9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My husband and I both really enjoyed this meal. I'm a fan of Thyme however I felt the amount used in the meatballs was a tad too much in my opinion. The amount called for in the gravy was just right. Next time around I will modify accordingly. I doubled the amount of gravy in this dish and it turned out wonderfully. I suggest doubling the gravy, especially to provide 6 servings. Thank you for posting this recipe, I will definately make this again. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnsdeere December 15, 2009

I didn't use sour cream or dill and we enjoyed it over mashed potatoes. I used 2# beef and doubled the recipe. Gravy seemed like the right quantity for the amount of meatballs. Thank you, I'll make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mickey in MN August 11, 2014

Delicious! I used greek non-fat plain yogurt in place of sour cream and I sauteed some leeks and used in the gravy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tia Katrina January 31, 2014

Very delicious! I followed the recipe but, I added a little sour cream to the meatballs along with a little caraway seed, dill seed, and celery seed to both the meatballs and the gravy. I used fresh dill instead of dried dill. I'll definitely make this again. Reminded me of beef stroganoff and swedish meatballs. I served it with sauteed cabbage and homemade egg noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yosabara August 06, 2012

Really good, different spicing. Very rich, filling. Served over spaetzle with mixed colorful veggies & cranberries on the side. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz December 11, 2011

A very enjoyable meal which will do again, I decided to take up the 3rd option and served with mashed potatoe though if doing again would halve the sauce but keep the sauce the same for the noodles and definately the rice as it would certainly soak it up. I did use 750g of lean mince but kept everything else the same except omiting the thyme from the sauce as it is not our favourite herb and have found it can be overpowering. I did use a light sour cream and made up the gravy and then added the sour cream and mixed in well and then added to the meat balls which were being kept warm in a low heat oven. Thank you carbsfromhvn and Karen Elizabeth for her inspirational photo in PAC which made me make this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 23, 2009

Oh yes, really liked this, a lovely weekend night supper, served on steamed white rice. (Though it would be fabulous on noodles as well, but my family were a little noodled-out at the time). I made exactly as directed, and it certainly is filling, i easily fed 6 on this. Thanks for a lovely recipe! Made for PAC Fall 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth September 22, 2009

Very tasty dish! I doubled the recipe by adding 1 lb ground turkey. It doubled well. I omitted the fresh bread crumbs and used some out of the can. Thanks for posting. Made for PAC Spring 2009

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv March 24, 2009

What a wonderful dish!! I loved the combination of flavours both in the meatballs and the gravy. I made this as written and the only change I made (personal preference) was I added hot pepper flakes to the gravy. Served this with noodles, steamed brussel sprouts and carrots from our garden. Thank you for sharing is great recipe. BTW...love your name...I can relate!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n October 24, 2008
Hungarian Meatballs With Mushroom Gravy