Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2004

      As Pets said, I thought the lemon was a bit too much, but my dh--the hummus junkie--said that it was fabulous, and that the lemon just enhanced the flavor even more. I followed the steps exactly, passing the garbanzos through a food mill first, and then processing in the food processor....the resulting product was smooth, creamy and delicious! Thanks Evelyn! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      No, this one did not work for me. At time of writing this review the humus calls for the juice of three lemons. I thought that was a lot and started jucing one lemon and adding that gradually, I stopped at about 5 tablespoons and still had approx 2 tablespoons of juice left, so I wonder or that amount is right? Also the olive oil is not in the list of ingredients but shows up in the steps. Evelyn you know I normally first try to contact the chef when I have questions about a recipe, I know you are on holiday for another few weeks, but I know you will give me feedback when you are back.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      This was excellent with fresh bread (sunflower seeds bread)! We had a dinner of leftovers and I decided to use my half tin garbanzos for this recipe. I never prepared hummus and my family was enthusiastic. At the end they ate all leftovers and a lot of bread as well with your great hummus!
      Thanks a lot again for your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      I made half this recipe and it turned out great. Lemony and garlicky! Served this with pita bread, carrots and cucumbers. Made for ZWT 6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2006

      This was great and a real treat for my guest. Served with Indian Garlic Naan, which were wonderful together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      Very easy to make and I really enjoyed the lemon flavour. I didn't really measure the ingredients, I just put it all in the processor, and processed away & then tasted it and added a bit more lemon & salt and a little extra garlic (just because we love garlic). Evelyn - Thanks for the great, quick & easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      I used the juice of 1 lemon, a very juicy oneand it was enough. added a bit more cayenne. I did not serve it in the taditional way with Olive oil over it but just in a bowl with strips of hot crispy pita bread - enjoyed by all For two guests it was the first time they had tasted Hummus but are now adicted. Thanks Evelyn for a very good recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2005

      this recipe was not difficult to make but i used sesame oil instead of proper tahini as i couldn't find any. the problem with that was all i could smell and taste in the hummus was the sesame oil and it was awful, perhaps if i had the tahini oil it would have made a difference but isn't tahini oil sort of a sesame oil??

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Spreads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (1064 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1288.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1010
    78%
    Total Fat 112.3 g
    172%
    Saturated Fat 15.5 g
    77%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 513.7 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 14.3 g
    57%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 22.1 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites