Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Mushroom Soup, from the Moosewood Cookbook Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Mushroom Soup, from the Moosewood Cookbook

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2010

      We LOVED this soup. Everyone at it so fast that I immediately made a second batch. One thing I changed was to use an 8oz brick of low fat cream cheese instead of the milk and flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      This was delicious. My son and I made this as suggested with a brick of cream cheese rather than using milk and flour. We used baby bella mushrooms. The only other change we made was using 1 less cup of stock per another reviewer and put it over our homemade egg noodles Delicious Homemade Egg Noodles. Doubled recipe for both.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Great.. simple ! I added Madera wine to the stock. Great taste !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2014

      This soup is the bomb! I like using black mushrooms from the local Asian market which have a stronger flavor than regular mushrooms and slightly chewier texture, great for this soup! If thickened slightly, this might also be a great alternative as a sauce used to "smother" steak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      This one of my most favorite soups to make. Everybody loves it, and there are never any leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      The ultimate mushroom soup! Will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2012

      I Loved this soup ! I am a beginner when it comes to cooking and I was able to handle it with no problems. I made a wheat free, dairy free, vegan soup. I chose a package of pre sliced Baby Bella Mushrooms then replaced the flour with King Arthur glutenfree multi-purpose flour.
      The butter was replaced with veg. spread butter and the milk was replaced with regular coconut milk not the flavored type such as vanilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      Great recipe using simple ingredients that are electrified with the hungarian paprika and dill weed. Only thing I changed was adding a couple cloves of minced garlic when saut?ing the mushrooms. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      This was delicious! I also used cream cheese instead of the flour and milk and added a dash of cayenne. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2011

      This soup is amazing , so rich, delicious and simple to make. Wouldn't change a thing. I'll be making this soup again and again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2011

      I have used this recipe for 25 years. ALWAYs a crowd pleaser for family or a group.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      I don't make this as soup. I make it as a cream sauce for fresh mushroom noodles. It's incredible. I never use the parsley. I can't find Hungarian paprika, so I just use ordinary paprika. I use crimini mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      This is delicious! Really interesting texture and felt very decadent to my palate ;) I substituted plain yogurt for the sour cream. I did not think the parsley added too much to the soup (will omit next time), although the soup overall tasted very good. I also only used 1 tspn of the dill, and used regular paprika. Thank so much for sharing. Moosewood is great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      this is my new favorite! I recommend not changing the recipe at all; it is perfect as written. My friends use the Hungarian hot paprika, but I have only regular Hungarian paprika so I add a touch of cayenne. It is wonderful, rich and warming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! I had a version of this soup at a restaurant recently and was determined to recreate it. This came very close and was definitely a hit! Next time I'll have to double the recipe, because this soup went fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      I thought this soup was truly amazing. Definitely only for mushroom lovers as it has a strong mushroom flavor. I was surprised how buttery it tasted with only 2 Tbsp. I bought sour cream, but decided against adding it at the end as the soup was already rich enough. I also didn't use parsley because it was not on hand. I finished it off with an immersion blender. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      What flavor!!! I used: regular mushrooms, olive oil instead of butter, 1 t. hot Hungarian paprika, 2 t. regular Hungarian paprika, unsalted homemade turkey stock, lowfat sour cream, no added salt. It was still spicy and otherwise would have been too much for DH. Very rich tasting. Keep the mushroom slices big and chunky for best results after cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      This is a rich, delicious mushroom soup. The quintessential vegetarian indulgence!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2005

      A good hearty soup for a cold winter night! Since I was making it during a heat wave & there's just the 2 of us, I scaled the recipe in half. With the reduced quantities, its rather difficult to use a variety of mushrooms, as advised ... so I used baby Portabellos. I found the flavour rather intense so I'll tone it down a little with regular button mushrooms next time. Aside from using regular soy sauce (all I had), I made no changes. Thanx Lee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Mushroom Soup, from the Moosewood Cookbook

    Serving Size: 1 (281 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 226.9
     
    Calories from Fat 129
    56%
    Total Fat 14.3 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 8.4 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 38.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 947.2 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites