Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Huli Huli Chicken or Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Huli Huli Chicken or Ribs

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2011

      Wonderful chicken! I scaled the marinade down for one large bone in chicken breast and let it marinate for about 6 hours. The result was a delicious, flavorful and moist dinner. Thanks for posting such a great recipe which I will make often. Made for ZWT7 Golden Gourmets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      Delicious chicken! I used boneless skinless breasts, and I marinated them overnight. After grilling them on my indoor grill, I used them for Asian-inspired grilled chicken sandwiches. The chicken turned out very moist and flavorful, and it smelled wonderful as it was cooking. Thanks for posting! Made for the Emerald City Shakers for ZWT7

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      Great recipe, so easy to put together and so tasty! Will make this again often, thanks for posting!
      Made for ZWT 7.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      Love at first bite! I was instantly transported back to family vacations to HI as a youngster. This tasted identical to the chicken we had almost nightly at the little cafe across from the hotel we stayed at each summer. Tender, juicy and oh-so-flavorful! Very teriyaki-ish and heavenly. I marinated 2 boneless skinless breasts in about 1/4 c of the sauce for 24 hours, then basted each side with sauce on the grill and heated the rest to serve. Thank you so much Rita for a taste I'd almost forgotten!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      Rita, this was delicious!
      Used deskinned chicken legs and instead of ketchup (I don't have) some tomato concentrate.
      Tasty and moist. Thanks!
      Done for ZWT7

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      The wonderful taste was great!! My family loved the sauce on these ribs. I purchased boneless short ribs not realizing that they were too tough to be cooked on the grill. I cooked them plus this amazing sauce in the crockpot on low for a few hours. Made for ZWT7.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Tasty! I marinated it overnight- don't know how much of a difference that made. Next time I will keep half the sauce separate to serve with the chicken. Definitely delicious! I used ground ginger, in equal amount to the curry. Cut sauce ingred. in half and made one large chix breast. This dish has an Asian flair. Served with Warm Potato Salad With Sweet Chili Sour Cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      After seeing pictures of PapaD's chicken and this being the recipe I knew I had to give it a try right away that night. What a great recipe!!! I did sub ginger poweder for the gingerroot. Excellent marinade. Next time I"ll make more to go over rice like a previous reviewer had mentioned. MMmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      Amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      This is very close to my Huli Huli recipe, which always gets raves. I almost always use whole boneless chicken breasts and grill until just cooked through. I use sweet rice wine instead of sherry, and do not add curry powder. Be sure to marinate at least 4 hours or overnight. I double (or triple!) the marinade, then after removing the chicken, I boil it for 5 minutes then serve it over the chicken and over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      This was very good! Both dh & I enjoyed it. It would be very easy to do oamc. Put it all together & freeze - I bet it would only taste better with marinading time. Thank you very much for sharing, we will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      This is great. I made it with brown sugar, 1teaspoon of minced ginger, and cooking sherry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Oh this is fantastic!!! I used it on chicken and it was out-of-this world good!!! I'll make this often!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      This was good. I marinated overnight in mixture (saving some for basting) and BBQ'd. Used mild curry and kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      This is so good!! I lived in Hawaii for 3 years and fell in love with Huli huli anything. I'm so glad to have found this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2005

      Excellent. Had some friends over, threw this together & everyone really enjoyed the flavor. I didn't change the recipe for the sauce other than used it for a marinade first, then brought to boil and brushed over chicken while BBQing. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2005

      Very good recipe with an Asian flavor. I used the honey and chicken thighs, this time left the skin on. You are right you have to turn it over and baste it many times. Served it with a spinach salad and baked potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2005

      Rita is correct that "huli huli" means "turn, turn". Most huli huli recipes are either teriyaki or a more vinegar based marinade. I have never had one as spicy as this recipe. I was out of curry, & I imagine that would add a nice layer of complexity to the sauce. I'll make sure I have some on hand for next time. Will probably cut back a bit on the heat in defrence to dd, but I liked it a lot "as it". Oh, BTW, I made it on chicke, Good stuff, Rita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2005

      Wowzers! This was fabulous! I used it on ribs and they were incredible! I love the idea of it on Salmon! Thank you for sharing this recipe! XO LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      I made this recipe last weekend, halving the amount of chicken, but making the full amount of sauce as I was afraid that halving the sauce would make an inferior product. I'm so glad I trusted my instincts because later in the week I used the left over sauce for grilled salmon and boy I can't tell you which was better. I used the honey option for the basting sauce and both the chicken version and the salmon version were delightful with slightly charred and crispy edges from the honey hitting the grill. Thank you Rita L. for sharing the recipe. I feel like I got 2 for the effort of one on this recipe lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Huli Huli Chicken or Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 474.8
     
    Calories from Fat 234
    49%
    Total Fat 26.0 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 129.3 mg
    43%
    Sodium 936.1 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.4 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 16.3 g
    65%
    Protein 33.6 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gingerroot

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites