30 Reviews

this was delicious! i served it over egg noodles, but i also added large amounts of merlot to it while cooking. i also added large amounts of merlot to my stomach, but it was a sunday afternoon, so why not? ;-) it was almost stroganoffy...with the sour cream. but definitely one of the most delicious things i've ever cooked.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chadfox October 18, 2004

This is one of those recipes where I would give more than 5 stars if I could. It was delicious -- fabulous flavour! -- and the recipe works just as it says it will. I don't have a single quibble: the instructions are straightforward and very simple and this is quite easy to prepare. I followed it exactly as written, with 2 small additions. After cooking the onions (step 4), I added 1/3 cup merlot to deglaze the pan, before I added the meat back in. Then, as well as the 2 tbsp Hungarian paprika, I added a good sprinkle of smoked paprika too (I've been adding it to recipes a lot lately). I served this over Bev's Mashed Potato Pancakes (Potato Pancakes), which I thought worked well. My entire family enjoyed dinner; thanks so, so much for posting this recipe: it's a real keeper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie May 24, 2004

My family enjoyed this very much! I added half a cup of red wine and it was wonderful. We had it with mash potatoes. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara August 30, 2004

It's not even done and I can't stop eating it out of the pot. SO good! I like to add some tomato and several smashed garlic cloves when stewing the meat, and to thicken I used a roux I make & store in the fridge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weewah August 09, 2013

I have to agree with the reviews on this one. Excellent!! I used only about 2 lbs of beef in the recipe, and kept all the other ingredients the same. I also deglazed the onions (and about 6 garlic cloves) with red wine, and then simmered for a full two hours. I certainly didn't need to add any thickening agent at the end, and even added a bit of left over beef broth to lean it out abit. I also used a 50/50 blend of Hungarian paprika and smoked paprika. This one will be a keeper for sure! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glaber April 21, 2013

This is a good dish, but make sure that you cook the beef long enough so the meat is tender! I did add mushrooms and used about 1/4 cup of wine to de-glaze my pot. I found there was a lot of liquid so I had to add about 1/2 cup of flour mixture to thicken it up. Next time, I might try this in my crock pot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl December 16, 2012

Followed the recipe exactly and it was fabulous. My wife doesn't much like anything with noodles and her verdict was, "I loved it, and you know if I like anything with noodles it is really good."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JGsped January 12, 2012

This recipe was SO good! I admit the Hungarian paprika we currently have makes me nervous (it says it's "sweet", but it's kinda hot to my wimpy senses!) so I used 1 tb Hungarian and 1 tb California sweet paprika. I also followed the suggestion of a couple reviewers and deglazed with ~ 1/2 c merlot after caramelizing the onions. *I* thought it was perfect; my husband thought it was a tad sweet (though he gobbled it up!) and wants me to try making it next time with all Hungarian paprika. I'll definitely be making this again, so I'm sure that will happen sooner or later! Thanks so much for sharing this! A definite keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katymae16 November 16, 2011

I chopped the onions very thinly using a mandolin. They pretty much disappeared once cooked - which I liked since I'm not a huge fan of onions. I added some sliced up sweet bell peppers towards the end, and served over egg noodles. DH wasn't a huge fan. It's decent comfort food for a cold night, but I'm not quite sure it was worth all of the prep work. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah_Goertzen November 12, 2011

This was sooooo good! My boyfriend grew up eating Hungarian food and I am happy to report he says its even better than his mother's recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smiley001404 August 10, 2011
Hungarian Goulash