Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Goulash

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 06, 2010

      This is good, and I'll make it again. I agree with the reviewer who said it needed to be spicier. I wouldn't say "spicier," as much as more flavorful. I had goulash in Hungary and it was much richer. I think the cider and caraway seeds are necessary additives to perk up the flavor, and probably extra paprika and salt. Nevertheless, I made other Goulash recipes from this site and this is the best so far. To make spaetzel (or whatever you call the dumplings), mix 1 c flour with 3 eggs and a little salt (less than 3 eggs and they're sinkers, not floaters). It will be sticky and very thick. Drop by cohesive shapes into the boiling goulash (if they're not well formed, they'll fall apart and turn into flour that thickens the goulash instead of dumplings). They're done when they float.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2014

      Thank you! As a Hungarian, I can personally say this is MUCH closer to the actual Hungarian recipe than other recipes on this site. Some people put weird things like "Italian Seasoning" or worcestershire sauce onto their recipe lists (yes, really, and no, Hungarians do not use that). Apple cider vinegar is odd, and I have never really put that into my goulash (gulyas), although I do put white vinegar into my komenymagos leves (Caraway seed soup). Of course, I prefer my goulash hot, and put lots of Piros Arany, Eros Pista, or even just plain red pepper seeds into it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      Oh my...this was outstanding! The best beef stew type meal ever! Extremely tender and full of flavor. Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      I was expecting an adventure when I decided to make this recipe - I had stew meat, but had no idea how much (about 2-4 lbs), only a half of one onion and the tomato sauce can I had on hand was 15 instead of 8 oz. Nevertheless, the recipe worked out great! I used a red bell pepper instead of green - personal preference, 1 1/2 tsp of apple cider vinegar, the whole 15 oz can of tomato sauce and reduced the water to 9 oz. Also, needed quite a bit more salt and the cooking time on my stove was 2 hrs 15 min. I almost omitted the sour cream, but am sooo glad I didn't, it made the sauce very nice and creamy. I also doubled the amount of caraway seed. What a great recipe, definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing. UPDATE: This freezes great, perfect for OAMC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I'm not a talented cook, but I found this very easy and very delicious. I would like too add potatoes next time, and something to make it a little spicier (more paprika?)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      This was a delicious version. I made a vegetarian version using Morningstar Farmers Beef Starter Strips. This cut down on the browning time but I still simmered everything for over an hour. It was delicious served over rice with a carraot salad on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      This was really yummy! Easy to make and great flavor - we just like it a teensy bit spicer so next time will tweak a bit. Will definately make again though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      Very good! I was afraid I wouldn't care for the caraway seed and majoram, so I subsituted dried mustard. I also added about a tablespoon of brown sugar. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      Following the other reviewers, I also added more paprika. Great warmer for a cold winter night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      This was easy to prepare, and tasty! I used green beans instead of green pepper, and some extra paprika. It was tender and ready to eat in two hours. I decided to serve the goulash without noodles, and it was fine by itself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2003

      Very easy and wonderful flavor! I followed the recipe, except I added a little more paprika and a more caraway seeds. Delicious! Thanks Margaret3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (251 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.1
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    45%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 117.1 mg
    39%
    Sodium 780.7 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 34.2 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites