Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus (Or Humus) - Authentic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus (Or Humus) - Authentic

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2014

      I love this recipe, but use a little less lemon juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      Outstanding recipe!!, Had to search for dried garbanzos. Found from Palouse Farms out of WA from Amazon. As a short cut I use the pressure cooker w' 1 cup beans to 3 cups water for 1 hour.<br/>Also ordered tahini from Amazon. to me it tastes like peanut butter, I would have no hesitation in substituting it in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      I'm on a hummus diet. I can just see it now. I'm going to lose so much weight

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      I have one word for this recipe - WOW!!!!

      This is absolutely the bes hummous I have *ever* made (or tasted for that matter) - and I have been trying (and buying) for years! This is truly the Holy Grail of hummous - I can taste everything: the garlic, the lemon, the tahini, the cumin - it's just superb!

      I actually only used canned (organic) chickpeas for this and it wass till wonderful - next time I am definitely going to go the extra mile and buy some really good chickpeas and do it the proper way.

      Thank you amanda I b - you made a hummous lover very, very happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      Well, all I had was canned garbanzos so I used 'em and just decreased the salt. NOT a problem! Picked a large Meyer lemon off the tree, had about 1/4c Tahini left over in the fridge & used it all roasted 2 full heads of garlic (drizzled w/olive oil, salt & pepper). Pretty much eyeballed everything else and YEAH - good stuff! Nice & creamy texture - liked the sweet paprika, also tried it with smoked paprika & liked that even better. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Loved IT!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      WOW! I had people who didn't like humus, liking humus thanks to this recipe! Awesome recipe. The only thing I changed is that I used roasted garlic (whole bulb) and fresh squeezed lemon juice. When I serve it, I sprinkle some EVOO, paprika AND Cholula Hot Sauce on it! I have been making fresh froms scratch pita bread and Naan (as well as baking some chips out of them). BIG hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

    • on July 14, 2009

      This has to be the best hummus I have ever tasted! This is defiately going into my keeper file! I will be making this again and again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I finally found the best Hummus recipe ever!! Like the chef said though, DO NOT use canned beans! For that extra garlic kick, I added the whole bulb instead of the called for 4. I also love the fact that I can make so much of this for under $2 (provided you already have the tahini).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I was looking for a recipe for hummus that started from dried chick peas. This was great. I made a double batch to use up the whole bag of dried peas. I made it twice as directed. For the third time, I substituted a roasted whole garlic bulb and added a jar of roasted red and yellow peppers. Best ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus (Or Humus) - Authentic

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 238.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    51%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 594.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites