33 Reviews

I'm not sure if I should've given this stars or not, because I kinda tweaked it a lot. Like a few others, I added 1/4 tsp. cumin and 1/4 tsp. paprika. It seemed like it needed "something" (besides the tahini...), so I added a tiny bit of salt, and on a whim, threw in about 1 1/2 Tbsp. creamy peanut butter. It is excellent! I love hummus, and making it without tahini is great! When I buy tahini I usually end up using it once or twice, because I forget I have it or it gets pushed to the back of the fridge by the men of the house that give it a funny look. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 January 13, 2011

Really good and oh so simple. I cut down on the lemon juice just a tad - too acidic for my tastes. Otherwise just perfect! I added a little smoked paprika for fun. :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingTimeForMe April 07, 2010

Worked great! Although, I found that my food processor didn't get the chick peas pureed enough. I had to use my hand blender to get everything to be the right consistency. I didn't use the red pepper flakes, but I added a 1/2 avocado. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jhathaway July 12, 2010

The tahini makes the texture much more appealing and adds a great flavor, even just 2-4 Tbsp. Good flavor but it's a texture thing I guess.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn2701 June 24, 2010

This was great! I was craving hummus to go with my falafels but we were out of tahini. I also ran out of olive oil, so I added a splash of sesame oil. Like other reviewers, I added cumin. I also added a sprinkle of parsley. I will totally make this again, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbell Bunny February 07, 2010

I have made this twice and LOVE it!! I got hooked on hummus with the store bought stuff, and this is oh so easy and extra tasty. I took the advice of one of the other reviewers and added some chili powder and cumin for a nice round flavor. Definitely chill this before serving, it lets the flavor meld together. Excellent recipe, Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookandcookagain January 26, 2010

I used this recipe at the restaurant I work at. I used it because I had no tahini. It was fantastic!! I added a little chili powder, ground red pepper, and cumin. Everyone loved it! Who needs to bother buying tahini? Now I can make it at home too. flytyr.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flytyr28738 December 29, 2007

Had to write again, as the hummus has been in the fridge for a few days. Added some hot paprika & this recipe without tahini is very, very good. I would make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tjander38 August 03, 2015

Okay, but I really missed the tahini. I was out and craving hummus, so this worked in a pinch but I think I'll go back to my regular recipe. If I tried this again, I think I'd follow other reviewers' suggestion to add cumin/paprika.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kmsmith2333 May 09, 2015

I was really pleased with this. Like the others I did add my own extras - a handful of coriander and some smoked paprika

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
torallen April 27, 2015
Hummus Without Tahini