Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Spatchcock a Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Spatchcock a Chicken

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2009

      I made this for mine and SO's dinner on Feb.23. And OMGoodness !!! this is some of the moistest chicken that I have ever eaten.Before baking I brushed both sides with some olive oil and sprinkled both sides with some smokey style seasoned salt. The chicken that was used weighed close to 6lbs., so it was baked at 350 degrees for 1 hour and 15 minutes. I was making mashed potatoes, so a bit of the chicken drippings were used to make a very good gravy.Usually when you make a roasted chicken the breast meat turns out some what dry, but not with this method of baking. Thanks so much for posting this wonderful recipe. This " WILL" be made again and again. "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Great instructions!!! I have been doing this for years and I love how you broke it down so even the newest cook could follow along. I love roasting a chicken after preparing this way... cooks so evenly and makes for easy carving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      This is very easy and fun to do. Very good presentation and grilling is easy. I will definitely do this many times. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Thankyou so much I have always wanted to know how to do this. Now my chicken BBQ's will be spectacular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2008

      Thanks for posting this. I've seen it done before but do you think I could remember if it was the backbone or the breastbone that I was supposed to cut out! Then I couldn't figure out which way to turn the legs. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I had always wanted to do this but didn't know how. Now I do and it was so easy! Thanks for explaining it so clearly. After spatchcocking, I marinated the bird in Italian Beer Marinade for Chicken for 8 hours. I have an unused cement stepping stone that is about 8 x 12 inches, roughly the same size as the flattened bird. I wrapping the stone in foil and used that to flatten the bird while grilling. DH looked at me like the summer heat had finally driven me insane!We grilled this breast side down first, then used the jumbo sized BBQ tongs to turn it. The finished product was perfectly done; moist and juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Love the name but it's just the ticket! I've been doing it for quite some time and it's fabulous. Another hint that's worked well for me...once you've split the bird, put it on a greased pan, breast side down, season the inside of the bird with a little olive oil, lemon juice, garlic whatever and broil for 10 minutes 6" from broiler. Take it out, flip it over (breast side up now). Apply your seasonings or cooking baste and then roast as normal. Your cooking time will be reduced and the meat will be very moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2006

      Yup! Thanks for posting! This is how I've done it for years! One other tip...when you press it flat, push hard and you will hear the breast bone crack. It wil lay flatter then.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      Explained spatchcocking very clearly. Spatchcocking is a wonderful way to insure even cooking. We spatchcock all birds before grilling. Turkeys cook great spatchcocked. Thanks for posting these terrific spatchcocking tips!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2006

      this is exactly how I prepare a bird for grilling! Didn't know it had a name but it sure makes for an evenly cooked bird! Sometimes I'll flatten with a foil-covered block too, but not necessary. Bravo for posting this as I was recently telling a friend how to do this & was met with a blank noncomprehending look from an otherwise intelligent professional! I'll refer her here now! LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Spatchcock a Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 360.7
     
    Calories from Fat 238
    66%
    Total Fat 26.4 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 7.5 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 121.9 mg
    40%
    Sodium 113.5 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes