Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2010

      Best mushroom soup I've ever made. Mine came out a little darker than the photo of this soup, probably because I used half portabellas. I did cook my mushrooms slightly longer, but followed everything else the same. A very filling soup, and much healhier than most cream soup recipes. I think next time I make it, I will add some garlic and see what that does for it (we are huge garlic fans in this house). Oh, and next time, I'm doubling the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Well verilucky, I believe that your Husband is the lucky one. When I first test a recipe I make it as written. These folks that change sometimes better than half the original ingredients before trying it (other than someone with a dietary problem) Bug the you know what out of me. This deserves a 10. Ingredients, flavor, simplicity, etc. FANTASTIC. As some of the folks say, This IS a keeper. Thank you. Cap'n Jack

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      I also add one small carrot, minced, to the sautéing onions to give it a little sweetness. This is a very hearty soup with extremely well-balanced flavors. I serve it with rustic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2011

      We LOVED this soup. Our local gourmet market sells one for $5. a pint!!I found this recipe, and we like it even better than the markets. I agree that the dill is a must. I think that what put this over the top was the lemon juice. It added such a bright flavor. I thank you, my husband thanks you, and my wallet thanks you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      This is a great soup recipe! I did add a bit of garlic but other than that I followed the recipe to the letter. A keeper in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I love this soup. I used light butter and half 1% milk and light cream. My DH hates dill, so I replaced with thyme. So creamy and delicious on a cold winter night, a definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Oh how good! I made it exactly as it was, and its so good! I wonder how white wine would be, added to it? This is good, but if any of the ingredients were left out, I don't think it would be as good. Its a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This mushroom soup was very good! I would definitely recommend for mushroom lovers. The dill really brings a great flavor to the soup. I also put maybe 1/2 a tsp of cayenne pepper in it just to give it a little bite. Made it perfect for me. You have to try this! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Nice dilly version of mushroom soup. I used a little dried parsley because I never buy fresh, left out the lemon juice, and just used regular margarine to cook the onions and mushrooms in. Very very good, with lots of tasty mushrooms. A whole pound of mushrooms and 2 cups of onions seem like a lot when you first start out, but they cook down to just the right amount.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2006

      I pay $6.00 for a bowl of this soup and a slice of bread at a local restaruant. Instead I spent $6.00 on mushrooms and made a double batch of this recipe. I swear it is the same as what I buy downtown. I left out the lemon juice and fresh parsley, just cause I didn't have it. This soup was sooooo yummmy. I will never pay $6.00 a bowl for it again. Thank-you, Thank-you, Thank-you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

      The 1st mushroom soup I ever made & it was decliously spicy! Such a fantastic soup! I made a few tweaks which I think other people might like. First, since I had them in the refrigerator I added a container (1 oz) of dried Porcini mushrooms. I re-constituted them in hot water for about 15 mins, I then diced them and reserved the water. I then added these mushroom to the baby bella fresh mushrooms I used. Then I substituted 2 cups of chicken broth with 1 cup broth and 1 cup of the reserved mushroom water from the Porcini's, Then prior to adding the sour cream, I used an immersion blender. Just enough to break things up, but not enough to make it completely smooth. The result is a darker soup, but oh soooo delicious! Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This was very good! I think that the mushrooms need to be cooked a little longer before adding the broth, mine were a bit rubbery and I prefer them a little softer. Otherwise, great flavor and I love the dill/paprika together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      I made a batch of this last night with no changes (very unusual for me). I used a lb of crimini mushrooms and I thought that the ratio of liquid to mushroom was way off. I would use about 10oz next time, and make sure the mushroom is fully softened before adding the broth. I recently had a bowl of Hungarian mushroom soup at a restaurant and was trying to recreate that taste at home. I'd have to say it was a bit bland and there was something lacking flavor-wise in this soup. I'll have to experiment some to get it right. Thanks for a good recipe, Verelucky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Oh my goodness is this an awesome soup! I used crimini mushrooms and made just two small changes - lime juice instead of lemon (what I had on hand) and because paprika is my favorite spice, I used an extra 1/2 tsp (for half a recipe). Also used skim milk and light sour cream with no problems. Thank you so much for the recipe Verelucky!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      This is a great mushroom soup - very flavorful and easy to make. I used portabella mushrooms and I substituted non-fat Greek strained yogurt for the sour cream. I also reduced the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      What a lovely soup. Rich tasting with tons of flavor. I love dill so this was just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I liked, but not loved this recipe. I think the dill was too much and I only used 1 tsp and I'm not sure I liked the lemon either. But my 19 mo son loved it and he is a very picky eater hence the 4 stars. LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2005

      I was going to submit this one myself because it is one of my all-time favoritie soups to make.Very easy and tastes so good(especially when dunking some crusty bread into it!!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (293 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 202.6
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    61%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 36.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 849.2 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes