31 Reviews

Making this has become a staple in my kitchen! Since I do a lot of Italian cooking, garlic is in my life forever! Roasting the cloves this way is so simple and the end result is delicious sweet garlic that is good for so many dishes. I make this up ahead of time and store them in a small glass jar for up to 1 week. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee April 21, 2009

Ridiculously easy! I used some of the olive oil that had been used to marinate chillies, for some heads of garlic, and normal olive oil for the others. Didn't use salt and pepper. Popped them in the oven.... about half an hour later, enjoyed the beautiful smell and taste of roasted garlic! Used some of it that same day when I made JanuaryBrides Garlic Herb Bread, excellent! So now I know how!!! Thanks, JB, Made for PAC Fall 2008

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth September 22, 2008

5 Stars ! I used Italian garlic for this.. it seems to have better and stronger flavour than the bulk chineese stuff in the supermarket of late. The instructions for this recipe are easy and the result is delicious... DH took a whole roasted head of garlic and a slab of fresh bread and retreated happily to the sofa to enjoy it... I had some too then froze the rest (squished out of their papery husks and into a plastic bag) for quick use in dips and spreads where a less "raw" garlic flavour is often wanted. Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a foolproof garlic recipe where you can stock up and freeze a load of the stuff when it is in season and cheaper, for use in 1001 different dishes or sublimely on it's own. A keeper of a recipe for garlic lovers. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 30, 2008

I liked the simplicity of this recipe. It used much less oil than other recipes that I have seen so that is why I chose it. This recipe made my whole house smell so yummy! I certainly had a lot of help in the kitchen tonight when I was making this. We put it on slices of Italian bread to eat with dinner. It was wonderful! Thanks for an easy and great tasting recipe MADE FOR ZWT4 for DAFFY DAFFODILS

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawna Landers May 31, 2008

This is how I roast my garlic when I make garlic mashed potatoes. I do it at 350 for an hour. Never put salt and pepper but I will try next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel February 01, 2014

This recipe is awesome. I make hummus frequently and bring to Friday happy hour @ friends. One sleepless night I had the idea to make it with roasted garlic instead of raw. I made it and it is delicious - much more depth of flavour. Thanks for this recipe. I roast it with lots of olive oil which then goes into the hummus adding lots of flavour. Yum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Oliverpit January 31, 2014

Ohhh, perfect! Just roasted a few heads of garlic and they turned out great! This now on my list to do and freeze to have on hand always. Perfect for one of my fav recipes Pa Amb Tomaquet (Tomato Toast) Thanks JanuaryBride!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobtail January 22, 2012

Thank you for posting this. I always forget and have come back to this recipe multiple times. Hopefully one day I'll remember.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winnipeg March 31, 2011

Very yummy! Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT 6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie3551 June 17, 2010

This was good, ate with grilled mushrooms. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Dana June 15, 2010
How to Roast Garlic