Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Make Dried Chickpeas in a Crock-Pot Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Make Dried Chickpeas in a Crock-Pot

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2009

      I also never knew until about five years ago that you could cook beans in the crock pot. What an easy, less messy way to prepare them. Besides garbanzo beans, I've cooked many other types of beans with excellent results. Thanks for posting this recipe for others to learn the benefits of crock pot cooking for healthy eating. Recipe proudly added to my Book #264245 cookbook. cg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      This is great! No overnight soaking required. I'll be using this method often. We eat a lot of chick peas. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2011

      This was awesome! I didn't have to worry about them boiling over :) I'll definitely use this method again! Thanks Chef Kate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2014

      Really worked great! I had soaked the chickpeas for an hour before I found this and then put them into the crock pot for 3 hours. Great in Easy Crock Pot Moroccan Chicken, Chickpea and Apricot Tagine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Great recipe. Mine took about 4 hours on high in my Crock pot. Just the right amount of salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Made these chickpeas tonight in my crockpot and boy, are they easy. I plan to freeze this batch for some future dishes. I usually purchase chickpeas in cans, but this seems much more healthy, easy and certainly cheaper to make them from a dried state. Great idea! Made for the Best of 2012 tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      I've read the mystery has been solved. That of Mona Lisa. Beans, yes beans! This explains the crooked little smile and that burnt looking background of the painting. Poor Leonardo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2012

      This method is effortless! And to top it off, the cooked chickpeas have a better flavor and are more tender than those in the can too. I also love how much less energy this recipe uses than the stove-top method. This has just become my new favorite way to cook beans. [Made for Zaar Alphabet Soup tag game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      At last a great recipe for making chick peas! I ended up cooking them for 4 hours, perhaps because mine were organic? They still were not soft after 4 hours, but crunchy, and that's a good thing. I will be using some for hummus and I'll freeze some. Thanks, Chef Kate! Made for Cookbook Tag 2011 as recommended by VeggieCook98.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      This is FABULOUS! I don't see any reason to buy canned beans again. Hooray, you are going to save me tons of $$, Chef Kate ;). I made these exactly as directed, and used half in a curry and half went to the freezer. Perfect. Thanks so much for posting! Made for Veg Swap 35.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Fantastic results. I cooked the chickpeas on half hour longer because I wanted them very soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Make Dried Chickpeas in a Crock-Pot

    Serving Size: 1 (1828 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 242.6
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    14%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 410.6 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 11.6 g
    46%
    Sugars 7.1 g
    28%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites