Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummus

    Average Rating:

    235 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 235

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2010

      A variation of this recipe was passed down to me from my Lebanese-Canadian mother. Instead of thinning it out with water we use a good quality light extra virgin olive oil, it gives the hummus a smooth, creamier texture. I use 1 tablespoon of tahini to one can of chick peas otherwise the tahini flavour is too overpowering, and no cumin, just lots of lemon juice and minced garlic does the trick, and then garnish with a sprinkle of paprika and a sprig of parsley!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      I couldn't help but lick the inside of the food processor! I decided to make a few varieties by adding roasted red peppers to a batch and kalmata olives to another batch. Delicious! It is the perfect addition to making a home version of Whole Food's Athena Club wrap: Spread hummus on a spinach wrap, layer olives, feta cheese, tomatoes, roasted pepers, etc., wrap it up and enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      I changed one thing. I'm a sucker for garlic, so I put in a whole head, but I roasted it first. I sliced the garlic head in half, pour evoo into it, fit the top back onto the bottom, and the wrapped it in foil and put it in a 400 degree oven for an hour. It really enhances the flavour. The garlic comes out sweet and soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Very good recipe; thanks! I would not suggest using the chickpea water though, as it has preservatives in it (a kind of salt one may not want to consume). I used a few tablespoons of yogurt instead (also makes it smooth and creamy), I increased the lemon juice, reduced the tahini and added a tablespoon of olive oil, more cumin and some chili powder. It was grand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      So much better than store bought. I used about 1 tsp. of salt. I love garlic so I may try more next time and there will be a next time. I halved the recipe to make 2 batches and put the cumin and some chili powder in one and sun dried tomatoes and basil in the other. I like the sun dried tomato version the best but both were delicious. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2001

    • on February 14, 2011

      Yum! Great hummus recipe. This was my first attempt at making hummus and I'm happy with the result. I also like the fact that this recipe doesn't use added oil. I made it exactly as written but might try to reducing the tahini next time to cut down on fat and see how that works. This was very easy and quick to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      I made tahini but only used 1/4 cup and used two large cloves of garlic and the juice of a great big Costco lemon. Holy Garbanzo Beans!!! This stuff is goooooooood!!! Maybe I will cut down on the cumin next time. Thanks Charishma! It cost under $2.00 to make a blender full of this wonderful hummus! SA:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      I read through the reviews and wasn't sure how to make it! I ended up using 1 T tahini, 2 cloves garlic, 1/8-1/4 c olive oil, juice of one lemon per 1 can of chick peas. Then topped with paprika. It's great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      Tasty and easy to modify. I didn't use the garbanzo liquid but did use a bit of olive oil along with some plain, non-fat Greek yogurt to add moisture. I also used a small can of black olives and a pinch of cayenne! So good!!

      Further note...I made a double batch of this and froze half just to see how it would turn out and it was perfect. I like to do this and save time for a future snack. Still my favorite hummus recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      soooo yummy! I used 1 can of chickpeas, 1 lime (didnt have a lemon), didn't measure the cumin and added loads of garlic and approx 1/4 cup of tahini. Didn't seem to want to blend so added some olive oil and a little organic coconut oil. Was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      This is very yummy and I didn't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      This is so good! I halved the recipe with no problems, but left the amount of garlic the same (personal preference). I also added extra lemon juice and garbanzo liquid to make it extra smooth. I had this with pita bread and tomatoes for a tasty lunch. And there is tons left over! Thanks Charishma! This is my recipe from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Very good. Added just a little olive oil to balance the flavors. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      Great recipe! I added some roasted red peppers and it was really delicious--much better than store bought! This is going to become a staple in my home. Thank you for posting this recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This was delicious! I haven't had good hummus since I moved away from Detroit (the Lebanese food there is the BEST) This was a great classic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2011

      My two-year old is licking the bowl! Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      3 cloves of garlic?? If you used 1/2 the amount of the other ingredients maybe. Otherwise, this would be very bland...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2010

      I made this recipe before I read the other comments!!!! People found three garlic not enough??? I found it a bit on the heavy side!! I love garlic, but I find too much raw garlic burns my lips and does a number on the gut!! I wonder if roasted garlic would suit me better?? Comments, anyone?? I thought the 1/2 cup tahini made the dish!! Next time, I would cut the garlic down to 2 and thin the hummus out with about 3 T water...then this would become a 5 star dish for me!!! Loved this with veggies and as a sandwich spread!! Kudos on the posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      Good recipe. I decreased the amount of tahini and increased the garlic for my family. My two year old wanted to eat it by the spoonful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Low Cholesterol Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.8
     
    Calories from Fat 51
    35%
    Total Fat 5.6 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 219.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites