24 Reviews

This is my second attempt at making Hungarian noodles..the 1st time (not this recipe) I found using the spoon process a pain to do and slow since the dough cooks fast in the water.This basic recipe is great and one of the reviewers of this recipe made it even better.They said they used their pasta pot strainer to make these and I have one so I tried it and wow it was quick and easy making a bunch of these delicious noodles in a flash.Much quicker then using a spoon I can tell you that since the strainer and the action of pressing the dough with a spatula acts like a spaetzle press. It pairs great with my porkolt recipe.Thanks for great reviewer idea and to the recipe submitter.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Maman May 11, 2011

This is a fantastic recipe to go with your Hungarian Chicken Paprikash. I used my pasta pot strainer to make them and it worked perfectly. I just used my rubber spatula to "push" through. When they were floating, I removed and then we fried them in a skillet with a bit of butter and then I added some green onions. Mmmmmmm delicious. We plan on making these again. They are a bit of work but so worth it. Thank you for sharing this great recipe with us.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 20, 2011

This was exactly what I was looking for when I typed in Hungarian dumplings. My friend from Hungry has made them for me several times and I loved them. The same goes for this recipe. It was so easy to make. I don't know what a spaetzel maker is, but my friend uses a flat metal cheese grater and lays it over the top of the boiling water. She drops the dough on it and rubs it through the holes. Today we served a homemade chicken gravy over the top. Yum!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gadgetsmidnight January 07, 2009

I'm not sure I did this right, so I'm not leaving any stars. If I had to leave stars, based on what I produced, I would probably give this 3. They were edible, but... I'm not really sure what these are supposed to be shaped like - I thought the comment to just drop them in from the side of a teaspoon was a little confusing. Mine turned out looking kind of like Japanese gyoza- sort of a cresent moon shape. They were a little gummy for my taste, but maybe I under or overcooked them, I'm really not sure. You said they are fluffy in the description, but that 's not what I got. Nonetheless I served your delicious Hungarian Chicken Paprikas #54820 over these, and it was definitely edible and pretty tasty. I just don't think these worked out right for me. I'd love a little more guidance on how to make them and how the end result should be.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie July 21, 2005

I have made these for for years, my Mom is Hungarian so I grew up with this as well as all other things Hungarian. I too have a Nokedli maker from Hungary but sometimes I just put the dough on a flat plat and quickly cut pieces into the boiling water or soups. My mom used to make dumplings for soups and she added raw chicken liver ( minced) and parsley to the dough. Also very tasty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CunSwim November 21, 2013

My grandmother made this dish for many years, most of the time to accompany Goulash. She was from Czechoslovakia and called this dish another name. Consequently, that left me lost and looking for this dish for MANY years. Yesterday I finally ran across the recipe on your website, and immediately began to prepare the recipe. I made an addition that my grandmother added... that was to add fresh chopped parsley to the dough. I really like the addition for that subtle little "fresh" taste. THANK YOU for sharing this recipe with us all!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan M. November 03, 2013

Excellent. Used the spoon method and it worked perfectly. Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poofy January 18, 2010

Easy to make. I broke my spaetzle press last year, so I used a potato ricer to make these. It worked out OK. I'm uploading a picture, and I hope it is what these are supposed to look like....even if I don't have the 'look' quite right, they tasted very good. I served these with Vegetable Paprikash (#140639).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy October 16, 2005

I made this with your Hungarian Chicken Paprikas #54820 for my husband's birthday because I was under the impression that his mom had always made these with chicken paprikas. Turns out she usually made potatoes and dumplings. He and my daughter both liked it very much. I had halved the recipe because I'd had nokedli in a restaurant and wasn't impressed, but I liked these better. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonata August 01, 2005

my family is Hungarian but even though I was born in Canada originally and came to the states my parents always cook this for us since we were little kids and let me tell you this is the perfect cooking recipe. I've lost both of my parents and I always try to make as much Hungarian food as possible this is definitely a good recipe to make, brings back wonderful memories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julie c. March 29, 2015
Hungarian Nokedli (Dumplings)