Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Meatballs With Mushroom Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Meatballs With Mushroom Gravy

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2009

      My husband and I both really enjoyed this meal. I'm a fan of Thyme however I felt the amount used in the meatballs was a tad too much in my opinion. The amount called for in the gravy was just right. Next time around I will modify accordingly. I doubled the amount of gravy in this dish and it turned out wonderfully. I suggest doubling the gravy, especially to provide 6 servings. Thank you for posting this recipe, I will definately make this again. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      Delicious! I used greek non-fat plain yogurt in place of sour cream and I sauteed some leeks and used in the gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      Very delicious! I followed the recipe but, I added a little sour cream to the meatballs along with a little caraway seed, dill seed, and celery seed to both the meatballs and the gravy. I used fresh dill instead of dried dill. I'll definitely make this again. Reminded me of beef stroganoff and swedish meatballs. I served it with sauteed cabbage and homemade egg noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Really good, different spicing. Very rich, filling. Served over spaetzle with mixed colorful veggies & cranberries on the side. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      A very enjoyable meal which will do again, I decided to take up the 3rd option and served with mashed potatoe though if doing again would halve the sauce but keep the sauce the same for the noodles and definately the rice as it would certainly soak it up. I did use 750g of lean mince but kept everything else the same except omiting the thyme from the sauce as it is not our favourite herb and have found it can be overpowering. I did use a light sour cream and made up the gravy and then added the sour cream and mixed in well and then added to the meat balls which were being kept warm in a low heat oven. Thank you carbsfromhvn and Karen Elizabeth for her inspirational photo in PAC which made me make this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      Oh yes, really liked this, a lovely weekend night supper, served on steamed white rice. (Though it would be fabulous on noodles as well, but my family were a little noodled-out at the time). I made exactly as directed, and it certainly is filling, i easily fed 6 on this. Thanks for a lovely recipe! Made for PAC Fall 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Very tasty dish! I doubled the recipe by adding 1 lb ground turkey. It doubled well. I omitted the fresh bread crumbs and used some out of the can. Thanks for posting. Made for PAC Spring 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      What a wonderful dish!! I loved the combination of flavours both in the meatballs and the gravy. I made this as written and the only change I made (personal preference) was I added hot pepper flakes to the gravy. Served this with noodles, steamed brussel sprouts and carrots from our garden. Thank you for sharing is great recipe. BTW...love your name...I can relate!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Meatballs With Mushroom Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (266 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.1
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    59%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 12.8 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 86.6 mg
    28%
    Sodium 591.0 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 20.0 g
    40%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites