Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2014

      I liked the flavor, it was great with pita chips and veggies too. I followed the recipe as written.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      great, I used 1/2 the lemon, ty for all the suggestions, dont like cilantro so I used parsley. ty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2009

      Sorry, this didn't work for us. Way too much lemon- we had to add a 4th can of chickpeas just to try to balance it out (didn't work).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      I love store-bought hummus, but this was absolutely awful. I don't know why, either. I was stoked about making it because it got such good reviews. I don't know what I could have done wrong, but I tried this and another recipe that was from Cook's Illustrated, and we hated each one. Back to store-bought for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      I too use sesame oil, I love hummus I add turmeric to my version, but i love how versatile hummus is sometimes I add red roasted pepper, and chopped steamed Kale....I have never tried it with cilantro, must give it a try ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This is really good. Tahini is hard for me to find at times and other times I'm just flat out too lazy to make it. The sesame oil does the trick. I cut the recipe down to one can of chickpeas with excellent results. I dip fresh veggies in it for a tasty, nutritious snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Simply divine. I am always on the hunt for a good hummus recipe. I always have sesame oil around because I use it for so many things. That's why the recipe had so much appeal. I don't want to buy tahini for something I only make occasionally. I reduced the amounts to include just one can of chickpeas. Perfect for our gyros and pita! Rave reviews from all diners! Left out cilantro based on personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      Excellent recipe! I also left out the cilantro just because I didn't have any on hand. It would probably be really good with it included though. Next time I'll make sure to add it in. The cayenne gives it a nice kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      I made one third of this recipe, because I had one 19 ounce can of chick peas. Oh man, the garlic was strong! Next time I will absolutely cut down on the garlic. And, I may use all olive oil because I like it more than sesame oil (and it would only be a tsp of sesame oil that I would be using anyways). Thanks for the recipe I'm glad I tried it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This is really good. It was my first attempt at hummus. Super easy - other than shelling all those chickpeas!! The cayenne pepper added a nice little kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Yum yum and yum! Tahini is impossible to find where I am and the sesame oil gave this that sesame flavor that I often miss so much. I cut out the cilantro and the cayenne and I'm a hummus "purist" and like it just with lemon, garlic and olive oil. But this recipe would be an excellent base for any hummus that you would like to make - roasted red pepper being my fave!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      I made this for our housewarming party and for a potluck at work-- everyone has raved about it as the best hummus they've ever had!! I've never made hummus without Tahini but I also never have tahini around the house- so i'm glad I can make good hummus without it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      Fantastic! The cilantro and parsley added a different flavor than most hummus' I have had. I used 3/4 c. tahini because I had it. Took it to a pot luck, along with pita chips, and it was a very popular dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      I loved this recipe! My fiance and I enjoyed it a lot more than anything store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      Excellent recipe! The only thing I omitted was the cilantro, and the taste was excellent! (I just didn't have any cilantro on hand, but had everything else!) Thanks for a hummus recipe without tahini, because I can't always find that either! The sesame oil was a great substitute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      Oooooh, thank you very much for posting this recipe. Until I bumped into your recipe I did not ever think of making my own hummus and I bought it constantly....Then I saw this recipe and I actually had some sesame oil in the fridge from a recipe I made a time ago, so I threw it together and all I can say is YUMMMMM Thank you very much! I did substitute cilantro for parsley...I did not have any on hand, nor do I really like it. Excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Spreads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 305.2
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    41%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 484.0 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    28%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes