8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Tasty! I liked the lemony tang. I added extra garlic and paprika plua a dash of cayenne and cumin. Used canned garbanzo beans rather that dried ones and it only took a few minutes to prepare! Thanks, KK! Made for Fall PAC 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linky October 13, 2012

A good basic recipe which could be built upon. Add a couple cloves garlic, a dash of cumin and cayenne. Remember, my consultations are always free...and you can trust me. Made for A-NZ#67 recipe swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng August 01, 2012

I love hummus and like trying different recipes, this recipe reminded me of my Aunts recipe, she loves lots of lemon in it. I used organic can chickpeas and added two lemons . To serve I spread the hummus on some home made focaccia and it tasted yummy. Thank you so much for posting your recipe Kiwi Kathy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer August 01, 2011

Only change I made was I used about 1 1/2 lemons for the juice, got a good mixture after stirring for a little bit. I thought this was very good, as well did the rest of us. It had a nice citrus taste to it. Made and reviewed for Recipe Swap#49..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker February 15, 2011

What a yummy hummus! I really liked it, especially with the tahini and the slight zing from the fruit juice (I had to use apple juice due to an allergy to citrus). I didnt need all the oil (probably just about 1/4 cup), but I like it, when my hummus is nice and thick so for somebody else it might be the perfect amount. The only thing why this is not a 5 star recipe for me is, that I found it needed a few more spices to really shine. But other than that, I really really loved this!
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this lovely recipe with us, Kiwi Kathy!
Made and reviewed for the AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #47 December 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula December 04, 2010

*Made for Australia/NZ Swap #40* A totally delicious find !! I followed another reviewer and used 2 cans of chickpeas, drained but not rinsed. Pureed in the food processor, and added about 1/3 cup of lemon juice, 3/4 cup LIGHT olive oil, 4 TBSP tahini, 1 tsp salt -- and pulsed it to a lovely consistency. Added 1 tsp crushed garlic (cause we love it) - and set early this morning. had some with sea salt crackers for "Happy Hour", and was just perfect ! Know it will continue to meld as it sits. This was just lovely ! Thanks for posting, Kathy !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney May 10, 2010

My DD loves hummus so we are anxious to try new recipes. We adjusted the lemon juice to juice from 1 lemon. We used canned chickpeas to save time because DD was starving and wanted this for a snack. Made for AUS/NZ swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn December 22, 2009

Why buy it when you can make your own hummus! A great garnish for foods. I did have a hard time getting the chickpeas to a smooth texture. Prepared as a participant in the Aus/NZ Swap #31 Aug 2009 Event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Seasoned Cook August 08, 2009
Hummus