Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Style Spinach (Magyaros Spenotfozelek) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Style Spinach (Magyaros Spenotfozelek)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2010

      I grew up in an Austrian/Hungarian home, and this recipe brings me back to my childhood! The only tweaking I did was to add a few scrapes of fresh nutmeg for added seasoning, 'cause that's what my dad used to do. (he was a professional Austrian chef) YUMMM! I also used soy milk and margarine to keep this dish non-dairy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      My Hungarian mother makes this all the time, it's one of my favorite recipes, yum! The only difference is, when it's all done, she stirs in a healthy dollop of sour cream too! Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

    • on September 01, 2008

      This was simple and delicious! I used oil instead of butter and low fat milk to cut down on fat and it was still wonderful. I also added a couple more garlic cloves because my Hungarian boyfriend loves garlic. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      Lucky me, my friend has wonderfully tender baby spinach growing in her garden and she shared, allowing me to make this delicious creamed spinach. I have to make this again. It so very much like one I make but unlike you I do not have mine on paper! I will be adding this to my family cookbook. Thank you Leslie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

      This was good. More seasoning might be nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2005

      This is THE BEST way I've had swiss chard! Generally I eat it for health benefits, now I'll make this because I can't stop eating it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      For all spinach lovers out there, here is a fabulously quick and truly scrumptious spinach recipe. I loved your reference to a touch of Transylvania! And in honour of (!) or should be that in dishonour of (?), all vampires, I increased the amount of garlic, as I do in most recipes anyway. I used low-fat cream rather than milk. A wonderful side-dish! Thank you so much for sharing this one: for me, it’s my World Tour memento for Eastern Europe, by which I mean that I’ll be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2005

      This rocks! No vampires here that night! Yummy and creamy and garlicky! Amazing little side!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Style Spinach (Magyaros Spenotfozelek)

    Serving Size: 1 (170 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.3
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    80%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 12.3 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 65.0 mg
    21%
    Sodium 291.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes