12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have been making this for years, but the last half hour I add cut carrots & potatoes, And sometimes I add dumplings,1 egg 1 tbsp. water and flour to make a light dough, drop by tsp.into Goulash the last 10 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eva Mann July 28, 2002

Hey MizzNezz, What a delight to see an authentic Goulash recipe, after all the macaroni/burger things I've seen online. This is the way my Austro-Hungarian mother made it, perhaps with a few caraway seeds thrown in. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elly808 June 24, 2010

Also terrific over rice. And yes to other reviewer its great with venison but I add some carrot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Merle 1 March 26, 2010

I agree this was very simple and delicious. It is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mckme November 16, 2009

A+++ This was great! Added water periodically to keep from sticking. Just like I remember my mom making. It was easy to prepare and had a good flavor. Meat was nice and tender, altho I didn't cook quite as long. (My meat was cubed a little smaller.) I wonder how this would be with venison???

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky1 September 30, 2008

Very easy to prepare and the whole family loved it. I served it over egg noodles. It is now in our dinner rotation! Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Texas January 04, 2008

Made this for a gathering the other night. The pot was scraped clean. Even my 10 yr old loved it - especially nice over noodles. I was hoping to have some leftovers but no such luck. My daughter asked me to make it again today.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kareniscooking October 14, 2007

I just made this and not only is it extremely simple, it is so GOOD! My hubby LOVED it! I served it over rotini noodles with french bread. YUM! I used extra lean stew meat and cooked it about 30 minutes longer to ensure fork tender meat. PERFECT! Thanks Mizznezz for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sara.jacobs September 28, 2007

I can't begin to describe how devine this dish is! I have never tasted anything to fabulous in my whole life! My fiance and I thank you MizzNezz! (I can't even say I tweeked this recipe. Made exactly as written out, it turns out perfectly!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morgan Khan April 05, 2007
Hungarian Goulash