Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2003

      Easy and delicious! I spread the hummus on a plate, and drizzled with extra virgin olive oil, then garnished with a sprig of parsley and a sprinkle of paprika. The ingredients are right on...I didn't change a thing! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2007

      The first time I made this my dh said it was gritty. It was my first attempt at homemade hummus so back to the drawing board I went. I doubled the olive oil, added a little water and presto bye bye gritty texture. I added about 1 tsp. cumin the second time. It was quite tasty. Also, I purchased dried chickpeas and used those instead of canned. I soaked them overnight and boiled them for about 1 hour 45 minutes. Then I let them cool and used them for the recipe. I had a two pound bag and had enough to seperate them into 7 two cup portions (and the bag cost $1.84 USD)! Now when I want to make another batch (and I will be making another batch) I can just grab a portion bag out of the freezer and thaw and go.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Added a little cumin and it was divine! Great recipe :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      This is a great recipe. I made it as stated and it was delicious. I then added some cumin, because iI Iove cumin and I liked it even more! My while family loves hummus and they gobbled this recipe up! I will use it again for sure. Made for Veggie swap 45.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Delicious, but diet worthy. Btw, did you know I've been attending a workout program? Yeah, and each time I count the seconds before I can lie down and play dead. Made for Best of 2011 recipe tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Delicious :) I had to add a bit more olive oil than the recipe called for because my food processor is a bit on the small side and it turned out creamy with little chunks of garbanzo beans. All of my friends loved it and I have to say it turned out better than any store bought hummus I've had. My next batch will be made with some other flavors, perhaps jalepeno or roasted tomatoes. Thanks for sharing! I didn't realize it was so easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      Oh. My. Gosh. This was soooooo good. I put in some cumin, and used a tad more olive oil. It was super easy, and we all love it. :) I can't wait to have it again. Thanks Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      Simply delicious...I recommend adding the optional dash of cumin...it just heightens the pleasure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      Great Hummus Rita - loved this to bits! Mine was very thick; a trick I learned when I had the restaurant in Cyprus, was to add water as well as the lemon juice and olive oil! I also added a wee bit of cumin for a lovely Cypriot flavour. A classic recipe which deserves a place in the recipe database. Made for ZWT4 - another FINE dining experience with Bordeaux Rita! THANKS! FT:-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      This was very good, however I'm afraid I did something wrong as it was thick and dry. Think I probably should have added quite a bit more oil to it. But as I've never made hummus before wasn't sure what I should be doing. The flavor was very good though and I will be making again but trying a little more oil to change the consistency.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      This was ok, but pretty salty. I would cut down on the salt next time. Also, it was a bit thick and dry, so I used a lot of the liquid from the canned beans to get it to a thinner consistency. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      This is a good hummus recipe, however, I always need to put in about 3 tbs of olive oil. otherwise, it's too dry and crumbly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      it was a little grainy :) might be my crappy food processor but I will try to make it again. I just can't resist hummus.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Loved the hummus.I had a problem with the garlic being over powering after a few days in the frige.Next time I'll use garlic powder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      This is very delicious, I think I'll add more garlic next time, the texture and flavor are otherwise impeccable!! Thanks for a great recipe that my 2 & 3 yo daughters love as much as I do :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2004

      this is a good hummus recipe. i am normally pretty picky about hummus too. i don't like it if it is too lemon-y but this was perfect. didn't have pita so i toasted some corn tortilla's. just as good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2004

      Easy as cake. I Lovved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      wonderful recipie. I added a tablespoon of sesame oil....SO GOOD.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      We've never had Hummus before. Just got a new vita-mix and thought I'd try it with that. I ended up using a food processor. The only adjustment I made was I used dry chick peas and cooked them in the pressure cooker. WOW this will be a staple in my house from now on. We ate this on homemade whole wheat bread from the vita mix, then with whole wheat from the bread machine. Thank you for sharing this.!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2012

      Quite thick. It tastes good but I would like a less thick consistency both mouth wise and for the blender which I had trouble making smooth and I did add additional cold pressed extra virgin olive oil. DD1 (4 years old ate it with organic carrot sticks. Made for Veggie Swap #46 ~ May 2012 ~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Spreads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.0
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    44%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 238.9 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites