Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Make Baked Taco Salad Shell Bowls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Make Baked Taco Salad Shell Bowls

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on February 10, 2010

      These are wonderful and economical to boot! I used a 10-oz ramekin so I could get a deeper-set bottom. This could also work wonderfully with small corn tortillas if you use a teeny-tiny oven-safe ramekin (or wash out one of those little chiles cans) for mini taco pies or appetizer-sized taco salads. Thank you for a great post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I just made these. They are wonderful and way better than the store bought tortilla bowls. Although they are baked, they still come out crispy. I baked my on some ceramic dinner bowls instead of a can. I also sprinkled some salt, garlic powder, and chili powder to the tortillas before I baked them. They were absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      For every yin there's a yang. For every recipe I've made that was just so-so, I'll meet one that is just incredible...and yes, I'm talking about these shells. Extremely easy to prepare and the fillings can be as varied as there are chefs. I'm 5*s impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2011

      I practiced with wrapping the tortilla around the outside of the metal mixing bowl. Worked ok but didn't look very fancy so I took the suggestion and sprayed the inside of a pyrex mixing bowl (glass) and after dipping the tortilla in water/oil, I put inside of the bowl. Excellent! You can crimp the edges just like a restauruant shell. I sprinkled a mixture of chili powder, salt, and garlic powder over the shell and then baked the bowl at 7 min. Because all I had was whole wheat toritillas, I think it took longer. I'm not really a fan of whole wheat toritllas (tasted whole wheatish - next time I'll try just the plain ones). When I removed from the oven, it was easy to lift out of bowl. I cooled on a wire rack so the bottom didn't get soggy. Very nice. My first few attempts were ok but it didn't take long to get them looking very nice. I still prefer the deep fried ones but my family enjoyed them, they are much healthier and they looked so nice. Served with a fruit salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      I love this!!!! I have always bought those expensive ones that come in a box and then you bake them. We liked them but this we liked just as well if not better and it is soooo much more economical. This is very easy too. I will do this from now on, thank you so much for sharing this with us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      I love this idea for the shell it is a 5 star. I made this with the metal bowls it works great. I love it!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      It can't get much easier than this, and being a fairly new cook, this was so easy and the results were great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2008

      I read all the reviews and agree with all of 'em 'cept the Chef that said it would be easier in a deep fryer. Nope, tried that and blistered a finger doin' it. Guess I'm just not that coordinated. But this "How to"...is fabulous. Don't change a thing, just follow directions....it works like a charm. THANK YOU SO MUCH for helping me have a recipe that won't cost me fingers!!! Love 'ya....Angelcook

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      What a great idea! This was quick, easy, and delicious. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2008

      This method was so simple. my shell came out great. it took about seven min for the shells to crisp up. i didn't have a pizza pan so i just used a plate. thanks for this simple method!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      What a great recipe! I did a couple before I really got a good grasp on making them pretty...but that is me...not the recipe. These tasted just as good if not better than the deep fried ones. I think I would use a little bit bigger tortillas next time but that is personal preference. Even my kids and DH loved them and they are the hardest sell on taco salad! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      Wonderful! I didn't have a can, so I used a 3c metal prep bowl. Worked well, just didn't have a nice flat bottom. Definitely need to use the foil! I didn't the first time - the tortilla stuck fast to the bowl. For the rest I used a piece of foil spritzed with hot pepper olive oil. Yum! These made great shells! Thank you

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      These are great and so easy to make. I used ceramic ramekins with foil over the top to make the shape I wanted. My family really enjoyed them. Glad I tried this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      I always wanted to try making my own taco salad shells, but I was never quite sure how to get them into the proper shape. I would never have thought of foil - thank you so much for making this so easy! I'll be making these a lot from now on. Had no trouble following the steps and everything came out perfectly with no changes. Give 'em a try, they're easier than they look by a long shot!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2007

      I used your dipping method tonight when I made my shells and I have to say that my family and I loved the flavor the EVOO gave them. I didn't use the foil. I just dipped them as you suggested and placed my shell inside a glass bowl and baked it. Thanks for the recipe. Will make again! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      i went through 2 tortillas before i had the process down without burning the edges. but this recipe is way worth it. so if you're doing this for the first time, make sure you have plenty of time and tortillas!! these can be made well in advance. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      Dh totally loved this. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      What an easy and healthy way to make a taco salad!! LOVE IT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2006

      Wonderful!!! Much healthier than fried!! Thank you so much!! Love, Becky

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      I have been looking for a recipe for baked shells, which are much healthier than fried. I was extremely pleased with these, as was my family! Very crispy and delicious and extremely quick and easy! Thank you for this recipe... God bless you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Make Baked Taco Salad Shell Bowls

    Serving Size: 1 (72 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 228.3
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    25%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 445.2 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes