Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Goulash

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2004

      this was delicious! i served it over egg noodles, but i also added large amounts of merlot to it while cooking. i also added large amounts of merlot to my stomach, but it was a sunday afternoon, so why not? ;-) it was almost stroganoffy...with the sour cream. but definitely one of the most delicious things i've ever cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2004

      This is one of those recipes where I would give more than 5 stars if I could. It was delicious -- fabulous flavour! -- and the recipe works just as it says it will. I don't have a single quibble: the instructions are straightforward and very simple and this is quite easy to prepare. I followed it exactly as written, with 2 small additions. After cooking the onions (step 4), I added 1/3 cup merlot to deglaze the pan, before I added the meat back in. Then, as well as the 2 tbsp Hungarian paprika, I added a good sprinkle of smoked paprika too (I've been adding it to recipes a lot lately). I served this over Bev's Mashed Potato Pancakes (Potato Pancakes), which I thought worked well. My entire family enjoyed dinner; thanks so, so much for posting this recipe: it's a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2004

      My family enjoyed this very much! I added half a cup of red wine and it was wonderful. We had it with mash potatoes. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      It's not even done and I can't stop eating it out of the pot. SO good! I like to add some tomato and several smashed garlic cloves when stewing the meat, and to thicken I used a roux I make & store in the fridge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      I have to agree with the reviews on this one. Excellent!! I used only about 2 lbs of beef in the recipe, and kept all the other ingredients the same. I also deglazed the onions (and about 6 garlic cloves) with red wine, and then simmered for a full two hours. I certainly didn't need to add any thickening agent at the end, and even added a bit of left over beef broth to lean it out abit. I also used a 50/50 blend of Hungarian paprika and smoked paprika. This one will be a keeper for sure! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      This is a good dish, but make sure that you cook the beef long enough so the meat is tender! I did add mushrooms and used about 1/4 cup of wine to de-glaze my pot. I found there was a lot of liquid so I had to add about 1/2 cup of flour mixture to thicken it up. Next time, I might try this in my crock pot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Followed the recipe exactly and it was fabulous. My wife doesn't much like anything with noodles and her verdict was, "I loved it, and you know if I like anything with noodles it is really good."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      This recipe was SO good! I admit the Hungarian paprika we currently have makes me nervous (it says it's "sweet", but it's kinda hot to my wimpy senses!) so I used 1 tb Hungarian and 1 tb California sweet paprika. I also followed the suggestion of a couple reviewers and deglazed with ~ 1/2 c merlot after caramelizing the onions. *I* thought it was perfect; my husband thought it was a tad sweet (though he gobbled it up!) and wants me to try making it next time with all Hungarian paprika. I'll definitely be making this again, so I'm sure that will happen sooner or later! Thanks so much for sharing this! A definite keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2011

      I chopped the onions very thinly using a mandolin. They pretty much disappeared once cooked - which I liked since I'm not a huge fan of onions. I added some sliced up sweet bell peppers towards the end, and served over egg noodles. DH wasn't a huge fan. It's decent comfort food for a cold night, but I'm not quite sure it was worth all of the prep work. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2011

      This was sooooo good! My boyfriend grew up eating Hungarian food and I am happy to report he says its even better than his mother's recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      This is a good recipe. I did add a bit more sour cream but otherwise followed the directions. I served this with buttered noodles and cauliflower. Thank you for sharing with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

    • on January 28, 2010

      Very good! My oldest and I loved it! My 5 yr old didn't care for it. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Not bad. A little too thin for our taste, so I thickened even further.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      it's ok but not my favorite. thanks for the recipe anyway!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      This is a good, very easy basic recipe. I had all of the ingredients to make this and it turned out fairly well. I used 1 teaspoon salt and 1/2 teaspoon pepper. I'll add some garlic and caraway seeds next time. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      This was great and very easy to make! A winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This dish was fantastic. One of the best I've tried from RZ. I thought, using three pounds of stewing beef, that I would have a lot of leftovers, but there was barely enough for my husband to take to work for lunch the following day! My kids gobbled it up and said "Make this again, Mom!" I put everything together according to directions and then transferred it to the slow cooker and let it simmer on low for about 6 hours. I stirred in the sour cream just before serving (I didn't need to thicken it with the flour/water). Super easy and delicious. What more could you ask for? Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      Awsome. So easy yet sooooo good. I also had trouble finding the hungarian paprika so had to use the Spanish one instead. This recipe is a must have. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      Delicious! I was craving one that was made for me and I only had to make 2 alterations to make it as I'd remembered it tasting. Awesome! I sliced a NY strip into long thin strips, added, sliced Bell Pepper, and served it over Egg Noodles. Fantastic..Thanx again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (366 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 589.6
     
    Calories from Fat 230
    39%
    Total Fat 25.6 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 225.2 mg
    75%
    Sodium 624.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 77.2 g
    154%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites