Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Goulash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Goulash

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2007

      I made this recipe for the guys in my home (I very rarely eat red meat). I as a bit concerned about the thinness mentioned and didn't want to serve it that way so I got around it by cooking the pasta in the stew instead of adding it after it was cooked. That worked very well indeed. What surprised me was that the ketchup loving guys thought that in this case it added too much sweetness (pick me up off the floor now!) and that they thought they would like it made with tomato sauce better. The recipe works beautifully and the meat comes out butter tender. I topped the servings with a bit of chives. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Made with well trimmed short ribs as posted. I loved the tangy sauce. The house smelled wonderful while this was cooking. Thanks for posting SweetsLady. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Very mixed reaction - my preference was to serve it over the pasta as each of us required a difference amount (for 4 I used 300 grams of penne) so to help avoid the soupiness I cut the water to 2 cups and upped the flour to 3 tablespoons and I also had 2 1/2 pounds of diced gravy beef/shin beef and gave it the full 2 1/2 hours and the meat was lovely and tender but it was still a bit thinner than we would have liked. The plus is that it is a really easy meal to put together and there is not really a lot of work in it as most of the time it burbles away on the stove and just needs the occassional stir. Thank you SweetsLady, made for Please Review My Recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

    • on July 02, 2008

      Thanks for posting this recipe Sweets. A lovely alternative to my normal goulash. Using normally ground beef, I had left-over roast beef from sundays dinner and so this worked perfectly. The different flavor combinations came thru very nicely adding to the richness of the ketchup. Made for MarketTag~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      My son's comment on this was that the sauce was "kind of cool." This is easy to put together - perfect for my purposes tonight - I just put it on the stove top and did other stuff while it cooked. I used 1/3 cup of ketchup and a 6-oz can of tomato paste. I cooked the rigatoni separately and it was just the right consistency. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2007

      This recipe was very good. It was easy to make. The meat turned out to be very tender. This was pure comfort food. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      This was very good and similar to my dad's 'Slumgulion' with the addition of the ketchup (which we added about 2 cups total). We used ground beef instead of steaks, and it was lovely. Thanks for sharing. -B&B-

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      While I liked the flavour of the meat and the gravy I really didn't care for the rigatoni in it. I think it would be much better served over noodles and that is what I will try next time. The beef comes out very tender. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Goulash

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1095.2
     
    Calories from Fat 810
    74%
    Total Fat 90.1 g
    138%
    Saturated Fat 35.0 g
    175%
    Cholesterol 160.2 mg
    53%
    Sodium 712.1 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.7 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 18.4 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites