11 Reviews

I made these for Valentine's Day, and served with ice cream and hot fudge sauce. So chewy and chocolatey. My favorite Valentine's dessert! I sprinkled some sea salt on top, right before they were done baking..delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hazeleyes February 15, 2012

Holy lord of all things chocolately! DH and I are big fans of the boxed brownies but I'm perpetually on the lookout for a homemade version since they'll no doubt be cheaper, more accessible and not filled with preservatives. This is the absolute closest we've ever gotten! DH had a snack craving at 8:30pm and I suggested whipping up this recipe...my oven takes just over 4 minutes to heat to the temp specified and I was done mixing before it dinged! Sinful right out of the pan still warm and even better the next day! I'm not a brownie crust fan, but these are divine. Thanks so much for posting your DH's fantastic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend January 04, 2010

After hearing so much about these brownies, I decided to make them on 11/10/09. I followed the recipe to the letter, and baked them for 30 minutes in a pre-heated 350 degree oven. We all thought that they were a bit on the dry side. The taste was just o.k. I think that I'll just keep looking for a brownie that's a bit more moist. But thanks for taking the time to post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � November 10, 2009

A no star rating is NOT a bad rating. I only post this for information and so others do not make the mistake I made. These DO NOT work out if you substitute Splenda for the sugar. They smelled wonderful and all the other reviews are good so I am convinced it was MY mistake in using the Splenda.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love to Eat!! November 10, 2009

First of all they were too sweet, Second they looked HORRIBLE and UGLY, third they got soo hard and stuck to the pan. This recipe needs to be removed from this amazing site, because it's very disappointing to bake and have bad and horrible results. :( Also the star i'm giving it is because they were very chocolaty(which i love).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jameelah A. December 27, 2015

I just made these tonight and my first thoughts were that the content of dry versus wet was a little worrisome. I actually broke my cheapy mixer, this mix is thick! Ha. I used a slightly larger pan, so they would be flatter and cut into smaller pieces. I also added 1/2 cup more sugar, to finish the bag off. I cooked them around 35 minutes @ 350. They were by no means dry or cake like. The taste is pretty intense, I suspected they would be though. All in all, it was good and the first time I've ever baked something not from a box that was edible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethany C. January 06, 2014

These are great! Mine turned out a little more cakelike but I had to substitute abit so I am SURE that is the reason why. I was measuring out my cocoa powder and only had a 1/2 cup..so I decreased my sugar by 1/2 cup and used some Nesquik. The chocolate flavor was not compromised, but I do think it may have effected the texture. These were AWESOME with some vanilla ice cream and chocolate sauce. I LOVE the fact that they are thicker than your normal brownie. Just decadent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. November 10, 2009

Great thick brownie!!! It was quite a bit of sugar so next time I think I will half that although it was really tasty!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janarutherford September 13, 2009

This is a great brownie recipe. It is going into my keep file.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinisajoy May 07, 2009

This is EVERYONE'S favorite brownie now. Thank you for such a chewy, yummy brownie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MARIA MAC * April 29, 2009
Hubby's Chewy Brownies