Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Short Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Short Ribs

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 27, 2009

      Delicious short ribs, so tender and tasty. For the 2-1/2 hours cooking time I put the ribs in a roasting pan in a 300 degree Fahrenheit oven and stirred them occasionally. Just before ribs were done, I cooked egg noodles separately and lightly buttered them. Served with thick slices of crusty bread and a side of peas. Would also be good with mashed potatoes. Another addition to my favorite recipezaar recipes binder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2013

      Delicious ribs and sauce. Thanks for posting ElaineAnn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      I don't like to buy short ribs, because I don't like paying for bones &/or fat...especially at today's meat price$. So I used boneless chuck steak, cut into wide chunks. I too, cooked these in the oven at 300 after I had browned them. The meat was VERY tender, but I thought the sauce was a little bland. Will make again, but will kick the sauce up a notch or two. THANKS for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2011

      Great flavor that truely does not develop until the 2 1/2 hours have gone by, probably needs to cook 3 hours total. Used a red shiraz instead of water. I truely believe this is a make ahead recipe, inorder to refrigerate and skim the fat like Chef #1378827 reviewed. The high fat content of the meat gave both my husband and I a tummy ache shortly after eating, though we thouroughly enjoyed the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Absolutely delicious!!! I have not worked with short ribs very often; however, this dish has made me a fan for a lifetime. The sauce was amazing and the addition of the noodles really made the dish. As we speak, my hubby is still working on seconds -- I just hope there are some leftovers for another go-around. What an incredible Sunday lunch -- I am definitely going to need a nap. Thanks for the post - made for PAC, 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      I used country ribs and this came out great! I did make the noodles right in the sauce and won't do it that way again, they were too mushy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      What a great recipe! Followed the recipe exactly except for refrigerating the dish overnight as to scoop off the fat. Our family loves this dish. We cook the noodles separately. Very easy and uses ingredients usually on hand. Delish!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Meat just fell off the bone and melted in my mouth! Great flavor! I never would have imagined what a touch of vinegar would do, but I sure liked it! This one's a keeper, 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      I did these in a slow cooker after the braising and cooking the onions. I did add a small can of diced tomatoes since I wanted more sauce for the noodles. Unfortunately I stupidly tried to cook the noodles in with the sauce for the last 30 minutes. BIG mistake. Next time, and I'll assure you there will be many next times, I'll cook the noodles fully and drop them into the sauce for that last 30 minutes. Overall, this recipe is FABULOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Wonderful--absolutely wonderful. The only things that I did differently were to use Splenda brown sugar blend and I didn't cook the noodles in the sauce, I cooked them separately! The meat was fall off the bone tender and the sauce had thicken itself to a wonderful gravy-like consistency! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Very tasty fall off the bone ribs - I cooked them in the crock pot. Put the ribs in the pot, mixed the sauce ingredients, poured over the ribs, turned to low for 5 hours. Half an hour before serving I cooked whole wheat noodles until they were almost tender, drained them, rinsed them and mixed them in to the sauce & ribs in the crockpot. left them for the last 20 minutes. When I tasted the sauce (an hour before serving) I decided to add 1/2 tsp chili flakes & 1 tbs garlic flakes. Super dinner served with Soya beans and baby carrots

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2006

      Very tasty. Cooked in Crockpot. Served over egg noodles, cooked separately.#3 is confusing since you don't add noodles to #6. I would guess #3 should be pour over ribs?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      We both have the same cookbook. This is the exact recipt I submitted about two days ago, except I left the noodles off, since I alway cook them separately. You must have the Better Homes and Gardens Beef Cookbook as well. Aren't these tasty. (Mine is listed as Hungarian Pot Roast Hungarian Pot Roast

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Short Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (478 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1451.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1051
    72%
    Total Fat 116.8 g
    179%
    Saturated Fat 48.7 g
    243%
    Cholesterol 264.6 mg
    88%
    Sodium 950.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.1 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 14.2 g
    57%
    Protein 50.4 g
    100%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites