Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hush Puppies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hush Puppies

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 16, 2009

      I enjoyed these hushpuppies. I added some seasoning salt, sugar, garlic powder and jalapeno to jazz them up a little bit. They were good but like others stated they seemed a little bland even after the additions I made. Nevertheless they were good, thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      I found this recipe to be very good. Like everyone else said, it is very "Neutral" tasting, not too bland, but does need something else. I used Red onions and added 1tsp salt, 1T sugar and 1tsp Garlic powder. Even after the additions, the taste had improved slightly. Perhaps try serving this with a very flavorful main dish to offset the taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I loved this recipe! It was so easy to make as well. My husband and I followed the recipe exactly except at the end just before frying we added in some chopped jalapenos and some salt and pepper to suit my husbands spicy taste buds. The hushpuppies were perfect. Soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. Plus the addition of the jalapenos and seasoning gave it an excellent flavor. I will use this recipe everytime I make hushpuppies from now on. This recipe definatly made more than we could eat though so I froze the leftovers. They were excellent even left over. I put them in the oven for 15 min. at 325 degrees and they were like I had just gotten done makeing them fresh. Thanks so much for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      Very easy and quick to make. I do however agree with LOVEMY4Kids, they were a bit bland. They definately need something? I am not quite sure what though? I did take her recommendation after making one to add the salt and sugar, and it helped, but it still needs something. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      It is rather curious to see a recipe without any kind of seasoning included in it, so I ventured to make it. As promised, they were fluffy and oniony, but even after adding a little salt and a bit of sugar, the taste was rather bland. However, after I added some more salt to the batter, the following batch was delicous. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      In reply to Melody, the story I've always heard is that, in the "Old Days" Momma would be making these wonderful little gems, and the dogs would gather by the kitchen door, barking and begging for the treats. So Momma would occasionally toss one out the door, saying "Hush, puppy!". It coulda happened...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      These were great, easier then I thought. I rate this 5 stars. I will definitely make these again. My grandkids loved them. Question? Where does the term Hush Puppy gets its name?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      Wonderful recipe and so tasty. My husband said it was definitely a keeper and the whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      these were fast, easy, and wonderful! i'll make them again, and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

    • on February 02, 2005

      These hushpuppies are the best I have ever made. My husband told me they were the best I have made him yet so this recipe is going into my cookbook that I am making to hand down to my kids. Thank you so much for sharing this AWESOME recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hush Puppies

    Serving Size: 1 (19 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 35

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 31.9
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    11%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 6.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 57.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes