31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This smells possibly even better than it tastes- which is REALLY good, mashed on toasted baguette with black bean soup! However, it's an ridiculously fun experience for the nostrils. I keep surreptitiously inhaling the aroma off my fingers- squeezing those cloves out was way too much fun! Can you get intoxicated from garlic?!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
White Rose Child October 17, 2008

My garlic came out perfectly!! I mashed the entire lot of garlic and added oil, red wine vinegar, rosemary, red pepper flakes, parsley, oregano, basil, salt and pepper to make a dipping sauce that is very similar to one at our favorite Italian restaurant. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mulligan July 06, 2008

I love how easy this recipe makes it to make perfect roasted garlic! Thanks for posting. Made for Veggie Swap 24

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario January 14, 2011

It works great with little effort. There can't be anything bad said about that. Made for Vegetarian swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne July 27, 2010

Ok, you have just converted my 9 yr. old to a garlic 'liker' instead of 'hater'. I, myself, love garlic in everything, but have never had roasted garlic. I roasted the garlic on the grill while grilling beef ribs. You can bet I will prepare this again. Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nisea916 June 30, 2010

I first ate garlic prepared like this many, many years ago in some little restaurant on the coast of Maine. I never forgot it, and every time I have been in a craving state for this I've looked it up on 'zaar, or elswhere on the web. This is now bookmarked. I, like another or other posters find it great on crostini. It's also great on toasted garlic bread or even your favorite cracker. When you really think about it, the variations on use could be endless. Thanks for a timely reminder.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DEEP June 16, 2010

This was so good spread on crostini. The flavor really mellows during roasting and I think I'll be sure to pop a head of garlic in the next time I make a roast, bake some potatoes etc... and while I'm at it, I might as well make it two! Made for ZWT 6 by an Unruly under the INfluence.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 15, 2010

This recipe worked a treat! I had no idea roasted garlic was so easy! I didn't see where to add the salt and pepper so happily left them out! This added a great flavour to bolognese. Made for ZWT6.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shuzbud June 14, 2010

WOW, what an AWESOME flavour this recipe brings out in the garlic! I would have never thought that roasting garlic could be this easy! :) JB your directions are spot on and everything comes together so easily. The finished product is creamy, roasty and full of flavour. I added some rosemary to the oil before roasting, which added a lovely touch. Made and reviewed for my chosen chef in Veggie Swap #17.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula December 04, 2009

Making this has become a staple in my kitchen! Since I do a lot of Italian cooking, garlic is in my life forever! Roasting the cloves this way is so simple and the end result is delicious sweet garlic that is good for so many dishes. I make this up ahead of time and store them in a small glass jar for up to 1 week. Excellent!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee April 21, 2009
How to Roast Garlic