10 Reviews

This is an excellent treat and easy to make as all reviewers have mentioned. I made a mistake and added a total of 4 eggs, which turned out very well. Just a hint of a custard taste to enjoy! Also, we took plunge and actually put this in a 9" pie pan. Again - excellent results. We used chopped walnuts for the nuts. Unlike one reviewer, I did not find this treat too sweet. It is sweet yes, but with a cup of unsweetened tea it is such a simple delight. We're not sugar hounds around here and thought the sweetness was just right. Tip: I used my immersion blender to quickly froth the eggs in a bowl. (Remember, I used four eggs by mistake.) Thank you Bayhill!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Two Hearts May 23, 2012

This deserves more than 5 stars!!! We loved them! I did have to cook them more than 40 minutes. I used walnuts and hubby took them to work and everybody loved them. I may have to make another batch for me and hubby since I've fallen in love with this. YUM!!! Made for PAC Spring 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 20, 2012

So easy to make and so easy to eat. We used chopped walnuts. The bars are very nice, but just a bit too sweet for our taste buds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy June 15, 2008

Yum! These are wonderful and easy to make! I took these to a little picnic and they were a hit! I used chopped pecans. Made for ZWT4 and the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 17, 2008

Fast, easy, and oh so gooey- YUM! Definitely a recipe you will want to repeat. I used finely chopped pecans and they were like little pecan pie bites. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. June 07, 2008

This recipe was very easy to follow and the end results were delicious! Rich, sweet, gooey and buttery. I used walnuts for this recipe, next time I will try almonds. I made this for a Hungarian friend and haven't had him try it yet. I hope he loves it as much as I do. Wasn't sure if this was an authentic Hungarian recipe, but all that matters is that he enjoys it. Thanks Bayhill for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buula25 May 23, 2008

I'm not going to rate this because I used a coconut butter instead of real butter and the "cookie" part turned out dry and floury. :'(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatSouthernBelle May 20, 2007

These are fantastic! Like pecan pie but with a more buttery taste. I especially loved the crust that formed around the edges. They baked in just under 40 minutes in my oven. Thanks so much for posting! I will definitely make these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucid501 April 28, 2007

This is a quick, easy little bar cookie that everyone who tried it LOVED! DH took 2 in his lunch after eating 3 while they were still warm. DD2 let me have one and took the rest to work with her. I have now been "ordered" to make another batch tonight! Thanks BAYHILL...this one was a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherrybeth November 16, 2006

I am re-reviewing this recipe. I originally baked it (as *origianlly* written) in a loaf pan and it did not work at all....never set, burned on top, etc. I then made this in a square baking dish (8-9-inch) and baked it about 35 minutes. Bayhill has edited the recipe to bake in a square pan per my recommendation. TRY IT!!!!It's wonderfully nutty and sweet. It's more like pie than a cookie. It kinda remins you of pecan pie (except I used chopped walnuts). You need a fork to eat it because it's gooey and sticky! I sprinkled a tad of cinnamon over the nuts...YUM! I would make these again when I want something gooey and sweet....they are VERY easy to make. Thanx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* August 15, 2006
Hungarian Cookie Bars