Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Noodles and Cabbage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Noodles and Cabbage

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2012

      This was pretty good, it was definitely lacking something though I'm not sure what. Thanks for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      I love cabbage, leeks and poppy seeds so this was a dish for me.The only change I made was I sauteed in 4 tbsp of butter and 2 tbsp of olive oil and I added about 1 tbsp of salt. And I used kittencal's homemade egg noodles. Everyone loved it. It was the first time that i have eaten savoy cabbage. i found it sweeter than regular. In my dish i added lemon juice because the only things i like sweet are desserts-im weird that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I didn't eat this but the family gave it 5 stars. Dallops of sour cream all around but no poppy seeds. I've use carraway seeds in other recipes and my husband loves that but the kids don't.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      This recipe was alright, but I found it to be a bit too bland. I ended up adding some chili oil and salt and it was pretty tasty. Probably will not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      We made copious substitutions with what we had on hand, so this recipe was more of a jumping off point for us, but it was delicious. (Savoy cabbage--> regular cabbage. 2 leeks-->1 to 2 c. peas (added later in cooking). 12 oz egg noodles-->4 c. penne. Poppy seed-->sesame seed, though we thought caraway would also taste good)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      Our family loves this but traditionally we do not use garlic or leeks; maybe because we're from a poorer Hungarian village? You definitely have to brown the cabbage, meanwhile boil the noodles. Put a dab of cottage cheese on top and a sprinkle of paprika.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      This is fantastic. My daughter and I have it as a main meal supper and I never alter it a bit. You need the leeks as someone else has said and I let the onion and leek caramelize for a good few minutes. Lots of pepper. Thank you for this simple but delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Delicious, I didn't use the poppy seeds and used half butter and olive oil, I also added in some chili flakes for heat, this is wonderful comfort food, thanks Bluemoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2009

      I enjoyed this with some sauteed cod this evening! I halved the recipe and couldn't find savoy cabbage so used napa. Thanks! Made for PRMR game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

    • on December 15, 2008

      Delicious! This actually is the first time I have used savoy cabbage so am intrigued by the difference from "regular" cabbage. The savoy maintains its texture much better. I made half the recipe and the only thing I added was a couple of tablespoons of butter toward the end. The poppy seeds add a different tiny crunch which is delightful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      It's really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This is great! We really enjoyed the flavor of the noodles with the cabbage. I did throw in some hot pepper flakes but I don't think they were needed. I also didn't find the need to add salt. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      This is great! I love the combo of cabbage and noodles. Next time I will use a little less cabbage and throw in some hot peppers for kick. Thanks for the great recipe bluemoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      We loved this recipe!! I like the addition of leeks, very good! Thank you bluemoon downunder!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      I can't believe I'm giving 5 stars to a noodle and cabbage recipe! It is a really good dish and I don't think we can eat goulash again without it. The only ingredient I omitted was the poppy seeds. I have used both sour cream and butter and prefer the butter. I did cook the cabbage longer as I like it slightly browned. Once I missed out the leeks and realised how important they are for the flavour. I do recommend seasoning with salt and pepper at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2006

      Easy and tasty. I also skipped the leeks and added plenty of salt and pepper. Very filling.....this and a few green beans was enough for a meal for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      This is really a good and quick meal. I did not have a leek so I added extra onion, some salt and lots of black pepper. Served it with grilled sausages and fresh bread--Sourdough Rye Bread Sourdough Starter and Sourdough Rye Bread. Did not top it with sour cream but did have plain yogurt. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      Excellent vegetarian main dish, but be sure to add lots of pepper (and some salt). I didn't use sour cream - although I likely will next time - but I did add about 1/4 c. of light cream. This recipe would be also a great way to introduce cabbage to kids. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      This was just so good! I did come back from the supermarket without leeks so they where skipped and not missed. Thought I had noodles and had to use a pasta. I used lots of black pepper and added salt.I use butter in my cabbage and noodles and didn`t miss it at all. Good Stuff! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Noodles and Cabbage

    Serving Size: 1 (205 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 219.4
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    19%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 28.7 mg
    9%
    Sodium 49.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes