Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 04, 2002

      This was soo easy to make and turned out superb! Thanks so much diana!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      Amazing! This turned out much tastier (and much fresher) than store-bought hummus. I practically made this from scratch. I made my own tahini (there's a great recipe here by frank butcher) and cooked my own chickepeas after soaking them for almost one day (used about one cup dry; thank you for the great advice, Anu!). I always thought hummus needs olive oil to bind it together, but this recipe turned out just wonderful. I am soaking some more chickpeas tonight. Anu has a new recipe using hummus on pita, yum, can't wait to try that. Thanks for sharing this great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2002

      This recipe was quick and easy. The cumin added that mexican flair. It was fantastic with tortilla chips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      I'm sorry but my friend and I weren't crazy about this one. I didn't care for the flavor of cumin in it...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      This was easy and delicious. I couldn't find tahini, so I did the substitution (3 parts creamy peanut butter to 1 part sesame oil) and it came out great :) Had to add a bit more water and added a little olive oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      Super easy to make. I didn't think this had a ton of flavor, though. I ended up adding more garlic and some salt, along with a little more bean juice. This was a nice hummus, it just didn't knock me over. Nice with bagel chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      This is the best hummus I have ever had, the flavors are vibrant, and it couldnt be more simple to prepare. I will definitely be making this one again. We like to serve it as a dip for fresh vegetables for parties or just as a snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      This hummus had a lot more flavor than I was expecting. This was the first time I had ever made hummus, and I had no problems. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      Excellent recipe! Very quick and tasty. Love the cumin. Gave it a bit extra lemon juice and it was just terrific. Thank you. (:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      I'll be making this again! Hadn't had hummus in a while and this is a good as I remember, better I think! Used my own cooked garbanzos and I made the tahini as well, which does have some oil in it. I found I liked a lot more lemon juice. I also added about an ounce of jarred pimiento and a pinch of of dried cilantro. Using a standard upright blender I found putting the liquid in first and adding the solids a little at a time makes less work for the blender and you can control the creaminess of the texture. I doubled this recipe and filled a pint container to the brim with enough left to scrape off the sides of the blender to satisfy a nibbler. I didn't have pitas but had tortillas which I warmed in the oven directly on the racks for crisp--watch closely, they don't take long to be completely brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      Different strokes for different folks, I guess! I absolutely love this recipe.....have been dying to make it for a while but have had a hard time finding tahini paste. I finally found some in our Bulk Food Store......hope it was the right thing as it wasn't called exactly 'tahini paste'. It looks for all the world like peanut butter and the hummus turned out great, so I guess it's O.K. I made the recipe exactly as called for....heavyish on the garlic....yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

    • on October 12, 2003

      This is another recipe that makes me wonder why I buy the stuff when making it tastes so much better! A snap to make, and tastes wonderful! I love the cumin in this. I had to just "smoosh" it all up, because I don't have a food processor, and it worked well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      I can't wait to try this recipe! The one I made the other day from a cook book wasn't very good and needed a lot of embelishment.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (536 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 994.0
     
    Calories from Fat 397
    39%
    Total Fat 44.1 g
    67%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1324.2 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 123.5 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 26.6 g
    106%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 36.6 g
    73%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites