Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummingbird Nectar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummingbird Nectar

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2008

      Easy to make, must be tasty cuz my birdies are fighting over it! My hummingbirds thank you for supper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I love this easy recipe! I boil the water first, then add the sugar and let it cool. Luckily, I don't need to add the food coloring. Thanks for a great recipe to share with our feathered friends!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      So easy to make and keeps the hummingbirds coming back for more! So much better than buying the powder or liquid! Thanks for posting this recipe, it is used weekly at our place! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      This last year was the first time we have had hummingbirds here. They are so beautiful. I used your nectar recipe and they seemed to come in bunches. I'm not sure how this works but i sure hope they come back next year. Thank you for a great recipe that seemed to work perfect. They are the most fascinating birds. Thank you , Stephanie

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      It's easy and it saved us money fromm having to buy commercial Hummingbird Nectar. The birds really love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      i work in a store that sells commercial hummingbird food and its all can do to keep my mouth shut (sometimes i can't resist)when someone buys it - its so expensive!! i've been making my own humming bird food ever since we moved to missouri 4 years ago and my hummers love it (i do use the red food coloring) my big problem this year is that the woodpeckers have discovered my hummingbird feeders and won't leave them alone!! i keep food out for the woodys too - but they always come to my hummingbird feeders for dessert! after reading all of the comments about the food coloring being bad for my hummers - i stopped using the food coloring in mine. the hummingbirds still love it and i think the woodpeckers have backed off my feeders a little.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      I have 3 hummingbird feeders. It can get a little expensive buying the feeding solution. This was so easy to make and will save me money. My kids and I love watching them feed every morning. Thanks for posting this solution recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2003

      Gingerkitten, this is the same solution I use to feed my little hummingbirds and they told me it gets a 5 star rating! ; )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2014

      Please don't add food coloring to your hummingbird food. Just get a brightly colored feeder to represent the color of flowers. Flower nectar has no color and food dye is harmful so leave it out of your homemade nectar. See this link:<br/><br/>http://www.allaboutbirds.org/page.aspx?pid=1181

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      In the winter time, they need a little more sugar. I make it 1 to 3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Works perfectly- I make a double batch they drink it so quickly. I boil the water first, add the sugar and leave out the red food coloring. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Thanks for sharing! Works like a charm and it's so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Should have checked here first! Just made the nectar and I am anxiously awaiting our first visitors. They love my flowers so this should make for a nice appy before the flowers are fully bloomed & ready. Can't wait to see our annual visitors up close!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      I have 2 feeders a red and a green and my hummers don't come unless the nectar is red for either. I've used this exact recipe for years and, yes, they love it! I live in Minnesota so I only get to enjoy them for about 6 months a year. So sad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      I have been making my own hummer food for years, but have been cautioned about using food colouring in the nectar. Though it looks pretty one has to be careful whats in the dye. Your recipe is identical to mine. I get my fine sugar at the health food store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      We have been making nectar for the Hummingbirds like this for years using a higher ratio of sugar. I do not use the red food coloring as I have read on several web sights that the red food coloring is not good for the Hummers. We feed a lot of hummers, we have six 42 ounce feeders that we fill everyday using over 50 pounds of sugar a month.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      We have been using this method for many years, DID use coloring at first, but a friend (who is a Birder) told us to try without. We seem to have MORE hummers now !! Since we live in Maryland, and it is now 90+ degrees many days, we never fill the feeder, but clean and refresh at least once/week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2007

      Easy recipe for such a great reward (watching the boidies). Thanks, gingerkitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      I too live in Florida and feed the hummers when around from March - September. I boil water (from my r/o system) take it off the heat and stir in the sugar to dissolve. I have read that by boiling the sugar in the water the molecular makeup of the sugar changes. I do not use any food color. I change the sugar/water ratio based on the time of the year. More sugar to water early on and towards the end of the season. I have hummers all day long. I am sure whatever "recipe" is used, they are happy. Aren't they just amazing?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      Works great and an easy to follow recipe, doesn't get much better than that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummingbird Nectar

    Serving Size: 1 (1151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 49.9 g
    199%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites