Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Hubby's Favorite Onion Rings Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hubby's Favorite Onion Rings

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2010

      We really liked these rings. I did thin the batter down a bit with some H2O but otherwise followed the directions. My family loved them. We didn't think they were too bready, but we like that anyway. I was worried about the batter sticking without flouring the onions first but it worked like a charm. Thank you for sharing this yummy ring recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      loved it! I thinned it out a bit with milk and replaced added cajun seasoning my family was blown away! I will use smaller onions next time this made a large batch. Thanks for sharing....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      I did not find the batter to be crunchy enough. It reminded me more of funnel cake consistency than onion ring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2010

      Liked the interest of the black pepper but this batter was really thick and coated the onion rings more than I wanted, making them more breaded. Just personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2010

    • on May 02, 2010

      These were good but there was problems with the batter sticking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2009

      This is a good recipe, the batter is very versatile, you can make it thinner or thicker depending on how you like your batter. I personally add a little cornmeal to this for some extra crunch and some paprika for added color. When I am done making the onion rings I throw in some jalapeno slices and those are great too. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      I think that the base is good for onion rings, but it needs more to it. I added more milk (it was a little too bready for my taste) with this base along with more pepper and cajun seasonings-I also substituted the milk for beer and and added all the cajun seasonings for one batch and that was good as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      This was really good and easy...and much less messy since i only needed one bowl. Leftovers heat up pretty well in the oven too. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      delicious,made these tonight to go with bbq chicken and potato wedges and they were outstanding and much better than frozen ones. i will make often

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2008

      I added 4t of water to the batter because I thought it would be too difficult to coat the onions with. I don't think I'll try these again. They were good but too soft and poofy for my liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Great basic recipe!! chilled batter before dipping then dipped into mixture of bread crumbs and flour with some bbq steak seasoning. Family loved them! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I've been craving onion rings all week and decided to try this recipe. They were good but not crispy like I had hoped. They were quite doughy actually. I also added cajun seasoning instead of the black pepper for a little kick. I refrigerated the batter and added an extra tablespoon of milk. The batter stuck to the onion rings quite nicely. I just didn't care too much for the texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2007

      I liked the flavor, but I had a hard time getting the batter to stick to the onion slices. First time I made onion rings, so maybe I was not doing something right, but I followed the recipe to a "t"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      I love it, very easy to make.I have used this recipe twice so far and intend on using it for other fried veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      i made this recipe a while ago! I was craving onion rings. These were really good!!!!! They were gone in no time! Will for sure make them again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      These are now MY hubby's favorite onion rings! I did, per another reviewer, make the batter ahead and refrigerate it so that it was thick and would cling to the onions. Very good, very solid performance. I thought I really wanted a beer batter, but didn't have any beer on hand and this was just awesome. Oh, and I added dash of cayenne and about 1/2 tsp. thyme to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      These were very good I have never made homemade onion rings before. I'm happy to see how easy they are to make. This will save us money on eating out now. Thanks for sharing. PS my hubby loved them too. Lisa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      Hi~ These Onion Rings turned out great! I did not have any milk on hand so I added one extra egg yolk and used 1/2 cup water. Puffed up great but at the same time did not cover the flavor of the Onion! Easy and fast to make-thanks for Posting! I will try this coating with mushrooms very soon. Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      As soon as I seen the picture I had to try them and was it ever worth it. They were perfect. Worth the time and so much better that anything I have tried before.I now want to try the batter with other vegetables: mushrooms, zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hubby's Favorite Onion Rings

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.9
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    21%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 97.2 mg
    32%
    Sodium 726.3 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes