Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Cookie Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Cookie Bars

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on May 23, 2012

      This is an excellent treat and easy to make as all reviewers have mentioned. I made a mistake and added a total of 4 eggs, which turned out very well. Just a hint of a custard taste to enjoy! Also, we took plunge and actually put this in a 9" pie pan. Again - excellent results. We used chopped walnuts for the nuts. Unlike one reviewer, I did not find this treat too sweet. It is sweet yes, but with a cup of unsweetened tea it is such a simple delight. We're not sugar hounds around here and thought the sweetness was just right. Tip: I used my immersion blender to quickly froth the eggs in a bowl. (Remember, I used four eggs by mistake.) Thank you Bayhill!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2012

      This deserves more than 5 stars!!! We loved them! I did have to cook them more than 40 minutes. I used walnuts and hubby took them to work and everybody loved them. I may have to make another batch for me and hubby since I've fallen in love with this. YUM!!! Made for PAC Spring 2012.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2008

      So easy to make and so easy to eat. We used chopped walnuts. The bars are very nice, but just a bit too sweet for our taste buds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Yum! These are wonderful and easy to make! I took these to a little picnic and they were a hit! I used chopped pecans. Made for ZWT4 and the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      Fast, easy, and oh so gooey- YUM! Definitely a recipe you will want to repeat. I used finely chopped pecans and they were like little pecan pie bites. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      This recipe was very easy to follow and the end results were delicious! Rich, sweet, gooey and buttery. I used walnuts for this recipe, next time I will try almonds. I made this for a Hungarian friend and haven't had him try it yet. I hope he loves it as much as I do. Wasn't sure if this was an authentic Hungarian recipe, but all that matters is that he enjoys it. Thanks Bayhill for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      I'm not going to rate this because I used a coconut butter instead of real butter and the "cookie" part turned out dry and floury. :'(

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      These are fantastic! Like pecan pie but with a more buttery taste. I especially loved the crust that formed around the edges. They baked in just under 40 minutes in my oven. Thanks so much for posting! I will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      This is a quick, easy little bar cookie that everyone who tried it LOVED! DH took 2 in his lunch after eating 3 while they were still warm. DD2 let me have one and took the rest to work with her. I have now been "ordered" to make another batch tonight! Thanks BAYHILL...this one was a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      I am re-reviewing this recipe. I originally baked it (as *origianlly* written) in a loaf pan and it did not work at all....never set, burned on top, etc. I then made this in a square baking dish (8-9-inch) and baked it about 35 minutes. Bayhill has edited the recipe to bake in a square pan per my recommendation. TRY IT!!!!It's wonderfully nutty and sweet. It's more like pie than a cookie. It kinda remins you of pecan pie (except I used chopped walnuts). You need a fork to eat it because it's gooey and sticky! I sprinkled a tad of cinnamon over the nuts...YUM! I would make these again when I want something gooey and sweet....they are VERY easy to make. Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Cookie Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (895 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 283.9
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    33%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 31.0 mg
    10%
    Sodium 141.8 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 31.7 g
    127%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites