13 Reviews

Delicious short ribs, so tender and tasty. For the 2-1/2 hours cooking time I put the ribs in a roasting pan in a 300 degree Fahrenheit oven and stirred them occasionally. Just before ribs were done, I cooked egg noodles separately and lightly buttered them. Served with thick slices of crusty bread and a side of peas. Would also be good with mashed potatoes. Another addition to my favorite recipezaar recipes binder.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan October 27, 2009

Delicious ribs and sauce. Thanks for posting ElaineAnn!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeanofthenorth December 17, 2013

I don't like to buy short ribs, because I don't like paying for bones &/or fat...especially at today's meat price$. So I used boneless chuck steak, cut into wide chunks. I too, cooked these in the oven at 300 after I had browned them. The meat was VERY tender, but I thought the sauce was a little bland. Will make again, but will kick the sauce up a notch or two. THANKS for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ackman March 13, 2013

Great flavor that truely does not develop until the 2 1/2 hours have gone by, probably needs to cook 3 hours total. Used a red shiraz instead of water. I truely believe this is a make ahead recipe, inorder to refrigerate and skim the fat like Chef #1378827 reviewed. The high fat content of the meat gave both my husband and I a tummy ache shortly after eating, though we thouroughly enjoyed the flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Knight family April 13, 2011

Absolutely delicious!!! I have not worked with short ribs very often; however, this dish has made me a fan for a lifetime. The sauce was amazing and the addition of the noodles really made the dish. As we speak, my hubby is still working on seconds -- I just hope there are some leftovers for another go-around. What an incredible Sunday lunch -- I am definitely going to need a nap. Thanks for the post - made for PAC, 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DailyInspiration March 27, 2011

I used country ribs and this came out great! I did make the noodles right in the sauce and won't do it that way again, they were too mushy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferK2 March 13, 2011

What a great recipe! Followed the recipe exactly except for refrigerating the dish overnight as to scoop off the fat. Our family loves this dish. We cook the noodles separately. Very easy and uses ingredients usually on hand. Delish!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamma Mia Mamma Mia December 28, 2009

Meat just fell off the bone and melted in my mouth! Great flavor! I never would have imagined what a touch of vinegar would do, but I sure liked it! This one's a keeper, 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaLisaP October 30, 2007

I did these in a slow cooker after the braising and cooking the onions. I did add a small can of diced tomatoes since I wanted more sauce for the noodles. Unfortunately I stupidly tried to cook the noodles in with the sauce for the last 30 minutes. BIG mistake. Next time, and I'll assure you there will be many next times, I'll cook the noodles fully and drop them into the sauce for that last 30 minutes. Overall, this recipe is FABULOUS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rainbowelp November 12, 2006

Wonderful--absolutely wonderful. The only things that I did differently were to use Splenda brown sugar blend and I didn't cook the noodles in the sauce, I cooked them separately! The meat was fall off the bone tender and the sauce had thicken itself to a wonderful gravy-like consistency! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickie49 October 15, 2006
Hungarian Short Ribs