Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummingbird Feeding Solution Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummingbird Feeding Solution

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2011

      yes, the hummingbirds give this 5 stars!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      The hummingbirds love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This is a simple and easy recipe. I posted this same recipe here, but was "a dollar short, and a day late"! I had looked but did not find it, fortunately mine was taken off, and I was redirected here. The only changes I have, is that my feeder is only 1 cup, so I make it in 1 cup batches as I need it. (1/4 cup sugar to 1 cup water.) I don't like storing the nectar, as fresh is always better, so the hummers tell me. I like the idea of adding a drop of the almond extract. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I have also added a dash of almond flavoring to the mixture...Hummingbirds love this stuff...and it is not as complicated as some people lecture about...Ty for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      According to the book, The Hummingbird Garden, "artificial nectar for hummingbird feeders should consist of a four-to-one solution of water and white granulated sugar (a five-to-one solution is also acceptable). This solution should be boiled for a couple of minutes in order to dissolve the sugar completely, retard fermentation of the mixture, and destroy microorganisms, such as mold and bacteria, that are in the water. If you add some extra water to the solution before you boil it, you can be sure that the mixture is no stronger than four-to-one after boiling." In order to achieve that, the recipe should read: 1/2 cups white granulated sugar 2 1/2 cups tap water Boil the sugar and water for 2 minutes. Mixture should not measure less than 2 1/2 cups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      This is great stuff! The hummingbirds love it. I like that it doesn't have the red food coloring in it because it's not only uneccesary, it's healthier for the birds. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      I make this all the time and the hummingbirds love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      I don't agree with this recipe. Boiling the solution for two minutes reduces the water concentration considerably so that the proportion is no longer 4:1 and the sugar concentration is actually higher. The sugar should be added to hot water only to dissolve. This following quote is from ornithology.com "What is the best ratio of sugar-to-water to use for feeding hummingbirds? Four parts water to one part sugar (a 4:1 ratio) has been shown to be the closest to the sucrose content of natural flower nectar. Concentrations stronger than this are readily consumed by hummers, but there may be the possibility that stronger solutions crystallize on the bill and attract bacteria, leading to a condition called bill rot. I personally recommend 5:1. "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      Great recipe! Much cheaper than buying this at the store- and much more convenient. Attracts and feeds butterflies too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      This is the proportion of sugar:water that I have always used. This past summer we had up to 6 hummers at a time, and 3-4 that spent much of the summer in our yard. The kids were easily able to make the solution; we kept that which didn't fit in the feeder in a glass jar in the fridge and used it for refills every few days (cleaning out the feeder each time to avoid that awful black mold). Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      Thank you for printing this. It's the only way I feed the hummingbirds. I used to buy the store-bought nectar and then read in the newspaper that the dye is harmful to the birds. Plus I noticed it went rancid very fast. This solution, I assume because of the boiling sterilization, stays sweet. One thing to note is that the nectar should be changed at least once a week and the feeders thoroughly cleaned for the health of the birds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      What a simple solution! My mother was always driving 32 miles to the store to buy "hummingbird food cause that's all they'll eat." This worked like a charm. Sugar, water, and nothing else. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2005

      After seeing all the reviews I had to try this. I made this up last night and woke up to a hummingbird at the feeder, then came back and stayed over 5 minutes. I was thrilled. I didn't add any coloring and my results seem to be fantastic. Thank you for a great recipe that I can make anytime and keep the little ones fed.. Unbelievable is all I can say.. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      I have tried for years to attract hummingbirds to my otherwise bird-friendly yard. This is the recipe that works. I use bottled water so that it is free of any chemicals, flouride, etc., although the boiling probably gets rid of that anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2005

      This is the solution I have always used and its great. We have 2 Hummingbirds that have come back for 2 years for it! Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2005

      Hubby & I enjoy watching the numerous hummingbirds that are now coming to our feeders. We can be outside and suddenly we hear the fluttering of their wings as they approach the feeders, drink their fill and head on to the flowers in our garden. Such a pleasure to watch!!! Many thanks for sharing this recipe, Kim.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      I am so happy to find this recipe! I have not had a hummingbird feeder up for a couple of years, and had forgotten the correct proportion of water to sugar. I mixed up a batch of this and hung it out. I wondered how long it would take for the hummingbirds to find it. Not to worry...they were back within 24 hours :). Here is a hint if you have a problem with ants in the hummingbird feeder: slather the hanger with petroleum jelly (vaseline). I worked for me! Thanks for the recipe Kim!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      I made this for my crew a couple of days ago...they fight over who gets to the feeder first!!! Thanks for sharing this; it's so much easier and cheaper than buying it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2005

      I have been making this forever. My mother and I both refuse to buy hummingbird food at the stores, because I have also read that it's not all that great from them and we do not use food coloring either also isn't good for them. As the other reviewer stated all they need is the red on the feeder itself. I normally get attacked when I am outside with red, guess they think I am a flower, but these little birds are harmless and so fun to watch. Remember to clean your feeder often and don't let the mixture set in the feeder for over 2 days. It actually can make the birds very sick and even kill them if the food isn't changed and the feeder isn't cleaned out. I got a little pipe cleaner looking thing to clean mine out ( small spaces ).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2005

      Very easy to make. Won,t buy anymore,the hummingbirds love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummingbird Feeding Solution

    Serving Size: 1 (574 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 7.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 49.9 g
    199%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites