66 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe! In case anyone is interested, I made this with half apple sauce and half oil. I think if you like the heavy oily texture like a carrot cake, then stick with the oil. Surprisingly though, most tasters much preferred the lighter texture of applesauce. so there you go (^o^) thanks for posting bev!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mellowpuff October 30, 2009

AMAZING! i halved the recipe to make 12 big cupcakes...halved the oil and used coconut replacing it with a 1/2 cup chopped banana & an additional 1tsp pumpkin pie spice. Frosting, i made with 1/2 the butter, and added lemon zest powder...TRUELY DIVINE, my husband cant get enough, and i saved some for me un iced so i can have them for breakfast...YUM, thank you forever!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brit in America July 04, 2009

Simply wonderful! I made this tonight to take to my family reunion, I just know everyone will love it! I took a couple of liberties with it: For starters I have to travel a couple hundred miles with it, in a car, so a three layered cake was out of the question. I have nothing to carry it in for that long. So I made it in a 13x9 pan. Just as someone else said, it baked for a bout an hour. The cake is fairly dense, but extremely moist. Also, a full cup of oil sounded too much. I replaced half of that for applesauce. Next, I was more interested in the pineapple flavor, so I only chopped up one banana, it looked to be a little less than a cup. I then used 3/4 of a 20 oz can of pineapple. I substituted walnuts for the pecans. I also added a couple handfuls of shredded coconut. The final result is amazing. And the fact that all of that was actually easy, i wish I could give it more than 5 stars!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jamc100 June 27, 2009

For many years, my husband and I had a slice of this cake with our coffee on Christmas morning. We would watch our children with their new found treasures, drink coffee and have "coffee cake" (we preferred it without any icing)It is the best!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msgunn January 07, 2003

I had baked several different recipes of this cake without success (one was a bundt recipe). I didn't have three 9" pans, so I baked it as a 9x13 layer cake. It was so horrible, I threw it away. I bit the bullet and ordered a third layer pan and then proceeded to follow the directions exactly. It was absolutely delicious and turned out perfectly. The secret is the three layers-- they aren't so thick as to not get completely done. I made this last weekend and it was our "Goodbye to summer" cake for the Labor Day Weekend. Bev, thank you so much for posting the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose September 12, 2011

I first came across hummingbird cake about 10 years ago, while in college. A friend served it at her recital. I remember that it was delicious! It did taste a lot like carrot cake. A few weeks ago, I got inspired to look for a recipe and found this one. I made it for myself as a birthday cake and it's wonderful! I've shared it with a couple friends, who raved about it. Perhaps I'll volunteer to provide a dessert at the next church function. :) It's a great recipe and I don't plan to wait another 10 years to make it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paculina July 16, 2009

Five star rating depends on 1 thing, dropping the sugar down to 1.25 cups. I haven't made it with 2 cups but I can only imagine how overly sweet that would be. I modified icing by adding 1/2 cup mango puree and folding in 1 cup of whipping cream whipped to stiff peak texture. Toasted almond slivers to coat the sides and shredded coconut for the top. Sliced strawberries and mangos thinly for in between layers.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kbakerbio May 09, 2008

This cake is soooooo good! I made it word for word as the recipe says, the only change being that I put chopped pecans all around the side because my husband and I both love pecans! It was very easy to make and as I mentioned already - the taste was amazing! The only thing I would think about doing different is to bake it in 2 round pans instead of 3 - just for simplicity of serving!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KRD-SK November 07, 2006

It's not the most-requested for nothing! It's a fabulous cake - you can't go wrong with this one. I baked in a 9x13" cake pan with great success.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou July 18, 2005

This is a delicious and moist cake! I made it in a 9 x 13 pan and baked it for about 45 minutes (I think). I used ground pecans instead of chopped. I did cheat and use canned cream cheese frosting that I doctored with a bit of cinnamon and vanilla. I think anyone who likes carrot or apple or spice type cakes (who doesn't?) would love this. Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino Girl January 02, 2005
Hummingbird Cake