21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful chicken! I scaled the marinade down for one large bone in chicken breast and let it marinate for about 6 hours. The result was a delicious, flavorful and moist dinner. Thanks for posting such a great recipe which I will make often. Made for ZWT7 Golden Gourmets.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Papa D 1946-2012 June 28, 2011

Delicious chicken! I used boneless skinless breasts, and I marinated them overnight. After grilling them on my indoor grill, I used them for Asian-inspired grilled chicken sandwiches. The chicken turned out very moist and flavorful, and it smelled wonderful as it was cooking. Thanks for posting! Made for the Emerald City Shakers for ZWT7

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Muffin Goddess June 27, 2011

Great recipe, so easy to put together and so tasty! Will make this again often, thanks for posting!
Made for ZWT 7.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany June 25, 2011

Love at first bite! I was instantly transported back to family vacations to HI as a youngster. This tasted identical to the chicken we had almost nightly at the little cafe across from the hotel we stayed at each summer. Tender, juicy and oh-so-flavorful! Very teriyaki-ish and heavenly. I marinated 2 boneless skinless breasts in about 1/4 c of the sauce for 24 hours, then basted each side with sauce on the grill and heated the rest to serve. Thank you so much Rita for a taste I'd almost forgotten!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs June 19, 2011

Rita, this was delicious!
Used deskinned chicken legs and instead of ketchup (I don't have) some tomato concentrate.
Tasty and moist. Thanks!
Done for ZWT7

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde June 19, 2011

The wonderful taste was great!! My family loved the sauce on these ribs. I purchased boneless short ribs not realizing that they were too tough to be cooked on the grill. I cooked them plus this amazing sauce in the crockpot on low for a few hours. Made for ZWT7.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn June 19, 2011

Tasty! I marinated it overnight- don't know how much of a difference that made. Next time I will keep half the sauce separate to serve with the chicken. Definitely delicious! I used ground ginger, in equal amount to the curry. Cut sauce ingred. in half and made one large chix breast. This dish has an Asian flair. Served with Warm Potato Salad With Sweet Chili Sour Cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn February 19, 2013

After seeing pictures of PapaD's chicken and this being the recipe I knew I had to give it a try right away that night. What a great recipe!!! I did sub ginger poweder for the gingerroot. Excellent marinade. Next time I"ll make more to go over rice like a previous reviewer had mentioned. MMmmmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB June 28, 2011

Amazing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefboyar-Dee September 05, 2009

This is very close to my Huli Huli recipe, which always gets raves. I almost always use whole boneless chicken breasts and grill until just cooked through. I use sweet rice wine instead of sherry, and do not add curry powder. Be sure to marinate at least 4 hours or overnight. I double (or triple!) the marinade, then after removing the chicken, I boil it for 5 minutes then serve it over the chicken and over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarySC September 26, 2008
Huli Huli Chicken or Ribs