Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Goulash

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2002

      Well, I'd rather not rate this recipe misleadingly called "Hungarian Goulash" - because it doesn't even resemble what we call "goulash" (or gulyas, to use the original Hungarian spelling) here in Hungary. Trust me, I know what I'm talking about: I'm 100% Hungarian! Although it _is_ true that gulyas has many variations, but this recipe is so far from it that it doesn't deserve the name. From the description, it might a very nice dish - but _not_ goulash/gulyas. It's like football and soccer - both are team sports, that's all the similarities. Sorry, folks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      I cooked this and added new potatoes and more tomatoes. It tasted great and everyone loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Very good Hungarian Goulash recipe. Tasted wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      This is a great recipe. We make it for out-of-town company pretty regularly during the cold months. I always double the diced tomatoes to reach a more diserable consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Gulyas is a soup in Hungary. The recipe here is a beef PÖRKÖLT which is a paprika based stew. If it is a Gulyás there should be celery or parsnip inside and cumin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      this was a great little recipe needed a little more moisture - taste was good - would add a little heat next time - just to kick it up a notch - made for ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      I will make this again, although probably only on the weekend because of the cooking time. This was very good, and I'll be taking it to work tomorrow :) Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      well the reviews here had me a little hesitant to try this dish, but it looked easy and sounded tasty to me. Whether or not it's authentic isn't important to me--I just love goulash!! I've made it many ways, many times for many years. If there is a restaurant nearby that offers a goulash special, well, I am there!!! I made this and it was DELICIOUS!!!! I took it for lunch the next day and.... guess what.....EVEN BETTER THE 2nd DAY!!! Will add to family cook book and make often. Thanks for the AWESOME homecooked meal Sue Lorie!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

    • on January 15, 2003

      I can't comment on the authenticity of the Hungarian aspect of the recipe, but I will say that I followed all the directions and it came out a bit bland. I've found that I greatly prefer my white trash version of goulash to this one. I wouldn't make it again... the time involved simply wasn't worth the outcome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (239 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 346.6
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    41%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 127.6 mg
    42%
    Sodium 200.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 39.6 g
    79%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites