Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummingbird Nectar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummingbird Nectar

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-36 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2006

      Yeah! I had my first feathered visitor this morning and he looked in the house and asked what I was waiting for! He was almost pushy. I doubled the recipe and filled 3 feeders with this. The hummingbirds said to say "Thanks!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      I've got a hummingbird! or rather, THREE. I got a feeder and filled with this. The feeder has four red "flowers" They've checked it out and seem to like it. I'm looking forward to being a regular "stop". A neighbor down the street has a nesting pair that have had a nest on her porch the last three years. This is so exciting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      well my little birdiees are back so I hunted for a recipe for nector for them, this is wonderful boy do they love it. I will stop buying the commercial brand now! My mom loved hummingbirds and she passed away Nov 11-05 so every time one comes to visit I think of my mom :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2006

      My hummingbirds make little pigs of themselves when I put this in their feeders, so I guess that means they give the recipe 5 stars. :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      My hummies must like this better than the store-bought stuff - they've emptied all 4 feeders in less than a week. Thanks Gingerkitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2005

      My hummingbirds love this solution too but I leave out the red food coloring since my feeder is red.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      I use this same solution for my orieoles too. I have it in an orange plastic feeder and our hummers love it too. So I guess it doesn't have to be red!! I don't boil the water. I put 1c. sugar in the feeder then add hot tap water..giving it a shake half way through to dissolve the sugar then finish filling with water. They love it. It doesn't take them long to empty it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      I never thought of this as a recipe, but guess it is. lol too funny. I don't use the food coloring, but they sure do come it my feeder. and glad i notice this: i made some and put it in the fridge so it wouldn't be hot, and forgot it was there. Bath time soon: i get that nectar all down my arm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      I have used this recipe for years and years. I have 4 feeders out and they use them all. I just boil the water, pour it in a large measuring cup then add regular sugar and stir until it's dissolved. I don't use red food coloring because I read that it can cause them to develop a fungus on their beaks. If I don't feel my feeders have enough "red" on them I just tie red ribbon on them until it draws them. Thanks for sharing this recipe so everyone can enjoy their "hummers."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      This is exactly the recipe I always use - 4 parts water to 1 part sugar. No need to add the red food coloring - the little "jewels" seem to find the nectar just fine without it, and most of the time the feeders themselves (or parts of them) are already red anyway. It also helps to have some of their favorite flowers near the feeders - red petunias, fuschias, etc. One last word of advice -- never EVER substitute honey for the sugar! -M :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      The little buggers gobble this stuff right up...One of my feeders has a single tube hanging down...Was really comical to watch a pair of Orioles cling to this tube upside down to feed...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2004

      Our vet told us to never color hummingbird nectar.. epecially Red! It damages their brain and can even cause death!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2004

      Do not forget to take the feeder down when the little guys need to migrate...Feeders are great when they are here, but they will get too cold and loose there pattern if kept here by the food suply when they need to go south...lovely coments by all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      My Parents made this stuff for years. I've never seen them buy the ones in the stores. It works like a charm and my parents always said that the birds are attracted to the sweetness and not the looks so color wasn't important. All us kids had a favorite color and we wanted to use it all the time. My mom made it clear quite a bit while we were at school. Thanks for posting this recipe and for reminding me of forgotten memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2003

      We use this in our hummingbird feeder, and they really seem to like it a lot, or else they are just coming back so much to be polite! :-) Thanks for the recipe, this will definitely save us money on mix. BTW - We don't add the food coloring, our feeder specifically says not to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2003

      Had I asked God for a baby orangutan, I think He would've given me that too. I had been longing for a hummingbird. Since the past few days, we have this hummingbird that comes to my terrace and keeps singing! It's beautiful!! They are very rare to see in Oman and especially where I live. I don't know how God sent this little sweetie my way, but I just love her. I am going to make this for her. She visits me twice or thrice daily. Keeping my fingers crossed she will like this. I'm sure she will. For the thought of sharing this, I'm posting this review. I will update this once she takes a sip:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummingbird Nectar

    Serving Size: 1 (1151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 49.9 g
    199%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites