33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

yes, the hummingbirds give this 5 stars!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay June 12, 2011

The hummingbirds love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Reader August 21, 2008

This is a simple and easy recipe. I posted this same recipe here, but was "a dollar short, and a day late"! I had looked but did not find it, fortunately mine was taken off, and I was redirected here. The only changes I have, is that my feeder is only 1 cup, so I make it in 1 cup batches as I need it. (1/4 cup sugar to 1 cup water.) I don't like storing the nectar, as fresh is always better, so the hummers tell me. I like the idea of adding a drop of the almond extract. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetiebarbara February 13, 2008

I have also added a dash of almond flavoring to the mixture...Hummingbirds love this stuff...and it is not as complicated as some people lecture about...Ty for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana Shrome January 04, 2008

According to the book, The Hummingbird Garden, "artificial nectar for hummingbird feeders should consist of a four-to-one solution of water and white granulated sugar (a five-to-one solution is also acceptable). This solution should be boiled for a couple of minutes in order to dissolve the sugar completely, retard fermentation of the mixture, and destroy microorganisms, such as mold and bacteria, that are in the water. If you add some extra water to the solution before you boil it, you can be sure that the mixture is no stronger than four-to-one after boiling." In order to achieve that, the recipe should read: 1/2 cups white granulated sugar 2 1/2 cups tap water Boil the sugar and water for 2 minutes. Mixture should not measure less than 2 1/2 cups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Netgirl's Healthy Cookbook October 14, 2007

This is great stuff! The hummingbirds love it. I like that it doesn't have the red food coloring in it because it's not only uneccesary, it's healthier for the birds. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate July 24, 2007

I make this all the time and the hummingbirds love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margo59 July 23, 2007

I don't agree with this recipe. Boiling the solution for two minutes reduces the water concentration considerably so that the proportion is no longer 4:1 and the sugar concentration is actually higher. The sugar should be added to hot water only to dissolve. This following quote is from ornithology.com "What is the best ratio of sugar-to-water to use for feeding hummingbirds? Four parts water to one part sugar (a 4:1 ratio) has been shown to be the closest to the sucrose content of natural flower nectar. Concentrations stronger than this are readily consumed by hummers, but there may be the possibility that stronger solutions crystallize on the bill and attract bacteria, leading to a condition called bill rot. I personally recommend 5:1. "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carla R March 28, 2006

Great recipe! Much cheaper than buying this at the store- and much more convenient. Attracts and feeds butterflies too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) March 13, 2006

This is the proportion of sugar:water that I have always used. This past summer we had up to 6 hummers at a time, and 3-4 that spent much of the summer in our yard. The kids were easily able to make the solution; we kept that which didn't fit in the feeder in a glass jar in the fridge and used it for refills every few days (cleaning out the feeder each time to avoid that awful black mold). Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
winkki November 18, 2005
Hummingbird Feeding Solution