Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus Bi Tahina (Turkish Hummus) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus Bi Tahina (Turkish Hummus)

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2014

      This is not a Turkish food. You can call this as an Arabic food but not Turkish. Try to categorize foods better so that people will not be disappointed when they meet with real Turks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Can't believe that it's got 4.4 grams of saturated fat though? Delicious, agree with adding a half teaspoon of ground cumin and I also added a quarter of hot chilli powder for extra bite :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2012

      Just made your hummus today and it came out great. I had no problem with it since I avoided the hassle and used 2 cans of beans. Popped everything in the food processor and voila. We love lemon garlic and tahini and found the ratio is perfect. The only thing I added was a half tsp of cumin, since we Armenians love cumin. Thanks for posting...will certainly make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Delicious!! I made this for Christmas Lunch and everyone enjoyed the dip with Pita Bread for the Breadmaker & Parmesan and Sesame Crimple Crackers. I had to omit the fresh parsley, because I couldn't find fresh parsley in the supermarkets. Thank you - Carla -

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This was my first time ever trying home-made hummus. the tahini was a bit overwhelming as was the amount of lemons (and I used small ones). And because I loathe cleaning a garlic press, i grate my garlic--and unfortunately my cloves must've been too big, so it's a little strong altogether...on a good note, my husband will probably like it, but I don't think my one-year old will be dipping into this batch. i searched a lot before my attempt, and couldn't figure out if the chickpeas should be shelled?? I found a recipe that said you should if you want it to be creamier, so I went ahead and the texture is pretty smooth, not that it makes it better or worse. Not sure how it would have come out had I not shelled them... I used the pressure cooker for a good 15 minutes and then simmered them for an additional 10 minutes or so (for fear I would boil them too much), and the chick peas themselves came out wonderful. Never worked with tahini before...what a mess! Ultimately, I had to dig into it with my hands and mix it up. So, between the shelling, grating, pressing lemons before squeezing (and I haven't picked up a lemon juice maker thing yet), mesing about with the tahini, and my itty bitty food processor that i brought from NY (none of this is the recipes fault), I had quite the project on my hands... Think I'll have to add a little water for it to not be so pasty/thick, but, that's probably also my fault since I doubled the recipe and wasn't very exact with my measurements. Overall, a good standard recipe and very much a learning experience for me personally. I'll have to look in my Turkish cook book and see if the recipe is more or less the same as this one...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Love this recipe, I have made it twice so far. I did add some roasted red peppers to the last batch and it was amazing. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

    • on May 11, 2009

      Delicious and as authentic as you can get. Wonderful! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

    • on August 24, 2008

      I made this today. I also used the pressurer cooker, soaked the chick peas for an hour, then cooked it in the pressurer cooker for 20 minutes. I did add more garlic then specified as we LOVE garlic. This is an awesome recipe thank you my toddlers love you for it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I cut down on the tahina and the lemon, based on other reviews. The result was very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2008

      I usually eat hummus as a sandwich spread with lettuce, gerkins, tomato and onion. In this recipe the tahini taste is a bit strong when warm, but it disappears when chilling it. I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Oh my gosh Carla this stuff is terrific! I love hummus and this is one of the best I've had. It is going in my "Faves and Raves" cookbook right away. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      We love hummus. This was our first try at homemade. This hummus had wonderful texture, but we found it had a too strong tahini taste. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Lovely hummus - so much better than shop bought, have already passed the recipe on to a few friends. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2007

      Really yummy! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Loved it!!!! Soooooo yummy!! I am definitely adding this to my collection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      I made this recipe with white beans rather than chickpeas and it was great. Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      This was absolutely delicious and very simple to make. I just returned from 4 months in the mid-east and was hoping to find a recipe that matched the flavorful hummus of the area--this was perfect! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      I made this pretty much exactly as written, except that I added a roasted red pepper, because that's what I was in the mood for. (And the fact that I sort of guestimated on the chickpeas - I used 1 cup of dried chickpeas, soaked overnight and then pressure cooked for 10 minutes.) This is very good, expecially the consistency. My old hummus recipe used dried dill, chives, and white pepper, so I think next time I may tray adding those for a perkier flavor. The red pepper was a nice addition, but it also tasted very good without it. While this is a little milder and smoother than my old recipe, I much prefer it. I'm adopting it as my standard hummus recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Spreads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus Bi Tahina (Turkish Hummus)

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 374.4
     
    Calories from Fat 286
    76%
    Total Fat 31.8 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 165.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes