15 Reviews

Wow! This was my first time making hummus and I was specifically looking for a recipe that I actually had the ingredients in my kitchen. The only thing I didn't have was fresh parsley and I didn't have quite enough olive oil but this was still fabulous. Because I love spicy food and was craving some heat... I doubled the garlic and added a few jalepenos. It was awesome!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. Being a family on a tight budget this is definately a keeper and is a new favorite! :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Shannanigans*~ September 30, 2008

What a great, easy way to make hummus. I made it this morning for today's lunches and just finished trying some. I'll never buy hummus again. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario March 25, 2008

All the tahini I found tasted like dirt, so my wife and I were happy to hear it was possible to use peanut butter instead. There is a noticeable peanut butter taste for a few hours but as the hummus settles it goes away. While I thought this recipe was both good and simple I still messed around with it. I took out the olive oil and parsley and added some jalapenos near the end, just to break them up a little. I also threw in a little bit of yogurt to give it an even creamier texture. I served the hummus with some greek-style pitas I'd made the night before. Yum.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rabidpotatochip January 08, 2008

my mom maintains the fact that she could taste the peanut butter, but I couldn't, especially after a day. I included putting the paprika in the food processor to blend it in.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicole Can Cook! May 21, 2007

I have to revise this review because after a day, the peanut butter flavor was a lot less noticable. I think that the garlic needed time to let it's flavor permeate the mixture. This was fast and easy to prepare! I made this using a 15 ounce can of garbanzo beans. It measured a bit less than 2 cups. Other than that, I followed the recipe. After mixing, I thought that it was a little too dry so I added another tablespoon of olive oil and about 2-3 tablespoons of lemon juice. Thank you for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagopm February 06, 2007

I used what I had on hand. That was red kidney beans & crunchy peanut butter and grated the garlic. It tasted great. I let it sit in the refrigerator for about an hour before I used it. I could not taste the peanut butter just the garlic and lemon. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mudpie February 02, 2007

I have hummus with peanut butter many times it is delicious you really can not tell that you have not used tahini. I think I saw it on FoodTV maybe on Alton Brown's show where he said to sub peanut butter for the tahini. Peanut butter is cheaper and I always have it on hand not so with tahini. Thank you for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria January 05, 2007

This recipe is amazing....Love, love, love it! I did add a tiny bit of water because I found it a little dry and I did add a touch of fresh jalepeno peppers...not much but just a tad. Wow... absolutely delicious! Bringing it to a party tomorrow....let's see what their opinions will be!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trick May 01, 2015

Proportions are just right. This is delicious! My new favorite hummus recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marian M. July 08, 2014

This is quick and really delicious! I also added a little sesame oil (estimate about 1/2 tsp.) which added a bit of traditional tahini flavor; next time I make this I will reduce the salt somewhat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vkveg January 23, 2012
Hummus With Peanut Butter