Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus Amongus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus Amongus

    Average Rating:

    51 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 51

    Sort by:

    • on July 03, 2002

      a simple, straightforward recipe for yummy hummus! when i served it, i sprinkled paprika and toasted pine nuts on top. you can also drizzle a good extra-virgin olive oil over it. UPDATE: this recipe is so yummy -- and super easy. i've always added oil or water to thin out the hummus, never the chick pea water ("reserve water") & this is by all means my now preferred method. thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2002

      I like hummus so was pleased to find this recipe. If anything it is much nicer than the commercially made hummus. I found it very easy to make. I didn't put it in the processor, just mashed it up and added the other ingredients. It made a coarser texture but I wasn't using it as a spread or dip, I used it with salad as a main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2002

      This was the first time I've tasted hummus, let alone make it, and I was very thrilled with the results. I used garlic paste instead of a clove, so I'm not sure if I used the right amount. The lemon juice is also very dominant. This makes a really nice spread for my sandwiches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      I also used about 3/4 cup of dried chickpeas and did a quick soak, then boiled them for 40 minutes. Every time I make my hummus with dried chickpeas, it always comes out better. This is a really tasty recipe. I also roasted my garlic and added 4 extra cloves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This is now one of the favorite snacks in the house! It's so easy to make, and extremely popular. I just made it for the second time tonight, doubling the batch, and it still disappeared! (Of course, I definitely helped make that happen :D)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2013

      Very good! I drizzled olive oil and sprinkled paprika on top. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      This is an excellent hummus recipe! I used reserved chickpea water to get the right thickness and also added a dash of cayenne pepper for some additional kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      Fabulous! Simple, easy, fast, delicious! <br/>Update: Made several more times now! Still fabulous, simple, easy, fast, delicious and, need I say, so healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2012

      Great recipe. Hummus is such a simple and healthy recipe to prepare, it is always great to have some fresh on hand for any occasion. I made as directed, however instead of using the leftover liquid from the chickpea can, I added olive oil to thin. I use as a spread on sandwiches or a dip for black bean tortilla chips. Thank you, Gingerbee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      This is a recipe I will make again. I used my blender to mix it and it did end up a bit thick so I will follow the other recommendations to thin it just a bit with something. It had a mild flavor, which my kids like. I used 1/4 teaspoon dried garlic instead of the clove, but otherwise followed the directions. We ate it with Aldi's Pita Chips. It made enough for myself and 5 of my children.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2012

    • on February 10, 2012

      I will make this now instead of buying it!!! I toast my ground cumin in a dry pan, use sea salt and freshly ground black pepper plus the rest of the ingredients. I am off to buy more canned chickpeas for a piddly amount instead of the 5$ (Canadian) hummus that is smaller than a double batch of this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      Great basic hummus recipe. I loved that the recipe didn't call for any oil (I try and cut calories wherever I can). I did add extra lemon and a tad more cumin. When I make it next time I'll use a little less tahini, just preference. I'm looking forward to using this on veggie sandwiches. Thanks for posting this super easy, healthy and yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      This is a great, basic recipe for hummus that takes no time at all to put together. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      I've made this my "go to" recipe for hummus since finding it here! I never thought to add cumin before - it really helps bring out the flavor. I usually add a bit more pepper and garlic and a little of the juice from the beans and then let the food processor whirl until it's super-creamy! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

    • on June 26, 2010

      Very good, but needed an extra clove of garlic, about a tablespoon of extra lemon juice and some olive oil to really make it sing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      SO DELICIOUS! I added a little more oil to make it smoother, and a touch more garlic as per my hubby's preference. Really great flavour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Great recipe! I added sun dried tomatoes and people were begging for more :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I've made this recipe many, many times and my whole family loves it. Not too spicy, not too garlicy - it's just perfect! We eat it chilled -- if we can wait long enough, that is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus Amongus

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.2
     
    Calories from Fat 27
    38%
    Total Fat 3.1 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 111.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites