236 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A variation of this recipe was passed down to me from my Lebanese-Canadian mother. Instead of thinning it out with water we use a good quality light extra virgin olive oil, it gives the hummus a smooth, creamier texture. I use 1 tablespoon of tahini to one can of chick peas otherwise the tahini flavour is too overpowering, and no cumin, just lots of lemon juice and minced garlic does the trick, and then garnish with a sprinkle of paprika and a sprig of parsley!

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tanyagirlfriday November 12, 2010

I couldn't help but lick the inside of the food processor! I decided to make a few varieties by adding roasted red peppers to a batch and kalmata olives to another batch. Delicious! It is the perfect addition to making a home version of Whole Food's Athena Club wrap: Spread hummus on a spinach wrap, layer olives, feta cheese, tomatoes, roasted pepers, etc., wrap it up and enjoy.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen Fon February 12, 2011

I changed one thing. I'm a sucker for garlic, so I put in a whole head, but I roasted it first. I sliced the garlic head in half, pour evoo into it, fit the top back onto the bottom, and the wrapped it in foil and put it in a 400 degree oven for an hour. It really enhances the flavour. The garlic comes out sweet and soft.

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NoName12345 July 03, 2009

Very good recipe; thanks! I would not suggest using the chickpea water though, as it has preservatives in it (a kind of salt one may not want to consume). I used a few tablespoons of yogurt instead (also makes it smooth and creamy), I increased the lemon juice, reduced the tahini and added a tablespoon of olive oil, more cumin and some chili powder. It was grand!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Paisley May 13, 2011

So much better than store bought. I used about 1 tsp. of salt. I love garlic so I may try more next time and there will be a next time. I halved the recipe to make 2 batches and put the cumin and some chili powder in one and sun dried tomatoes and basil in the other. I like the sun dried tomato version the best but both were delicious. Thanks for sharing!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imdrabbit April 12, 2010

Yum! Great hummus recipe. This was my first attempt at making hummus and I'm happy with the result. I also like the fact that this recipe doesn't use added oil. I made it exactly as written but might try to reducing the tahini next time to cut down on fat and see how that works. This was very easy and quick to make.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen__Princess February 14, 2011

I made tahini but only used 1/4 cup and used two large cloves of garlic and the juice of a great big Costco lemon. Holy Garbanzo Beans!!! This stuff is goooooooood!!! Maybe I will cut down on the cumin next time. Thanks Charishma! It cost under $2.00 to make a blender full of this wonderful hummus! SA:)

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secret Agent September 07, 2010

I read through the reviews and wasn't sure how to make it! I ended up using 1 T tahini, 2 cloves garlic, 1/8-1/4 c olive oil, juice of one lemon per 1 can of chick peas. Then topped with paprika. It's great!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Poppy October 25, 2011

Tasty and easy to modify. I didn't use the garbanzo liquid but did use a bit of olive oil along with some plain, non-fat Greek yogurt to add moisture. I also used a small can of black olives and a pinch of cayenne! So good!!

Further note...I made a double batch of this and froze half just to see how it would turn out and it was perfect. I like to do this and save time for a future snack. Still my favorite hummus recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan January 30, 2012
Hummus