38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are wonderful and economical to boot! I used a 10-oz ramekin so I could get a deeper-set bottom. This could also work wonderfully with small corn tortillas if you use a teeny-tiny oven-safe ramekin (or wash out one of those little chiles cans) for mini taco pies or appetizer-sized taco salads. Thank you for a great post!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the80srule February 10, 2010

I just made these. They are wonderful and way better than the store bought tortilla bowls. Although they are baked, they still come out crispy. I baked my on some ceramic dinner bowls instead of a can. I also sprinkled some salt, garlic powder, and chili powder to the tortillas before I baked them. They were absolutely delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dana1913 October 20, 2009

For every yin there's a yang. For every recipe I've made that was just so-so, I'll meet one that is just incredible...and yes, I'm talking about these shells. Extremely easy to prepare and the fillings can be as varied as there are chefs. I'm 5*s impressed.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 15, 2009

I practiced with wrapping the tortilla around the outside of the metal mixing bowl. Worked ok but didn't look very fancy so I took the suggestion and sprayed the inside of a pyrex mixing bowl (glass) and after dipping the tortilla in water/oil, I put inside of the bowl. Excellent! You can crimp the edges just like a restauruant shell. I sprinkled a mixture of chili powder, salt, and garlic powder over the shell and then baked the bowl at 7 min. Because all I had was whole wheat toritillas, I think it took longer. I'm not really a fan of whole wheat toritllas (tasted whole wheatish - next time I'll try just the plain ones). When I removed from the oven, it was easy to lift out of bowl. I cooled on a wire rack so the bottom didn't get soggy. Very nice. My first few attempts were ok but it didn't take long to get them looking very nice. I still prefer the deep fried ones but my family enjoyed them, they are much healthier and they looked so nice. Served with a fruit salad.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrscat April 11, 2011

I love this!!!! I have always bought those expensive ones that come in a box and then you bake them. We liked them but this we liked just as well if not better and it is soooo much more economical. This is very easy too. I will do this from now on, thank you so much for sharing this with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour August 10, 2009

I love this idea for the shell it is a 5 star. I made this with the metal bowls it works great. I love it!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittykatej58 July 06, 2009

It can't get much easier than this, and being a fairly new cook, this was so easy and the results were great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Its Me Busy Bee April 21, 2009

I read all the reviews and agree with all of 'em 'cept the Chef that said it would be easier in a deep fryer. Nope, tried that and blistered a finger doin' it. Guess I'm just not that coordinated. But this "How to"...is fabulous. Don't change a thing, just follow directions....it works like a charm. THANK YOU SO MUCH for helping me have a recipe that won't cost me fingers!!! Love 'ya....Angelcook

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angelcook October 08, 2008

What a great idea! This was quick, easy, and delicious. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanna Bittner-Borell September 03, 2008

This method was so simple. my shell came out great. it took about seven min for the shells to crisp up. i didn't have a pizza pan so i just used a plate. thanks for this simple method!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msnikki8701 August 07, 2008
How to Make Baked Taco Salad Shell Bowls