10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, I'd rather not rate this recipe misleadingly called "Hungarian Goulash" - because it doesn't even resemble what we call "goulash" (or gulyas, to use the original Hungarian spelling) here in Hungary. Trust me, I know what I'm talking about: I'm 100% Hungarian! Although it _is_ true that gulyas has many variations, but this recipe is so far from it that it doesn't deserve the name. From the description, it might a very nice dish - but _not_ goulash/gulyas. It's like football and soccer - both are team sports, that's all the similarities. Sorry, folks!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarnabasTarnai June 20, 2002

I cooked this and added new potatoes and more tomatoes. It tasted great and everyone loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kate in Katoomba November 15, 2002

Very good Hungarian Goulash recipe. Tasted wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hungarian Gypsy October 29, 2008

This is a great recipe. We make it for out-of-town company pretty regularly during the cold months. I always double the diced tomatoes to reach a more diserable consistency.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oldbern October 19, 2008

Gulyas is a soup in Hungary. The recipe here is a beef PÖRKÖLT which is a paprika based stew. If it is a Gulyás there should be celery or parsnip inside and cumin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imola_f September 24, 2008

this was a great little recipe needed a little more moisture - taste was good - would add a little heat next time - just to kick it up a notch - made for ZWT

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ravenseyes June 17, 2008

I will make this again, although probably only on the weekend because of the cooking time. This was very good, and I'll be taking it to work tomorrow :) Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan June 09, 2008

well the reviews here had me a little hesitant to try this dish, but it looked easy and sounded tasty to me. Whether or not it's authentic isn't important to me--I just love goulash!! I've made it many ways, many times for many years. If there is a restaurant nearby that offers a goulash special, well, I am there!!! I made this and it was DELICIOUS!!!! I took it for lunch the next day and.... guess what.....EVEN BETTER THE 2nd DAY!!! Will add to family cook book and make often. Thanks for the AWESOME homecooked meal Sue Lorie!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
daisyb6107 March 06, 2008

I can't comment on the authenticity of the Hungarian aspect of the recipe, but I will say that I followed all the directions and it came out a bit bland. I've found that I greatly prefer my white trash version of goulash to this one. I wouldn't make it again... the time involved simply wasn't worth the outcome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eyebright January 15, 2003
Hungarian Goulash