16 Reviews

I liked the flavor, it was great with pita chips and veggies too. I followed the recipe as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Ribbon Baker October 06, 2014

great, I used 1/2 the lemon, ty for all the suggestions, dont like cilantro so I used parsley. ty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spotty129 January 13, 2010

Sorry, this didn't work for us. Way too much lemon- we had to add a 4th can of chickpeas just to try to balance it out (didn't work).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VeganJen June 13, 2009

I love store-bought hummus, but this was absolutely awful. I don't know why, either. I was stoked about making it because it got such good reviews. I don't know what I could have done wrong, but I tried this and another recipe that was from Cook's Illustrated, and we hated each one. Back to store-bought for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hollie Bean April 26, 2009

I too use sesame oil, I love hummus I add turmeric to my version, but i love how versatile hummus is sometimes I add red roasted pepper, and chopped steamed Kale....I have never tried it with cilantro, must give it a try ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Sass March 27, 2009

This is really good. Tahini is hard for me to find at times and other times I'm just flat out too lazy to make it. The sesame oil does the trick. I cut the recipe down to one can of chickpeas with excellent results. I dip fresh veggies in it for a tasty, nutritious snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff January 17, 2009

Simply divine. I am always on the hunt for a good hummus recipe. I always have sesame oil around because I use it for so many things. That's why the recipe had so much appeal. I don't want to buy tahini for something I only make occasionally. I reduced the amounts to include just one can of chickpeas. Perfect for our gyros and pita! Rave reviews from all diners! Left out cilantro based on personal preference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice January 16, 2009

Excellent recipe! I also left out the cilantro just because I didn't have any on hand. It would probably be really good with it included though. Next time I'll make sure to add it in. The cayenne gives it a nice kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katiedid June 11, 2008

I made one third of this recipe, because I had one 19 ounce can of chick peas. Oh man, the garlic was strong! Next time I will absolutely cut down on the garlic. And, I may use all olive oil because I like it more than sesame oil (and it would only be a tsp of sesame oil that I would be using anyways). Thanks for the recipe I'm glad I tried it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelsey* April 28, 2008

This is really good. It was my first attempt at hummus. Super easy - other than shelling all those chickpeas!! The cayenne pepper added a nice little kick!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Resner November 26, 2007
Hummus