Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Everyday Party Ideas >

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    Weeknight Dinner Winners

    27 Easy, Crowd-Pleasing Recipes
    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Popcorn, 25 Ways

    Movie Night Just Got Way More Fun
    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    37 Ways to Party With Pizza

    It's Not Delivery, It's All You
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hummingbird Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hummingbird Cake

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on October 30, 2009

      Excellent recipe! In case anyone is interested, I made this with half apple sauce and half oil. I think if you like the heavy oily texture like a carrot cake, then stick with the oil. Surprisingly though, most tasters much preferred the lighter texture of applesauce. so there you go (^o^) thanks for posting bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      For many years, my husband and I had a slice of this cake with our coffee on Christmas morning. We would watch our children with their new found treasures, drink coffee and have "coffee cake" (we preferred it without any icing)It is the best!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      AMAZING! i halved the recipe to make 12 big cupcakes...halved the oil and used coconut replacing it with a 1/2 cup chopped banana & an additional 1tsp pumpkin pie spice. Frosting, i made with 1/2 the butter, and added lemon zest powder...TRUELY DIVINE, my husband cant get enough, and i saved some for me un iced so i can have them for breakfast...YUM, thank you forever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Simply wonderful! I made this tonight to take to my family reunion, I just know everyone will love it! I took a couple of liberties with it: For starters I have to travel a couple hundred miles with it, in a car, so a three layered cake was out of the question. I have nothing to carry it in for that long. So I made it in a 13x9 pan. Just as someone else said, it baked for a bout an hour. The cake is fairly dense, but extremely moist. Also, a full cup of oil sounded too much. I replaced half of that for applesauce. Next, I was more interested in the pineapple flavor, so I only chopped up one banana, it looked to be a little less than a cup. I then used 3/4 of a 20 oz can of pineapple. I substituted walnuts for the pecans. I also added a couple handfuls of shredded coconut. The final result is amazing. And the fact that all of that was actually easy, i wish I could give it more than 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      I first came across hummingbird cake about 10 years ago, while in college. A friend served it at her recital. I remember that it was delicious! It did taste a lot like carrot cake. A few weeks ago, I got inspired to look for a recipe and found this one. I made it for myself as a birthday cake and it's wonderful! I've shared it with a couple friends, who raved about it. Perhaps I'll volunteer to provide a dessert at the next church function. :) It's a great recipe and I don't plan to wait another 10 years to make it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      This cake is soooooo good! I made it word for word as the recipe says, the only change being that I put chopped pecans all around the side because my husband and I both love pecans! It was very easy to make and as I mentioned already - the taste was amazing! The only thing I would think about doing different is to bake it in 2 round pans instead of 3 - just for simplicity of serving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2005

      It's not the most-requested for nothing! It's a fabulous cake - you can't go wrong with this one. I baked in a 9x13" cake pan with great success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2005

      This is a delicious and moist cake! I made it in a 9 x 13 pan and baked it for about 45 minutes (I think). I used ground pecans instead of chopped. I did cheat and use canned cream cheese frosting that I doctored with a bit of cinnamon and vanilla. I think anyone who likes carrot or apple or spice type cakes (who doesn't?) would love this. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2004

      Always a crowd pleaser! Company always loves this cake and it's requested by my family all the time. It's moist and delicouse with or without the frosting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      I had baked several different recipes of this cake without success (one was a bundt recipe). I didn't have three 9" pans, so I baked it as a 9x13 layer cake. It was so horrible, I threw it away. I bit the bullet and ordered a third layer pan and then proceeded to follow the directions exactly. It was absolutely delicious and turned out perfectly. The secret is the three layers-- they aren't so thick as to not get completely done. I made this last weekend and it was our "Goodbye to summer" cake for the Labor Day Weekend. Bev, thank you so much for posting the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      Always a hit at any gathering!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I love this cake and have been making it for years. I do add a about 1/3 of a grated nutmeg to it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This cake has everything in a cake that I love! The cake was totally delicious, and was requested by my DH for his birthday cake. The frosting went really well with the cake and all in all, one of the best cakes I have ever made from scratch! I see us having this many more times over the years and plan to share the recipe with my family!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Awesome moist cake that is deemed one of the best any of us have ever had! Nice and moist too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Great cake. Wonderful with vanilla ice cream. Thanks for posting, Bev.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      FAB-U-LOUS! My granny used to make this cake and this is it to a T! I made 2 cakes instead of 3. yum yum yum

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      Looking for a birthday cake to make my brother in law and this one sounded so good I had to make it. Everyone wolfed it down and gave many compliments. It's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      Growing up in the South, I have had this cake on several occasions and have always liked it. Yesterday, I made it for my husband and he said that it was delicious. My neighbors also liked it as well. It is easy to make and great topped with the cream cheese frosting. Thank you Bev for sharing this classic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      OMG, delish! I miss hummingbird cake from a local bakery in FL (moved away about 1 year ago) so I decided to give this a shot. It was perfect (as are all of the recipies I try from you)!!! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      My sweet tooth has been kicking in lately and this cake was so delicious! I loved every last fattening bite :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hummingbird Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (165 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 623.7
     
    Calories from Fat 295
    47%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 65.7 mg
    21%
    Sodium 335.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.9 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 58.0 g
    232%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes