Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus - to Die For! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus - to Die For!

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! This is the first time I am making hummus and also the first time I am cooking chick peas. I thought I had the peas soft enough but they weren't and so I have a grainy textured hummus. Ichose this recipe as it uses dried beans. This is a very economical dish and definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      Extremely yummy! I won't be able to go back to store-bought hummus anymore. I'd love to lighten up this recipe, but I can't see how ... we'll just use it sparingly, and enjoy it thoroughly when we have it. I used canned garbanzo beans (Trader Joe's) and it was absolutely delicious, so I have to assume it didn't hurt the flavor much to go with canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2006

      The best hummus I've ever had, and I used canned, rinsed garbanzos and even left out the tahini! It was great, very fresh and good with raw veggies or chips or any kind. A processor is the only way to really get this blended well, and you can easily adjust the liquid as you process it. This is the only recipe I ever use for hummus now. Thanks Mimi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      The balance of tastes was perfect for me, but I didn't use any water at all while processing the chick peas, and I should have. I ended up with very tasty, but too thick a hummus. Solid, basic recipe for hummus. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      Rita's got the right idea -- I used a 19oz can of beans, rinsed them really well in a collander, and it worked fine. I also added about half a lemon's worth of shaved lemon rind ('lemon zest' if you have a 'zester') to give it some more 'oomph'. Also, I'd like to heavily recommend the use of a good food processor -- my super-heavy-duty blender choked when it came to trying to move the thick paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      This hummus really is to die for - the best we've tried yet! My husband thought the hummus we made from this recipe was even better than the hummus at our favorite Middle Eastern restaurant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      Very good I used can beans which cut down alot of time. Cut the tahini down to 1/4 cup. Replaced the garlic with roasted garlic. Yummy good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus - to Die For!

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.4
     
    Calories from Fat 192
    52%
    Total Fat 21.3 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 317.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 5.2 g
    21%
    Protein 12.5 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brine-cured black olives

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites