62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very creamy, delicious, and mildly spicy, a dish that is true comfort food, just as advertised. I did wait to add the paprika until the onion was tender, since the parika tends to burn easily. I would definitely make this again! Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau April 07, 2003

This is SO so good. So good. Tastes a lot like the version I had in Budapest... I was amazed at being able to replicate that at home. I used bone-in chicken thighs, plenty of salt, and increased the onion and paprika a bit. A PERFECT recipe that I'll make again and again. I wouldn't change a thing. This is one of those dishes that you keep thinking about long after you've made it.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karenlyn2 June 20, 2011

This was delicious and very moist! However you certainly don't want to cover the chicken with broth as it'd make way too much liquid. Just use the two cups of broth and it'll be fine.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineM April 01, 2006

This was fabulous! I did leave out the cayenne pepper (due to young children) otherwise made as written. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom August 17, 2013

FANTABULOUS!! I've been making a similar recipe for years, but when I saw this, decided to try it and we're so glad we did. Yours is better than mine and will become our regular Hungarian Chicken Paprikash regular. I used "hot" Hungarian Paprika so elimininated the cayene. I also used boneless-skinless chicken breasts exclusively, and added some fresh mushrooms. Must admit I used homemade noodles instead of spaetzel or nokedti, but, in my opinion, there isn't that big a difference. My family dinner guests as well DH gave me (and you, of course) thumbs up AND five stars. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judikins April 01, 2010

Overall, this was a fabulous dish and definitely going into my "keeper" file! Next time I will add a tad bit extra broth, as I agree with some other reviewers that it was a little on the thick side. I only had low-fat sour cream on hand, but it was just fine for my husband and me. I'm sure it will be even more delish with the real deal. I also added a little Lawry's pepper mix just as a personal preference :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scouter Girl January 26, 2010

Much better than great! Any time The husband says "It's a keeper!" I know it is. Very delicious. The only thing that I changed was to take the chicken out after it was browned and cooled, and took most of the skin off. Then, after simmering, I pulled it out again and pulled it off the bone to make it "family friendly" while I added the sour cream w/flour. My daughter helped me with the nokedli - my hands ain't what they used to be... but that's a seperate review. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! I'm part Polish - kind of the same territory!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP June 16, 2003

This is just like my Hungarian mother made hers. PERFECT! And nokedli is ALWAYS served with it. P.S. I can't believe how many Hungarians think nokedli is called spaetzle.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janis Eschbach April 29, 2003

Yay finally an authentic Hungarian Chicken Paprikash recipe. I have seen so many using tomatoes. I'm 100% Hungarian and this is how we make it. The only things I do differently is after I sauté the onions I remove it from the stove and stir in the paprika and then add your broth or water usually water is enough because you are using chicken with skin and bone. Simmer a few minutes add the chicken cover and simmer until done. I remove the chicken and stir the flout right into the sour cream and add this slowly to a little of the broth in a bowl to temper it it so it doesn't curdle then add it right into the rest of the gravy and cook until thickened. I also make nokedli or I have used cavatelli or just wide egg noodles. Good recipe. Now I know a lot of people will cringe but the real Magyars (Hungarians) eat the skin and chew the chicken from the bones.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gale 57 December 22, 2014

OMG GOOD, had this for dinner last night and both my husband and I went back for seconds. I am so glad I made a larger batch so that I have extra for lunch today. Can't wait to see how much better this may be after the flavors marry overnight. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cleanplate1 September 06, 2013
Hungarian Chicken Paprikash