Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hungarian Chicken Paprikash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hungarian Chicken Paprikash

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on April 07, 2003

      Very creamy, delicious, and mildly spicy, a dish that is true comfort food, just as advertised. I did wait to add the paprika until the onion was tender, since the parika tends to burn easily. I would definitely make this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      This is SO so good. So good. Tastes a lot like the version I had in Budapest... I was amazed at being able to replicate that at home. I used bone-in chicken thighs, plenty of salt, and increased the onion and paprika a bit. A PERFECT recipe that I'll make again and again. I wouldn't change a thing. This is one of those dishes that you keep thinking about long after you've made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      This was delicious and very moist! However you certainly don't want to cover the chicken with broth as it'd make way too much liquid. Just use the two cups of broth and it'll be fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2013

      This was fabulous! I did leave out the cayenne pepper (due to young children) otherwise made as written. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      FANTABULOUS!! I've been making a similar recipe for years, but when I saw this, decided to try it and we're so glad we did. Yours is better than mine and will become our regular Hungarian Chicken Paprikash regular. I used "hot" Hungarian Paprika so elimininated the cayene. I also used boneless-skinless chicken breasts exclusively, and added some fresh mushrooms. Must admit I used homemade noodles instead of spaetzel or nokedti, but, in my opinion, there isn't that big a difference. My family dinner guests as well DH gave me (and you, of course) thumbs up AND five stars. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Overall, this was a fabulous dish and definitely going into my "keeper" file! Next time I will add a tad bit extra broth, as I agree with some other reviewers that it was a little on the thick side. I only had low-fat sour cream on hand, but it was just fine for my husband and me. I'm sure it will be even more delish with the real deal. I also added a little Lawry's pepper mix just as a personal preference :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2003

      Much better than great! Any time The husband says "It's a keeper!" I know it is. Very delicious. The only thing that I changed was to take the chicken out after it was browned and cooled, and took most of the skin off. Then, after simmering, I pulled it out again and pulled it off the bone to make it "family friendly" while I added the sour cream w/flour. My daughter helped me with the nokedli - my hands ain't what they used to be... but that's a seperate review. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I'm part Polish - kind of the same territory!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2003

      This is just like my Hungarian mother made hers. PERFECT! And nokedli is ALWAYS served with it. P.S. I can't believe how many Hungarians think nokedli is called spaetzle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      OMG GOOD, had this for dinner last night and both my husband and I went back for seconds. I am so glad I made a larger batch so that I have extra for lunch today. Can't wait to see how much better this may be after the flavors marry overnight. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2013

      My Nagymama made this all the time when I was growing up. This recipe was as close as I have ever gotten to replicating hers. I highly recommend using a high quality Hungarian paprika to really get the right flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

      My boyfriend requested "Chicken Paprikash" for dinner one night. Together we made this recipe and it was delicious! Plenty of creamy gravy with real depth of flavor. I added a broth can's worth of water and a vegetable bouillion cube. Be sure to use fresh paprika, not stuff that's been sitting in your pantry for years. To keep carbs down, we sauteed peas and mushrooms to go with the paprikash, instead of noodles, and it was fantastic. I am typically a tough critic of recipes, but this one's a keeper. True peasant comfort food.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      This chicken paprikash recipe is wonderful. My grandmother was born in Hungary and she used to make paprikash every Saturday. Unfortunately, I never got her to write down her recipe - it was always a handful of this, a pinch of that. So, I tried this one because it seemed similar to my grandmother's. It was INCREDIBLE. The chicken was moist and tender, and the sauce was delicious. I used more chicken stock than the recipe called for, so I didn't need to add any liquid at the end. Also, because paprika has a tendency to burn, I added it after sauteeing the onions and adding chicken stock. The sauce was a beautiful color, although my teenage son was a little put off by pink sauce. It was a very easy recipe and one that I will continue to use. It's definitely a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I forgot to rate this recipe when I made it about a month ago. This is the recipe to follow for authentic Hungarian Chicken Paprikash. It is out of this world and has brought memories back to my childhood. Don't let the 20 or so steps fool you. It's very easy and is such a treat to smell the simmering pot of food all afternoon. Make this with Hungarian Nokedli (Dumplings) and you'll have a table of happy smiles. 50 bazillion stars. Well done and thanks for posting! :O)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      This is Chicken Paprikash as I remember it. I cheated and used boxed Spaetzel and it didn't compromise the flavor. Very Good!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2003

      Very tasty chicken dish, I used 4 chicken legs and lite sour cream. The cayenne gave the right amount of spice for my familys taste. I served with wide egg noodles. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

      I don't see how this recipe could be any better (other than having someone else make it for me). I followed the recipe exactly as written and it tasted wonderful. Thanks for posting my new favorite Hungarian recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2014

      Just came back from a trip to Hungary where i had authentic chicken paprikash. I brought back some fresh sweet paprika powder and used it in this recipe. I made this dish yesterday and what a treat that was! brilliant flavors and just like the real thing that I ate just last week in Hungary. I would recommend this recipe.!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Holy cow! I am lucky enough to live in a city with a famous Hungarian restaurant (Tony Packo's). I made this at home tonight and it was delicious. This is a 5 star recipe and will be made frequently. Perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      We enjoyed this dish and I love the smoked paprika which really adds so much flavor. I did add some cream to thin the sauce a bit. I wasn't sure how much reserved flour to add to the sour cream and may have added too much; therefore, the cream really helped the consistency of the sauce. Served over rice instead of noodles. Made for Cooking Tag Mania, October, 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      Spectacular! :) A real authentic dish. And I was born to Hungarian women to prove it. In my family, if you did one thing wrong, you got yelled at, so I'll skip the yelling, but I'll quibble slightly. The red pepper you might consider being black pepper for more traditional. And the serving instrtuctions. Why is it alwasys "over galuska"? We never did that. The galuska was made separately only because it would steal the liquid from the stew. We then incorporated the galuska (dumplings) directly into the stew after it was done. It should be noted that the oldest recipes use snails as the galuska. This is not a French aspect. Snails were am acient food of the Hungarians just like the French. Just coincidence due to proximity. There were however several French chefs who informed Hungarian cooking in the feudal courts in the Renaissance. For references, see George Lang's book. My review of this dish is getting off topic. <br/><br/><br/>One thing I'd like to add is that we always thickened with sour cream and flour. Common knowledge says you have to "boil the raw taste out of the flour" but we haven't had that experience. It works well, tastes great and feels right somehow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hungarian Chicken Paprikash

    Serving Size: 1 (250 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.1
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    67%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.2 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 29.9 mg
    9%
    Sodium 424.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites