Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Roast Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Roast Garlic

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on October 17, 2008

      This smells possibly even better than it tastes- which is REALLY good, mashed on toasted baguette with black bean soup! However, it's an ridiculously fun experience for the nostrils. I keep surreptitiously inhaling the aroma off my fingers- squeezing those cloves out was way too much fun! Can you get intoxicated from garlic?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      My garlic came out perfectly!! I mashed the entire lot of garlic and added oil, red wine vinegar, rosemary, red pepper flakes, parsley, oregano, basil, salt and pepper to make a dipping sauce that is very similar to one at our favorite Italian restaurant. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I love how easy this recipe makes it to make perfect roasted garlic! Thanks for posting. Made for Veggie Swap 24

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      It works great with little effort. There can't be anything bad said about that. Made for Vegetarian swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2010

      Ok, you have just converted my 9 yr. old to a garlic 'liker' instead of 'hater'. I, myself, love garlic in everything, but have never had roasted garlic. I roasted the garlic on the grill while grilling beef ribs. You can bet I will prepare this again. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      I first ate garlic prepared like this many, many years ago in some little restaurant on the coast of Maine. I never forgot it, and every time I have been in a craving state for this I've looked it up on 'zaar, or elswhere on the web. This is now bookmarked. I, like another or other posters find it great on crostini. It's also great on toasted garlic bread or even your favorite cracker. When you really think about it, the variations on use could be endless. Thanks for a timely reminder.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This was so good spread on crostini. The flavor really mellows during roasting and I think I'll be sure to pop a head of garlic in the next time I make a roast, bake some potatoes etc... and while I'm at it, I might as well make it two! Made for ZWT 6 by an Unruly under the INfluence.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This recipe worked a treat! I had no idea roasted garlic was so easy! I didn't see where to add the salt and pepper so happily left them out! This added a great flavour to bolognese. Made for ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      WOW, what an AWESOME flavour this recipe brings out in the garlic! I would have never thought that roasting garlic could be this easy! :) JB your directions are spot on and everything comes together so easily. The finished product is creamy, roasty and full of flavour. I added some rosemary to the oil before roasting, which added a lovely touch. Made and reviewed for my chosen chef in Veggie Swap #17.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      Making this has become a staple in my kitchen! Since I do a lot of Italian cooking, garlic is in my life forever! Roasting the cloves this way is so simple and the end result is delicious sweet garlic that is good for so many dishes. I make this up ahead of time and store them in a small glass jar for up to 1 week. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Ridiculously easy! I used some of the olive oil that had been used to marinate chillies, for some heads of garlic, and normal olive oil for the others. Didn't use salt and pepper. Popped them in the oven.... about half an hour later, enjoyed the beautiful smell and taste of roasted garlic! Used some of it that same day when I made JanuaryBrides Garlic Herb Bread, excellent! So now I know how!!! Thanks, JB, Made for PAC Fall 2008

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      5 Stars ! I used Italian garlic for this.. it seems to have better and stronger flavour than the bulk chineese stuff in the supermarket of late. The instructions for this recipe are easy and the result is delicious... DH took a whole roasted head of garlic and a slab of fresh bread and retreated happily to the sofa to enjoy it... I had some too then froze the rest (squished out of their papery husks and into a plastic bag) for quick use in dips and spreads where a less "raw" garlic flavour is often wanted. Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a foolproof garlic recipe where you can stock up and freeze a load of the stuff when it is in season and cheaper, for use in 1001 different dishes or sublimely on it's own. A keeper of a recipe for garlic lovers. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      I've been roasting garlic this way for years. I find that the heads hold together better by cutting the top 1/3 off. Then I roast both halves with no waste! Sprayed lightly with olive oil, I cook the smaller sections 35 minutes, the larger ones 45 minutes. Then as I learned from another Zaar member, put it all in a zipper bag, flatten it out, store in the freezer, and just break off whatever you need! Snap! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I liked the simplicity of this recipe. It used much less oil than other recipes that I have seen so that is why I chose it. This recipe made my whole house smell so yummy! I certainly had a lot of help in the kitchen tonight when I was making this. We put it on slices of Italian bread to eat with dinner. It was wonderful! Thanks for an easy and great tasting recipe MADE FOR ZWT4 for DAFFY DAFFODILS

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2014

      This is how I roast my garlic when I make garlic mashed potatoes. I do it at 350 for an hour. Never put salt and pepper but I will try next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      This recipe is awesome. I make hummus frequently and bring to Friday happy hour @ friends. One sleepless night I had the idea to make it with roasted garlic instead of raw. I made it and it is delicious - much more depth of flavour. Thanks for this recipe. I roast it with lots of olive oil which then goes into the hummus adding lots of flavour. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Ohhh, perfect! Just roasted a few heads of garlic and they turned out great! This now on my list to do and freeze to have on hand always. Perfect for one of my fav recipes Pa Amb Tomaquet (Tomato Toast) Thanks JanuaryBride!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2011

      Thank you for posting this. I always forget and have come back to this recipe multiple times. Hopefully one day I'll remember.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2010

      Very yummy! Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT 6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      This was good, ate with grilled mushrooms. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Roast Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (43 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 164.0
     
    Calories from Fat 122
    74%
    Total Fat 13.6 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.9 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 1.9 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites