Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hush Puppies Justin Wilson Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hush Puppies Justin Wilson Style

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2012

      love these

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      Loved the flavor of the green onions in these. Really easy to make and oh so tasty. Was also able to successfully make these gluten free using my favorite gf flour mix. Thanks for posting this Nimz! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2014

      Pretty good. But the 2nd time I made them I added 2 T of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2014

      They be good-uns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2013

      Way too bland. Might try again & add more seasonings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      i made thes today and everyone loved them, because my family like flavor i added some seasonings to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Wow, these taste like something you'd get from a restaurant! The only tweak I made was to add a bit of Nature's Seasoning spice blend for a bit more flavor.

      Only needed 3/4c of buttermilk for the batter to come together, and they fried up great in peanut oil at around 350F.

      This recipe is a definite keeper.Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      I love the crispy texture of these, but the taste was a bit off and not very appealing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Yummo! "Excellent," agrees 8 year old Joel. He helps me make these little fellas. Sometimes I add finely chopped veggies like celery or peppers but they're just great as written here. In one sitting, Joel can eat "probably about 9" hush puppies himself, which leaves just enough for everyone else. : ) Thanks, Justin Wilson and thanks, Nimz for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      great thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      Great hush puppies! Crunchy on the outside, light on the inside. Served with fried catfish and tartar sauce. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      Easy to make and much better than any fast food fish restaurant! I didn't have onion salt so I had to add a bit more salt after tasting the first batch. Also just used a half of a diced white onion since I didn't have any green onions on hand. Still delicious! I would love to try this with some jalapeno as other reviewers mentioned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I had so much fun just watching these cook and the taste was so good. I did add jalapenos with the onions and it took these over the top without being overly spicy. I'd never had hush puppies before but DH had and declared these the BEST ever. Served with Egyptian Spiced Prawns and made for an awesome dinner. Can't wait to make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      Try this with Decadent Strawberry Butter spread on them (strawberry butter). These are fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      These were just okay for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      This made our fish and chips dinner complete. These were easy to put together, and they tasted just like I remember them. My kids couldn't get enough. We will definately make these again, the leftovers got munched on all night long. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Great hush puppies! I made half the recipe, using the egg white only. Also subbed onion powder for onion salt, and I think they could've used a pinch of salt to make up for that substitution. Definitely will be my go to hush puppy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      These turned out great! The only addition I made was chopped jalapeno because we like them spicy! Thanks NImz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      A little bland, need an extra kick or something too them, but not bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Great hush puppies. Easy to do and great flavor. Served with panfried tilapia and Top Secret Recipes Version of KFC Coleslaw by Todd Wilbur.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hush Puppies Justin Wilson Style

    Serving Size: 1 (57 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 138.9
     
    Calories from Fat 17
    12%
    Total Fat 1.9 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 32.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 605.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    7%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites