Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / How to Make and Roll Sushi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Make and Roll Sushi

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2012

      Yeah, like this needs yet another five-star rave...but...WOWWWEEE! I made a huge platter (about 100 pieces!) of several different rolls, to take as my appetizer to our supper club, and the fifteen people there fell on it like starving wolves. I used "Minado's Perfect Sushi Rice" (and it WAS perfect) and L's Busy Kitchen's spicy sauce for dipping, and it was all wonderful. No leftovers! My husband insisted on doing the rolling, though, after I assembled all the fillings. He says the best sushi chefs are men! (Hey, I was glad of the help...he's not much of a kitchen guy otherwise!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      I have always been intimidated to make sushi, but after running across these simple to follow directions I ventured to the store to get my ingredients to make some. Thank you so much for this tutorial Linda. You have made a sushi maker out of me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      You have made me look so good. My family thinks I am the best for being able to make sushi at home. We all love it and this makes it so much more affordable. I have tried different combos and we loved them all. I will continue to make this at home, thanks to your instructions and helping me through this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2010

      You are the queen of my world tonight, Linda. I must admit I have wanted to do this forever, but it was intimidating, so I just didn't try. AMAZING and simple!!! We made all "cooked fish" versions for the first try, but next time we will go ahead with raw. Made crab, shrimp and smoked salmon with assorted veg and some with a little cream cheese. All wonderful. We even mastered the "inside out" version with the rice on the outside. Super good and everyone stuffed themselves. THANKS and thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Great instructions Linda! These really are so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Thank you, thank you!! First attempt and I successfully made 3 edible rolls. I started with the california roll as I figured it would be a cheap experiment and edible even if I messed up. I also added the spicy mayo to some. I made them with rice on the inside and with rice on the outside. I look forward to all the fun I will have. Not to mention the money I will save by making these delicious bites all by myself. I spent almost $50 with all the ingredients. I would spend that on one meal alone for myself and DBF. I still have plenty to make many many more rolls. Thank you again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      With these easy to follow directions my sushi making went off without any major hitches! These directions were so easy to follow and made my first experience making sushi a delightful experience!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      We love sushi and decided to TRY to make some. They actually came out really well following this guide! I would recommend anyone who likes sushi to try this! Lots of fun and really easy following the instructions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      These are wonderful step-by-step instructions. My family had so much fun rolling and eating sushi tonight and we can't wait to do it again. Thanks for sharing these easy directions and photos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      My DH and I love sushi and I decided it was about time to make some. I had seen this recipe awhile back and saved it to make this winter. I think the instructions are perfectly explanatory and I was so happy to have a guide to go by Linda! This is so awesome and such a help to a beginner sushi maker like me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This was such a great help during my recent sushi making experience. I had friends over for a Sushi Party, and we made all different kinds. With these explicit directions on just how to do it, we got the hang of it and went to town making ours up for our party. It didn't take long before we were rolling them like pros! Thanks ever so much for posting this helping hand "How To", as it helped make my party a smashing success!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      My friend and I decided to try our hand at making sushi and we had a ball! I made a trip to the Asian market to pick up Dashi, Mirin, Japanese mayonnaise for the sauces, and then got some Japanese rice, Nori sheets, panko, Masago (fish roe), eel (found the Masago and eel in the refrigerator section. The Masago was in a plastic container and the eel was in plastic packaging in slices). Then I made a trip over to our local fish market to pick up fresh crabs and fresh shrimp (I had the other stuff on hand). (The soft shell crabs were about $3.99 each and I got 2). We made the rice without any problems and left that to cool while we fried the shrimp and crab. They came out lightly browned and looked ready to eat. (Frying the crab and shrimp was the most fun other than rolling the sushi into rolls)! We used Types of Sushi Rolls to guide us in making what we wanted to put inside our sushi and the instructions were so clear that it made us seem like pros and was so easy to follow. (Many thanks Linda). My friend decided to make a Dragon Roll, as she loves California Rolls, but wanted to broaden her horizons. She also made a New York Roll to use some eel. I made the Shrimp Tempura and Manhattan Roll, then we both tried our hand at each making a Spider Roll. so we had 6 rolls in all to feast out on, and let me tell you, we had a FEAST. You would have thought it was out last meal! We put Linda's Spicy Mayonnaise Sauce for Sushi inside each roll, then topped with Japanese Tsume and Tare - Nitsume or Thick, Sweet Eel Sauce. We had quite an eating experience and simply put, AMAZING!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      I have made sushi a couple of times now, and have found it so easy following Linda's recipes and tutorials. The recipes are delicious! I have tried quite a few of them now. I can't thank you enough Linda for posting this info for us newbie sushi makers. This is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      Linda, I am so happy to have found this information to make my own sushi. For some reason I thought it would be hard to make, but after following your step by step directions they came together easy, and we really enjoyed making them! I am SO happy to have found this tutorial. Thanks a million!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This recipe has a great technique. i like that it shows you how to put the rice on the outside as well. i also used daikon, cucumber, and avacado in my rolls. a good rice recipe that i used was #119373. also since i used imitation crab (my boyfriend doesn't like anything else.) i made a hot mayo to mix with it and those came out great. they were more like spicy california rolls i guess. well thank you so much for this recipe. it has taught me a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2008

      excellent... I put it in http://www.recipezaar.com/cookbook.php?bookid=85881 , the cookbook I have dedicated to my daughter-in-law.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      I love sushi but have never tried making it before. I decided it's about time and I am really glad I did! This guide has helped me to know what to do from start to finish, and I really appreciate you posting it for us Linda. It has been a tremendous help to me and my kids! I have shared this guide with a couple of my friends and they can't wait to try it too. Great addition to my "Sushi Knowledge", and now I'm a pro :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Make and Roll Sushi

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 702.0
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    44%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 154.7 g
    51%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 12.8 g
    25%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    nori

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes