14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great! I smeared oil on flour tortilla`s instead of spraying them. I did like another reviewer, I fried the eggs, put them on & then the cheese & put them back in the oven that was still hot to melt the cheese & heat them up some more. My husband wanted two eggs on his & that worked also. Will definitely make again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RECIPE ADDICT July 03, 2011

Wonderful! Part of my "eat less meat" series we're trying. I did mash some of the beans first, which I recommend (makes them very spreadable). I did fry my eggs separately. I layered egg, beans, cheese, then (since the oven was already on), baked them for a few minutes to melt the cheese. I also topped with a bit more picante, which was delicious...it was ALL delicious, and hearty!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven August 15, 2010

This was a delicious and fast Mexican dish. I used black beans because that was what I had on hand. Didn't have picante sauce either, so I blended 1/2 c. tomato sauce, 1/4 c. green onions, 2 tbs. green chilis and 1/4 c. tomatoes in the food processor. I will be making this again, thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DCKiki November 24, 2008

I am a big fan of Cooking Light and any recipe for Mexican food that is tasty, fast, and healthy for a quick weeknight dinner. This was very good I usually have all of the fixings on hand. It can also easily be dressed up with tomatoes, avocado or other toppings if desired. We really liked the crunch of the tortillas. I will be making this in the future. Thank you for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carm50 October 27, 2008

Made this up for dinner and was suprised at how good it was!! Used diced tomatoes with green chili peppers since that's what was in the pantry and it was perfect. I'm sure I'll be whipping this up on a regular basis.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma May 09, 2008

Had some problems with this one. I put tortillas in the oven and they were done before 5 minutes on both sides. Then the eggs over cooked. I used my own homemade salsa. I think the presentation was better than the way they tasted.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel July 19, 2014

This was a great recipe! quick, easy, simple, cheap, tasty... what more could I ask for. :) I just whipped it up for dinner and we all liked it! I did use a larger can of beans and just added a little more salsa, and got an extra egg in there. Wish I had the cilantro.. maybe next time. thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Al Al July 31, 2008

This was a great, quick and easy dinner for us! They were ready in no time. I used salsa instead of picante sauce, and I left out the cilantro since I didn't have any, but next time I will make sure I have some on hand! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lingering_Dream July 02, 2007

Wow, this was very different for us and made for a great weekend breakfast. Would make a lovely quick and easy dinner too. I used salsa as I couldn't find picante sauce. Will be making this one again soon. Thanks Sharon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies May 06, 2007

This was a great way to make Huevos Rancheros and I'll be trying it again! I left out the ketchup and used chunky salsa instead of picante sauce. I forgot to add some hot sauce this time, but will remember next time. Thanks for a great breakfast recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. April 28, 2007
Huevos Rancheros Tostados