dish treat! I decided to make mine into little flat cakes instead of round balls because of limited oil and it turned out great! More like hush puppy fritters. I definitely plan to make this again! Thank you, Ms. Summers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I always have Jiffy cornbread mix on hand, and this was just as easy as could be. Tasted great, too! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      I took these to a Super Bowl party where the hostess was serving gumbo. They were a huge hit. They turned out crunchy on the outside and moist on the inside. I made half a batch with jalapenos and the other half with just onions. The title is correct. They are easy to make. I will be making them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      The flavor was good, but mine completely fell apart in the fryer. The longer they cooked, the more they separated. Any idea what the problem is??? I will try AND rate again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      Well I made these tonight .My Husband made some shrimp and sausage gumbo. They are delicious.I added the minced onion and some drained chilis.Very easy and we will make them again. They weren't doughy or real dense.Soft and moist inside.Nice and crispy outside. Not hard.Melt in your mouth. This is a keeper.Thank You!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      Oh so easy and tasty. I will make these again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      I made these on 3/08/09 as part of our dinner. Since there was just two of us, the recipe was cut in half. I made some for my SO first, he doesn't care for onions in his hush puppies. Then I added about 2 to 3 Tablespoons of diced onion to the rest of the batter. I'm a gal from the South,and I know hush puppies and these are some of the best I've ever had the pleasure of eating. This recipe will be made again.Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I halved the recipe and these are the best Hush Puppies I have ever eaten. So quick and easy to make, served with Classic Fried Catfish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2008

      So simple and good! DH didn't care for them, but I love sweet hush puppies, and these were perfect for me. Made them a little bigger than I probably should have; will make them smaller next time. Served alongside Morrison's Cafeteria Fried Shrimp with My Mom's Cocktail Sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Can't get much simpler than this recipe. So crunchy and light. Just wonderful. Thanks for for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hush Puppies (Made Easy)

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.7
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    28%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 15.9 mg
    5%
    Sodium 170.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites